We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“far superior to the beach side jerk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
794 9457
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“far superior to the beach side jerk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The meat here is smoked instead of grilled like at the beach side jerk shacks. I recommend the jerk pork, it is delicious and i actually preferred it to the chicken. the sauce they have is super spicy so be careful if you're not into spicy foods. also the Scotchies in Ocho Rios is really very pretty. its like an open outdoor garden area with little huts to eat under and flowers all around. it was an unexpected treat for a jerk chicken joint!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    791
    258
    79
    15
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Hartland, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“awesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I had jerk chicken, fry breadfruit, and roast yam, it was great, non greasy, and just over all great, great family dinning, clean, and the workers are friendly, when I went there i was extremely hungry when i left i was extremely full. This restaurant is a must try, for anyone going to JA, the food was tasty, i seriously did not have any compain.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Jerk in Jamaica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I went here after the Bob Marley experience and well it was the best jerk I had the whole trip. Nuff Said!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent jerk chicken and more at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Scotchie's is a must try while in Jamaica for the best jerk chicken, pork, non-greasy sausage (but full of flavor) and great sides. It is sort of a hole-in-the-wall and I mean that in a very good way. You get to see the huge bbq pits/smokers as you are ordering and it is very laid back and relaxing. We tried a little bit of everything on the menu and loved it. Courtney Taylor Tours is a very safe, fun and reasonably priced way to get to Scotchie's and any other places that you would like to see while in any part of Jamaica. We felt very safe with him and he is very reliable.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice way to complete the Jamaican experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

We went there to have lunch as part of our private tour during our cruise stop. It may be touristy but the jerk chicken is just delicious - if you do not like spicy food I would recommend to mention it when ordering. The place is a garden so just take pictures, sit, enjoy the jerk chicken with a red stripe

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotchie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.