We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Jerk ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
794 9457
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 78 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The best Jerk ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

All I can say it please go and try; it is the best thing Jamaica offers
There is a great selection and the prices are reasonable
Authentic mouth watering food

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    695
    214
    66
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For pescetarians, it's decent, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We had the fish at Scotchie's and it was ok. It had a little seasoning, but definitely not robust and bursting with jerk flavor. I think I've had better jerk fish in Africa. The fish was grilled in aluminum foil, so it was not prepared the way the other jerk items were, grilled and seasoned whole over an open flame atop a huge hickory log which adds extra flavor during the grilling process. We were expecting a whole fish with with jerk season cooked into the fish on an open flame, marinated and continuously slathered with jerk sauce atop a hickory log, but what we got was some jerk seasoning placed on top of a fish filet, steamed inside the foil on top of the grill or flame. Not the same!! The chicken looked like it was being done right, but I can not attest to that. The fish was definitely decent, but not anything to call home about. However, I think the chicken or pork will probably taste better since it was being prepared like we expected the fish would.

I would suggest going for the experience. it's not terribly expensive, the food tastes ok and you can take a picture for your memories. Other than that, for pescetarians, I would pass

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The atmosphere is lovely and the food is delicious. One of the best places for real Jamaican jerk :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best jerk around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

There was nothing I did not like about this restaurant. It has beautiful grounds and the food is to die for.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Everybody at our resort recommended this place for the best jerked chicken in Montego Bay our driver also agreed and took us there. We had the jerked chicken out was delicious. The service was great and very authentic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotchie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.