We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bang Bang Lulu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scotchie's

Scotchie's
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
794 9457
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 77 restaurants in Ocho Rios
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
SALEM, MA
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Bang Bang Lulu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Sorry can't get song out of my head when I think of Scotchies. Band was playing as we were drinking our Red Stripe..

Jerk chicken? Good could have been moister and a little spicier
Red Stripe? Cold
Band? Fun
Weather? Warm
Pumpkin Soup? Spicy and to die for.
Presentation? Really? Wrapped up in tin foil? We were eating it there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

973 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    676
    211
    64
    14
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome jerk pork!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Only 5 minutes away from the Jewel/Riu resorts. Get a cab and grab some great food! The jerk pork was amazing (and I'm not a pork fan). Half a chicken, 1/4 lb of pork, some rice and beans and two beers were $20.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hmmm”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Scotchies is a really cute Jamaican restaurant. A lot of tourists come here so I'm glad to say we have been there. I did find the chicken to be pretty dry and kinda flavorless. The prices are great and its really neat to see how they make jerk chicken here. Beware of the really spice sauce. I would try it again although it was a big bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really great Jerk Chicken”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were on a shopping excursion to Ocho Rios and our driver recommended Scotchie’s as a great place for some authentic Jamaican food. We were there on a weekday and the place was very busy. It's all outdoors, with a Jamaican village theme and huge barbecue fires roasting jerk chicken, pork and fish. You order everything a la carte and it's quite delicious. It's set back a bit off the road and not signed well but make sure you go if visiting Ocho Rios. You haven't experienced Jamaican Jerk food until you visit Scotchies. And the price is very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“TRUE Jamaican Jerk!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This is a restaurant that caters to both tourists and locals, a place where you can witness the art of true Jamaican jerk on the coal and wood fire. There is a variety of choices on the menu, chicken, pork and fish, with many fun sides and watch out for that jerk dipping sauce, it's "fiyah"! This place is also great for groups, big and small. We had a wedding group of 50 people last year that we took to Scotchie's after Dunns River Falls. Kim, the manager, was so helpful in arranging the buffet for the group. Everything was prompt and executed as planned. The group loved the food. Thanks Kim and all that work hard at Scotchies. A must-do when in Ocho Rios!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scotchie's also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Scotchie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotchie's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.