We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Grill

Island Grill
Main St, Island Village, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
974 3160
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 78 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I ate at Island Grill on a few occasion whilst on holiday. Although there menu slelection is limited the food is good. I tried the brown stew fish, curry chicken and jerk chicken. All dishes were well seasoned and tasted good. I would defintely recommend a visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    21
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I expected more. I ordered a tradition curried chicken, rice and pease. I was given a meagre portion of curried chicken with some dried out rice. The lady serving wasnt very friendly or welcoming.
I could have got better and cheaper in a Jamaican restaurant

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Boom Bam Pow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

I just l-o-v-e this eatery. JA has it's shortcomings but the fast food places are spotless.
The menu is just so vast and it doesn't taste like fast food, it's more like home made but easy.
The pumpkin rice and bammy wedges are awesome. We had a giggle at their "Pickney Meal" (aka Kid's Meal) Bwoy dem nuh easy at all :)

Only down side is the Ochi location is in a tight spaced plaza so the parking can be cumbersome.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

I liked this spot. Food is good and all three times I visited I got my food pretty quick. I would go back again

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Delightful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Good food, reasonable priced, friendly polite staff, can be found islandwide, can get busy at weekends.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Grill also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Island Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.