We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious & Authentic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scotch on the Rocks

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ocho Rios
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Scotch on the Rocks
Save
You added Scotch on the Rocks to your Saves list
Cocoanut Grove, Ocho Rios, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxurious & Authentic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

My family & I had the priviledge of spending Christmas 2011 at Scotchie. From the time we stepped out of the bus to the last second we left, the staff made us feel welcome. We came as strangers but left feeling like family. The staff was amazing, Cherry and Elvis are amazing chefs, they will cook any and everything you want. I highly recomend native dishes. Brian, is a warm and friendly rasta butler and all around nice guy. Ms. Pauline, is always smiling and is there to make sure your needs are met. The home itself is beautiful. It has a both indoor and outdoor living space with magnificent views from every room. The staff & getting to know them really made our trip special. BTW if you are feeling kind they like potato chips so it would make their day if you brought them a bag or two. I highly recommend staying here, it is a top notch villa.

Room Tip: My wife and I had the first floor master bedroom off of the living room. The room is large and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We had a GREAT time at Scotch on the Rocks villa. We actually hope to
return in the future :) The staff at the house were amazing!!! Mrs.
Pauline, Elvis, Lando, Brian, Henry & Cherry (forgive me if I left
anyone out) were ALL very attentive to our needs and ensured that our
stay was WONDERFUL :) The food was amazing every morning for breakfast
and also on the night we had dinner. On the day of our wedding Brian
was even willing to help us video tape our ceremony on the dock which we
will forever be grateful for!

Our wedding pictures just came in a couple of days ago and they look so BEAUTIFUL because of the landscape and sheer beauty of the villa and water. We dont regret one bit our choice for vacation!!

Room Tip: Five bedrooms total. All our family could comfortably stay in the house :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Eight of us went (2 Families) and a better time couldn't have been had! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by what started out as "the staff" by what turned into another family to us. The house is phenomenal affording us every luxury we could ask for but it was the people that made it so very special.
Mornings spent sipping our coffee on the veranda (always ready when we awoke). Breakfast followed served to us sitting outdoors overlooking the beautiful waters of the sea. After which we spent many a day just sitting on the veranda and swimming either in the beautiful pool or in the pristine waters right off the dock. Lunch served to us also outdoors overlooking the same waters and those dinners that Ms. Cherry would cook up were to die for.
Brian, Pauline and Elvis would take care of the rest. Brian always wanting to do more for us. Pauline making sure there was a place for everything and everything was in it's place. Better people I would be hard pressed to find. So loving. So caring. As I mentioned before, they became less of a staff and more of a family to us.
I could go on and on but I will simply say if you're looking for a tropical vacation away "from it all", look no further and book Scotchies now. My family and I have memories that will last us a lifetime...or...until we return which we hope will be sometime real soon. We miss it already!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

From the time we started planning our trip to Scotch on the Rocks we were saying "I hope it's as great as the pictures make it look." Well we were pleasantly surprised when it was so much better! Scotchie has so much more to offer than can be conveyed in pictures. We enjoyed every minute and we all (9 adults and 4 children/babies) felt truly rejuvenated after our trip.

The house is amazing- beautiful and spacious. The indoor/outdoor combined living space was where we spent most of our time. We sat on the veranda to drink our morning coffee and watch the sunset while enjoying our evening night caps. The air conditioning and ceiling fans kept us comfortable at night. The house is on a gated property and very secluded with lots of ground between any neighbors (1 other home, Sandals Resort and the Jamaica Inn).

We were pampered by the amazing staff. Cherry and Elvis were masters in the kitchen- making delicious, elaborate meals that included separate items for the pickier members of our group. The staff opened the windows and doors every morning and locked the house up after we went to sleep. Pauline kept the house clean, made the beds, and did our laundry every day. In fact, she insisted on sending us home with no dirty laundry. Bryan fixed us delicious drinks, served us snacks and meals, kept the house filled with pleasant music, and was there to tend to anything we needed. He also loaned us his personal fishing rod so we could fish with the kids off the pier. Henry, the gardener, was also a delightful treat. He gave us impromptu tours of the beautiful grounds.

Although there wasn't a beach at the house, we were able to use a private, white sandy beach that was within walking/kayaking distance and it was pristine. Although just swimming in the crystal clear ocean by the pier was perfect for us.

I could go on and on about what an amazing experience it was to stay at Scotch on the Rocks. We not only recommend it, but we plan to go back again… SOON!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Our family of 5 had 6 days at Scotch on the Rocks in May and it was incredible. We were greeted by the smiling faces of Pauline, Cherry, Elvis, Brian and Henry when we arrived. They saw to our every need but we also had plenty of privacy. Town is close but we really didn't have to do grocery shopping because Elvis took care of that! Basically, if you're a Mom, you get a REAL vacation!
Brian escorted us to a great river for swimming and rope swinging that we would have never found on our own. Pauline is on top of keeping things neat and tidy and Cherry is a GREAT cook. Henry kept the yard beautiful and Elvis handled many things for us. Wonderful people helped make it a great time.
The beauty you wake up to every morning is inspiring. The sunsets are equally amazing. The sheets and beds are wonderfully comfortable and the AC works great for sleeping. Our 3 sons, 20,18 and 16 had a great time as well. It's a great place to be with family and relax.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

I stayed there with family and we can't think of a better place. It was completely awesome awesome awesome. This staff treated us like family. It felt laid back, informal, and more like we where a rich Jamaican family staying in a house. (which we are not :-)) Most of what we wanted Brian and Elvis made it happen. Cherry cooked large meals for us, and catered to our favorites. And Pauline took care of us and made sure everything including our clothes where clean. I was totally spoiled. I visited Sandels and it is great but I could have been anywhere. Scotch on the Rocks was Jamaica!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Our vacation at Scotch On The Rocks was blissful, idyllic and simply heaven on earth. Our children had the most incredible time and we the adults, left there completely rejuvenated. The staff was amazing- Brian was just exceptional at meeting our every need, Miss Cherry's cooking was divine and Elvis and Miss Pauline were wonderful.
We will recommend your beautiful house wherever we go and having travelled to so many places throughout the world, we can honestly say that this vacation was right up there with the best!

Sophia and Karen

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scotch on the Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scotch on the Rocks

Address: Cocoanut Grove, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Ann Parish > Ocho Rios
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Ocho Rios
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scotch on the Rocks is a charming 5 bedroom villa, overlooking the Caribbean Sea. Nestled on a scenic bay between two prestigious hotels, Jamaica Inn and Royal Plantation,Scotch on the Rocks is located minutes away from the heart of Ocho Rios."Scotchie," as the villa is affectionately called, is ideal for family vacations or romantic getaways. The villa is extremely private and has a full staff of five, including a cook, waiter, butler and housekeeper. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Scotch On The Rocks Jamaica/Ocho Rios

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scotch on the Rocks, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.