We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“RELAXED” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passage To India

Passage To India
Soni's Plaza Roof Top, Shop 15A | 50 Main St, Jamaica, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
+1 876-795-3182
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Indian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Indian cuisine is tastefully unique and incredibly varied. Evolving over many centuries,it reflects staggering diversity of a country whose food encompasses the cooking techniques of many nationalities and cultures. A vast spectrum of flavours is created by the judicious and inventive use of spices resulting in a world renouned and truly delicious cuisine. Perhaps the most elaborate dishes come from the north, which was inherited from the Mughals, who invaded India from Persia in the 16th century. Many Moghali dishes such as pulaos (pilifs) and biryanis (rice, meat and spices creations) are rich and lavish due to the ingredients used. Other Indian specialties include kebabs and tandoori dishes, which are cooked in a special clay pot, called a tandoor. What links a country whose cuisine is varied and diverse from region to region due to its language, culture and climate is a common denominator of Indian hospitality and graciousness. Here at Passage to India, as your host, we are committed to providing you, our guests, with just that and making your dining experience with us a truly memorable and enjoyable one.
Kingston, Jamaica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“RELAXED”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

very good food served in the right propotions as an indian myself herbs and spices were adquetly use serivce was very good also thumbs up

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    15
    3
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Execllent food and service. Expensive though..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Located opposite the Riu Montego Bay at the Whiiter village.The food was freshly prepared with top ingredients used. The service was attantive and friendly. The prices are expensive but I suppose for some people its not an issue.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Went twice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Had lunch here on the Saturday, very reasonable and tasted delicious, special lunch menu for 10 US dollars. However, wine was VERY expensive! Came back for lunch on Sunday (no wine!), no special menu, and some things on the menu not available (this is a definate problem in Jamaica - found it all over), but it was all very nice. We are pretty fussy, as we have our own restaurant, and both think the food was good, and not really expensive. After a pretty limited offer of chicken, chicken and chicken in many small places, this was perfect. Service was fine, except for the inevitable Jamaican problem of snatching away plates before all diners have finished!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ushuaia, Argentina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“nice food nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

food and service was very nice and me and wife visted the rasturant decembar i reliy like to go back agein and tack sume paneer and nan

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
“MoBay Mystic India's doppelgänger and expensive at that...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Good ambiance and decent food. This was probably very good in it's heyday, but not anymore. First off, this needs to be in a better location. It is located in a terrace upstairs and hard to find. Have to climb two flights of stairs to find this place.

Prices are expensive for the food/ambiance/service you get. The food was authentic and decent, but no way compared to the Mystic India in Montego Bay. Read my review of Mystic India... That place was the best food, ambiance in North America (IMHO).

The good thing(!) about this place was that we were probably the only people there - the waitress even seemed like she took a nap when we were eating. The service was quick and the manager was very friendly.

This was the only place where I saw an 18% gratuity was included in the bill. We paid almost $70 USD, which was pretty expensive even for the USA.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passage To India also viewed

 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Passage To India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passage To India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.