We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for lunch or dinner after Dunn's River Falls: Almond Tree Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Almond Tree Restaurant

Almond Tree Restaurant
83 Main Street, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
1 876 974 2813
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 77 restaurants in Ocho Rios
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Houston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect for lunch or dinner after Dunn's River Falls: Almond Tree Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

After a visit to nearby Dunn's River Falls we had worked up an appetite and wanted to explore Ocho Rios...our driver recommended just two spots and we chose Almond Tree for it's ocean front location. The open air restaurant features many levels of terraces and a bar with swings (careful with your rum punch). The view is great so be sure to bring your camera. The menu features many local specialties and like lamb curry and fresh fish.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    14
    18
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not what I remembered”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We went for lunch and had jerked chicken sandwiches which were not very impressive.White bread with the crust trimmed off and no jerk sauce. The lunch took much longer than needed and the wait for the check and change was just short of forever. The waiter was very nice but very discouraged from the all inclusives taking away all the business of what was once a great restaurant with a phenomenal view

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What Happend to the Almond Tree?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to the Almond Tree Restaurant in Ocho Rios with a couple of friends for dinner on Saturday February 9th. Our family as a well as friends have been going to this restaurant for over 35 years and think of it as one of the best places to dine when in Jamaica..Is this place under new management? The service was all right, but I would fire the chef! Why serve a steak - tough as a horse saddle- absolutely no sour cream or any other condiments? The waiter was kind enough to replace with a porkchop which was slightly better.I ordered Rigattoni with ackee etc sauce and got spiral pasta with hardly any topping. It was like someone poured a tin of tastelees something on top.One of our friends had the same dish as I did and the other had fish which did not seem to be that great either.I also notice that a lot of dishes that were on the menu are gone..no more lobster fettucini, suckling pig, etc. On a street corner, on the way back to our hotel ,some guys were BBQ'n Jerk chicken in a drum. It looked so good! We should have just bought that instead of the meal we had. Oh yes, they greet you with a brand new leather bound menu but the food deffinately does not match it! A note to whoever is running it - your repeat customers know the food in your restaurant , expect the same and if it isn't so..will not come back.We will not come back..and I am sad to say that

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“appalling food and service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

we went to the Almond Tree a couple of weeks ago on a sunday night and took 3 guests with us. The service from start to finish was appalling- I had to request everything twice and when I asked for a different white wine as the wine by the glass was undrinkable I was told that there was no alternative.When the food finally came my partners pasta was soggy, my fish hastily thawed and inedible and the guests tried to be polite but it was obvious that there experience was not great too! Desserts all looked frozen and were tasteless. There was a major cricket match on TV that night and the male staff were definitely preoccupied with that. The restaurant only had 3 other tables occupied so there was no excuse for this disgraceful performance which I would add was not cheap.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Good restaurant, the staff are very attentive to you and are there to deliver whatever you need. We stayed at the Hibiscus Lodge Hotel, and can commend them on their timely room service even though it isn't an official service offered by the hotel. The restaurant was a nice restaurant, food was okay but the staff make the place very good.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Almond Tree Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Almond Tree Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Almond Tree Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.