We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evita's Italian Restaurant

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Eden Bower Rd., Ocho Rios no zip needed, Jamaica
876 974 2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Jamaican, Pasta, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have to echo all of the positive reviews. Came here on our last night of a 10 day MoBay/Ocho vacation and was the highlight of the trip. Great view (even at night), fantastic food, and friendly service. Loved the Jamaica/Italian combinations and this restaurant could hold its own in any major city.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review.
Yes, most patrons LOVE the Jam-Italian fusion dishes, they all really enjoy the combinations and smile at the creativity!
Hoping that you will make it Jamaica and Evita’s, again soon …
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    101
    24
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Made our Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Staying at Bahia Principe Runaway Bay we ate here for our wedding anniversary. The hotel food was OK but eating here made us realise what we had been missing.
Extensive and interesting menu. They knew it was our anniversary and gave us a great table and even sang to us at the end of the meal.
Food was fantastic, service was excellent (only 4 tables in use on a quiet night though), and loved the ambience including the live music. Views were wonderful. Would highly recommend this - owner was very friendly and welcoming. She has some great stories of the history of the restaurant.
I had the spicy shrimp risotto (with scotch bonnet). I like spicy but not too spicy. Being freshly prepared they were able to meet my requirements. Could not really fault anything. One of the most memorable of our 31 wedding anniversaries! Thank you.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your review.
I am really happy that coming to Evita’s, made your Anniversary even more special.
It was great meeting you, seeing you so happy together and enjoying Evita's food and ambiance.
Wishing you many more happy years together, I hope that you will make it Jamaica and Evita’s again, in the near future…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

The service was a bit slow but we chalked it up to Island time. The food was outstanding. Very good, authentic Italian dishes. Owner, Eva ensures everyone leaves satisfied and is a very sweet woman

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you Brian, for your so nice review and compliment!
Will keep up the quality of the food and certainly try to improve on the ‘Soon Come’ Jamaica time…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely view -- food so-so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The ambience is very nice and it is perched up on the side of a mountain, so has a lovely view. But the Jamaican food was nothing special (note: I was starting to get tired of Jamaican cuisine, which isn't my favorite). Unfortunately, the service was also lukewarm.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review and I am sorry that what you chose, from our very extensive Menu, was not to your liking and that the service was not up to your expectations.
I wish it would have been brought up to the waiter’s or, my attention, so that I could improve on it…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver, co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Very good food. Excellent views. Eva was even there one night and came by our table to say hi. One of the best attributes might be the genius plan they came up with to offer a free car transfer to and from your Ochi hotel. We went twice in one week.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you, Mickey, for your great review!
The idea of free Pick up & Return was thought of, when all the hotels in Ocho Rios, excluding two ONLY, went ‘All Inclusive’ and how more difficult the decision becomes, to leave the resort’s free meal AND also pay a taxi to taste what else Ocho Rios has to offer….
A few other restaurants, especially the ones catering to Jamaica’s visitors, have found it necessary to follow suit.
Hoping to see you again in Jamaica and at Evita’s I say: Arrivederci!
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evita's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.