We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Evita's Italian Restaurant

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Eden Bower Rd., Ocho Rios no zip needed, Jamaica
876 974 2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Jamaican, Pasta, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

The service was exceptional. The wait staff, (I believe her name is Carmen) was so friendly. The owner took the time to speak with us. The driver, Douglas, was very professional and drove us from our resort to the restaurant and back to the resort. We felt safe and secure as we drove in the evening. The food was amazing!!! It was the best meal we had during our stay in Jamaica. Make the time to and try the food. They are are also kid friendly. A special thank you to the driver, the wait staff, the chef and the owner. The prices are very reasonable as well. We will be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you so much, for your fabulous review and, I will certainly let Carmen, ‘Doughie’, the other wait staff and cooks know, that you really appreciated their hospitality!
Also thank you for promising that you will return, we are all looking forward to making your experience at Evita’s, a ‘happy one’, again…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    106
    25
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had the pleasure of dining here while in Ocho Rios and the food was superior. We also had the pleasure of meeting the owner, Ms. Eva and she was so inviting to all of us, we felt like guests in her home. Ms. Eva is one gracious, beautiful lady! The view here is over the top!!!!!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you, Ms. Ginger, for the wonderful review and flattering compliments…. you just sent me to cloud # 9 !
Will try to keep up our good standards and hope to see you again, in the near future…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cute gingerbread house!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The ambience is great set in an old Jamaican house overlooking the beach. Great Italian food with a twist of Jamaican fare and service is good.Worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you, Beth, for your great review.
Looking forward to hosting you again, I say: ‘Arrivederci’ (meaning see you again), soon, I hope.
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Negril, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't Live up to the Hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I have been hearing about this restaurant for years a finally had lunch there in march and i must say it did not live up to the hype. The food and service was just average as anywhere else except that it was a bit more expensive.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you Rodrique for your review and I am sorry Evita’s did not live up to your expectations.
Despite the adage of: ‘Different strokes for different Folkes’ I will try to make sure we will ‘surpass’ your expectations, if you decide to visit us again…
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Evita's - A Class Act and a Good Restaurant too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For over 14 years I have been going to Ocho Rios for several weeks each year – I remember the first time I went…the experience was just magical as entered through the lovely outside area into the restaurants open and airy foyer. On that first evening, when I saw Eva (Evita) for the first time I thought she was a movie star – God knows she has 40 or more pictures on her wall with luminaries (stars, heads of state and just plain famous folk) from the day plastered on one the walls. The space still is magical and Eva is still a beautiful and skillful restrantuer. The restaurant has a small terrace with about 5-6 tables that overlook Ochie. The inside is just charming. The service is competent, if slow at times, be Eva is hands on – there every night and making sure the operation runs as smoothly as possible. The gourmet rundown with seafood was perfectly prepared and the Rasta spaghetti was wonderful and well balanced. Everything that ten of us ate was well prepared, fresh and flavorful, and the tiramisu – Eva’s own creation since it is a spin on the traditional recipe is to die for (don’t count the calories). There a few restaurants in Ochie – none of this quality especially that offers true Italian food – certainly not Toscanini since that seems to be on a rapid decline. Looking forward to going back – this, our 15th year. I have discovered she has conch – can’t wait to try that. May I suggest if you are staying at an all inclusive go to Evita’s for real food and forgo that “all you can eat” tasteless substitute for good food; or if you are off of a cruise ship and want a good lunch – Evita’s is well worth the stop for not only the food but for the lovely and vivacious Eva (Evita). Ciao bella!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you Eric for you detailed, informative and so flattering review!
It was a pleasure having you at the restaurant especially when seeing you truly enjoy the food.
Unfortunately, for a party of ten, when all dishes are cooked to order, it takes a little longer to deliver the order, but I try to inform the parties accordingly and, very often lighten up their spirits and get a hearty laugh, when I jokingly tell them: “the secret of a good hostess is that, by the time the guests eat, they are either so hungry or so drunk, that everything tastes good” !
Thank you so much, also, for encouraging people to venture out of the all inclusive hotels and explore what else Jamaica has to offer and make their vacation much more fun and exciting!
Ciao and …Arrivederci!
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evita's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.