We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Evita's Italian Restaurant

Evita's Italian Restaurant
Eden Bower Rd., Ocho Rios no zip needed, Jamaica
876 974 2333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 84 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Fusion, Pasta, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Set in an authentic 1860 Gingerbread House, overlooking Ocho Rios, Evita's opened in 1989 and has established a reputation for great service, ambiance, decor, view and excellent Italian and Jam-Italian 'fun' creations. All food is cooked to order. Celebrities keep frequenting Evita's as they really enjoy it's romantic atmosphere and, also appreciate, 'value for money'....Occasionally there is live entertainment, usually, a 'guest star' appearance.
Woodbridge, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We enjoyed our meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food was so terrible at our resort we tried Evitas and were very happy. My sons ordered two meals each. The pasta was perfectly done.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you Nancy, for your ‘heartwarming’ review.
I call it ‘heartwarming’ because as a Mom (and Grandma) my biggest joy has always been seeing the children really enjoy their food, to the last morsel…in this case, the pleasure is double ...!
Ciao, Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    123
    31
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Wonderful way to spend a Jamaican night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

We had some of Evita's special dishes, each of which were very good. It was a great break from our all inclusive resort. The ambience was beautiful, with a great view overlooking Ocho Rios. We would recommend this at least one night while you're in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you, Greg, for your wonderful review and, recommendation!
Yes, Evita’s is a really nice ‘escape’ from the all inclusive hotels as it can give each patron, that special personal attention which makes the vacation, even more enjoyable.
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best Italian food I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We went to Jamaica for my best friends Mom's 50th birthday and she chose this restaurant for her birthday dinner. She had been there before and loved it. I loved it too! My best friend and I shared an appetizer of grilled calamari...the best calamari I've ever hard. It was nice and tender with a really good flavor. We also shared their Fettuccine Alfredo with fish, scallops, and shrimp. Simply divine. It was the best dinner I had the whole week I was in Jamaica. Eva, the owner, visited our table twice to make sure we enjoyed our dinner, which added a very welcoming vibe to my visit. Whenever I'm in Jamaica, I'l make sure I have dinner at Evita's.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you, Ashlie, for your great review.
I am glad we were able to make you best friend’s Mom, 50th Birthday, an enjoyable experience again … and … win you over too!
See you, again, hopefully soon.
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real authentic Italiana in Jamaica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

A must do experience for all visitors to Ocho Rios. Wonderful Italian food (sometimes wirh a Jamaican twist)and gracious hosting by the lovely Eva!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Grazie, carissima!
And I hope to see you, soon, again in Jamaica.
Ciao!
Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flub
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent mix italian - jamaican food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a few days in Ocho Rios so we went there for dinner. The View was very nice ( overlooking ocho rios ) and the restaurant looks lovely.
The menue is a pleasure to read. Some classic italian stuff but much more interesting is that stuff which is "pimped" jamaican style.
We both enjoyed italian - jamaican Pasta and the calamari. It was truely a pleasure!
The price is right for the quality (we payed about 60$ for two pasta, calamari, 2 glasses of whine). Evita's definetely a spot you should visit when you are in Ocho Rios.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evitas, Owner at Evita's Italian Restaurant, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your so nice review and I am really glad you enjoyed Evita’s ‘Jam-Italian’ creations!
They are really a HIT with my Jamaican patrons and tourist alike as, both, appreciate the combination of something familiar with the ‘adventure’ of tastes of another country!
Also, Evita’s prides itself in delivering good food at affordable prices and I am glad you appreciated this too.
Hope you will make it Evita’s, soon, again....
Ciao! Eva
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Evita's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Evita's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Evita's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.