We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ruins at the Falls

The Ruins at the Falls
17 DaCosta Drive, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
(876) 974-8888
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Late Night
Shinnston, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

This is a wonderful place to have dinner. We were 1 of 3 tables taken in the whole restaurant. The food was great and the scenery was second to none. The staff was very attentive and the facilities were clean. I would definitely go back and recommend this place for a romantic dinner for two. This place truly is right at the foot of the falls!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    34
    9
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nipawin, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The food was excellent. We ate under the roof as it had been raining intermittently all day. There was a little shower while we were there. It's very scenic restaurant & the service was good. The only negative thing again is the cost of the taxi to get there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dining in a tropical rain forest!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

It is worth a meal at The Ruins if only to have the experience of eating next to a waterfall within a beautiful tropical garden. Fortunately the food is also worth the trip which makes for a very enjoyable evening! The menu is a mix of Jamaican, Asian and fusion choices . There were four of us and we tried the Thai Seafood soup for 2 which was as good as I have had in many Thai restaurants; spring rolls (ditto) lobster bisque ( prepared table side) - delicious;beef satay and Jamaican escoveitch fish. The service was attentive - and the manager ( Denzel) made sure we were enjoying our meal and our evening . I mentioned to Denzel during our chat that we had noticed that the Chef had spent some time as a chef at the Ritz in Montreal and that we were from Montreal so Denzel ensured Chef Sam dropped by at the end of the evening to say hello. I was pleasantly surprised to see the Executive Chef in the kitchen on a Monday night. We walked up to the restaurant as we were staying only a few minutes away. When we finished eating it was raining and Denzel offered to drive us back to our flat. Thank you Denzel! And thank you Aldane, Chef Sam and the rest of the staff for an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best during my trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We were a group of 13 and we submitted different orders.Overall: food was delicious; very good service; nice atmosphere; a little pricy for us $30 per plate plus beverages and coffee is $5; depending on the meal, you may have a show. We had two shows; one with the filet Mignon and for the dragon fish.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stopped by this restaurant on the way to Dunns River Falls and the staff was extremely nice, it was affordable for an all-you-can-eat buffet (bar is separate), and the food was good! They had a lot of different choices. The scenery at the restaurant is also great; they have a waterfall, bridge, and beautiful plants and flowers and a gazebo-like seating area.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ruins at the Falls also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to The Ruins at the Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ruins at the Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.