We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocho Rios Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini Restaurant

Toscanini Restaurant
Tower Isle, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-4785
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 74 restaurants in Ocho Rios
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: We are an authentic Italian restaurant located just outside the resort town of Ocho Rios, Jamaica. The property is an original plantation house that also houses an art gallery featuring famous local works of art.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great Ocho Rios Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Have to echo what everybody else has said about this fine restaurant in Ocho Rios. PG and Lella are personable and dedicated and both have stories to tell about a wide range of subjects. Food does more than hold it's own and this restaurant could be one which would both survive and flourish in any major U.S. city. That being said, it is Jamaica and if you're offended by seeing cats near the table while you're eating, then this isn't the place for you (although after 10 days on the island, I can't recall an outdoor seating restaurant where you did NOT see a cat!).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

94% Recommend
    281
    47
    8
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
SF
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“There's a reason why they're #1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Being from the San Francisco Bay Area, the bar is fairly high for us on what constitutes one of our top 5 restaurant experiences, but this one sure felt like it. Every detail, down the bread and butter served is freshly prepared, and you have the pleasure of knowing that the lobster and mahimahi you're eating were caught locally just a few days prior. PG (the head chef) himself picked us up at the Jamaica Inn to bring us to the restaurant and gave us several other excellent recommendations for our subsequent trip to NYC. We'll be coming back to this one for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful and delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This place is delicious! My husband and I went for dinner and loved the food. Everything was incredibly fresh and made largely from local ingredients. It was such a nice change of pace from all of the jerk chicken and festival we've been enjoying, and it had plenty of vegetarian options, which was wonderful as my husband is vegetarian. We ordered a locally grown salad, pasta, duck and bread pudding and everything was delicious. We also loved the fresh focaccia and garlic herb butter.

Not only was the food delicious, but the atmosphere was so welcoming. The owner, Leila, greeted us as we entered and described every dish on the menu with detail. She also stopped by throughout the evening to give us a history of the building and the restaurant. She also gave us suggestions on sites to visit nearby, and recommended a driver for us who we used to go to the airport. Such a wonderful woman and great restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonardtown, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The very best--Do not miss this one!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Hands down, this is the best restaurant we found in Ocho Rios! I love healthy and not over-cooked, I love natural flavors and garden-fresh (and not smothered in cheese or sauce), and this is the place for that. With the cuisine and the stone walls, I felt like I was in Tuscany! Lella, the beautiful Italian chef/manager warmly greeted us, pulled up a chair and sat down with us. She gave us the interesting history of the charming stone & wood building we were sitting in, brought us fresh allspice leaves to smell, and told us about the day's menu. We mentioned that our visit to Jamaica was in celebration of my mother, Margaret's, 90th birthday. We had a light lunch of spectacular salads, though the main courses looked divine as well. My salad included arugula, shaved fennel, mint, tomatoes & grilled shrimp--bellisimo! But we did save room for dessert, and when my mother's ice cream covered in chocolate arrived, Lella sprinkled her head with a cascade of little flowers and we all broke out into a chorus of 'Happy Birthday'. Written in chocolate on the rim of her plate was "Happy Birthday Margaret...One Love". It was unexpected--and perfect. So were my crepes stuffed with Jamaican blackberry compote...OMG. We simply didn't find anywhere else that came close to the food, ambience or service. We meant to get back again for dinner, but somehow the week was over before we knew it and so was any opportunity to go. From the heart of Ocho Rios, it was a $40.00 taxi ride (for 4 of us), but since the Harmony Hall Art Gallery is located upstairs, you can do that as well as we did, and get more for your transportation buck. If you value wholesome Italian country dining with excellent food, don't miss this one.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner twice at this restaurant during my vacation.
A lovely experience, attentive service and excellent food. The owners and chef dedicate time to the customers in describing the menu in detail before they order, and the food is lovely prepared and decorated. The pastas are hand made and cooked as you wish (al dente!) and the seafood is great, a true Italian experience

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Toscanini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.