We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toscanini Restaurant

Toscanini Restaurant
Tower Isle, Ocho Rios, Jamaica
876-975-4785
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 84 Restaurants in Ocho Rios
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an authentic Italian restaurant located just outside the resort town of Ocho Rios, Jamaica. The property is an original plantation house that also houses an art gallery featuring famous local works of art.
Dubai, UAE
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Even better than before....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went to Toscanini with Mom and the kids for dinner. I salivate just listening to the owner Lella explain the menu. She suggested the Bacon Pizza for the kids....they loved it!

Mom had the Mahi Mahi and I, the lobster fettuccine - both were delicious.

Amazing atmosphere, always great food!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    360
    60
    12
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Toscanini is authentic, fine italian dining on the north coast of Jamaica. It has been a favorite of ours for a number of years and we try to visit at least several times whenever we are in Ocho Rios. Toscanini is certainly one the best if not the best restaurant on the Jamaica north coast and compares favorably with many of the better restaurants we have experienced on a number of trips to Italy. The owners PG and Lella are experienced international restaurateurs originally from the heart of Italy and it shows in the authenticity of the presentations. The location, a few miles east of Ocho Rios is delightful (and quiet), in an old structure open to the breeze but covered from the elements. The staff is efficient and pleasant. The menu is always quite extensive and presented uniquely on large chalk boards along with a detailed verbal description of every item, sometimes by Lella. The problem is making a decision from a range of tempting offerings. While the menu is classic Italian, PG does take advantage of many fresh local ingredients and the results are excellent. On our last visit, his use of local fish was awesome.. We do tend to usually focus on the pastas, many choices, all prepared perfectly. No meal at Toscanni would be complete without a long and interesting discussion with PG, not surprising, usually on the subject of food.
A great restaurant - don't miss it. If you are in an all inclusive hotel, break out one night. It will be worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Italian dining with Jamaican flair”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We stopped here for lunch and had to return for dinner! Delicious & fresh! Owner Lella was wonderful! Can't wait to go back!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We met up with friends who were staying at a different resort for dinner. I really enjoyed the ambiance of the restaurant. The menu was on 2 large chalk boards. And I believe it was the owner who sat down with us to explain the menu. I have to say, it was a bit confusing lol. 3 out of 4 of us had the Lobster and it was fantastic. They took the meat out of the shell, cooked it with some creamy sauce, then put it back into the shell for serving. My husband wanted to try the lamb, but just the meat, didn't want the meal as he wanted lobster. They delivered only the lamb meat and he and one of our friends enjoyed a tasting. All in all, we had a lovely dinner with friends and will return.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bellissimo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We ate at Toscanini twice during our week long stay in Ocho Rios and enjoyed both meals tremendously . The service from all of the staff was professional , attentive and friendly. The ambience - wonderful - al fresco dining on the verandah of the former plantation house ( there is a very nice indoor dining room as well) The brother and sister chef team ( a genuinely delightful pair) take the time to review the blackboard menu thoroughly and include details such as where the ingredients came from ( imported, local) , when they arrived and which are their fathers recipes. We tasted a number of the pasta and fish appetizers and mains and they were all delicious .
This is certainly amongst the best Italian restaurants we have eaten, including in Italy. I would not miss the opportunity to eat at Toscanini if you are staying in , near , or just passing through Ocho Rios close to lunch or dinner time .
Arrivederci , PG e Lella

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toscanini Restaurant also viewed

Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
Ocho Rios, Saint Ann Parish
 

Been to Toscanini Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toscanini Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.