We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barrett Adventures, Secret Falls, fantastic tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barrett Adventures

Barrett Adventures
Montego Bay, Jamaica
876 382 6384
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Barrett Adventures is a company with more than 20 years of experience in showing our guests the real Jamaica. We specialize in doing excursions that either are done in ways to maximize your enjoyment of familiar attractions by doing them at times when we don't have to share them with the crowds, or offering tours to places that are truly 'Off the beaten path.'Our drivers are unsurpassed in their knowledge of our culture and our history. You will never find one of us at a loss for words when you ask a question.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Lewisville, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Barrett Adventures, Secret Falls, fantastic tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Shawn was our driver/guide and we could not have had a better experience. He was waiting at the cruise dock exactly where Carolyn said he would be and took great care of us all day. There were 8 of us and we went to Secret Falls. We jumped off cliffs into the beautiful water and hiked up to the falls. Some climbed down the falls. There were only about 15-20 people there. It was beautiful and like we had a private place just for us. We then went to another area of the river and went tubing. I can think of nothing to complain about. Perfect day.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Barrett Adventures, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
So very kind of you to post this review. We pride ourselves in attention to detail and personal service. Thank you for choosing us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    14
    5
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anahuac, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Barrett Adventures- MoBay, Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have used Barrett Adventures several times- In fact we can't imagine a trip to JAMAICA WITHOUT USING cAROLYN'S SERVICES!!! The guides are friendly, and have an encyclopedic knowledge of the island and its' people...we have always felt completely safe and have NEVER been approached to buy drugs or other "unwanted" advances... We absolutely look forward to our visit each time to Rockland Bird Sanctuary and feeding the hummingbirds by hand...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Barrett Adventures, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We love the bird sanctuary and the feel of the place we highly recommend this attraction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Blue Hole and Tubing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My wife and I booked an excursion online with Carolynn Barett's Adventures. Our guide Loxley was outstanding. He picked us up at Falmouth and drove us to Blue Hole/ Secret Falls. He was a wealth of knowledge and very friendly. We will never forget our experience of the beauty of the falls and the wonderful people we met. Highly recommend Barett Adventures. We will use again when we return to Jamaica. Thanks for a terrific time!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Barrett Adventures, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Loxley is like family and he treats all our guests that way. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Talking to Bob Marley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Barrett Adventures was awesome! Being able to customize our tour and personalize to what we liked was great. We took the 9 mile tour followed by the secret falls. Richard picked us up and was a great guide. He was very professional and answered all our questions. He was flexible and stopped for us at a good spot to pick up fair priced souvenirs. We really enjoyed the secret falls. Definitely a highlight of our trip. Omar was our guide at the falls. He was awesome, guiding us through all the turns of the river pointing out where to jump, hidden caves to swim through and good places to get our pic. (I recommend bringing a waterproof camera. We did, and he got some amazing shots of us.) Overall Barrett Adventures took real good care of us. Yeah Mon.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Barrett Adventures, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate all your feedback and know that the people we have on staff are the best that the island has to offer. We try our hardest to ensure that every guest has the best possible time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Paradise! The Blue Mountains Tour Is A Must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Having visited over 20 countries and been on countless tours, I'd rank Carolyn's Blue Mountains Tour as one of my all-time favourites. Never in a million years would we have discovered this side of Jamaica if Carolyn wasn't our guide. Not only did she take us on an unforgettable journey through the Blue Mountains, but she taught us more about the country in one day than most people learn over the course of several visits!

The visit to Old Tavern Estate was an incredible treat. For those who don't know, the region is a mecca for coffee-lovers. We had the pleasure of meeting Dorothy Twyman (the owner of the coffee estate) who graciously welcomed us into her home and offered us a variety of coffee and sweets. I’m so glad we went with Carolyn: they’ve been friends for 20+ years which made the experience very intimate and memorable – we felt like we were visiting family!

We also took a beautiful hike through the rainforest where we learned about the plants that inhabit the mountains (Carolyn is an expert botanist too).

I’m beyond thrilled that we went on this private tour with Carolyn; her knowledge of the island, sense of adventure and genuineness is truly unparalleled! Oh, and she’s also one of the best drivers I’ve ever shared a car with: I think she could drive up the mountain range with her eyes closed!!

If you're headed to Jamaica, I HIGHLY recommend taking this unique tour. You will not regret it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolyn B, Manager at Barrett Adventures, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
So very kind of you to write this review. We pride ourselves in giving our guests a taste of the "real Jamaica" That is what makes us special. Please share your experiences with your friends and come back and visit us real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barrett Adventures also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Barrett Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barrett Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.