We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polkerris

Save Saved
You added Polkerris to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Polkerris
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Montego Bay B&B and Inns
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We just returned from a stay at Polkerris while we were in Jamaica. We spent the first 3 nights of our trip there and the last night of our vacation as the airport was only a few minutes away. The property is fantastic! It's gated for privacy, has incredible views of Montego Bay (cruise ships were coming into Montego Bay on Weds morning as we were having breakfast), and as you'll read time and again, the breakfasts are great (although we didn't try the Jamaican breakfast). Our room, Polkerris # 5, had a window view out over the bay and was very spacious. Jeremy was kind enough to drive us into town one evening for necessities since the airline lost our main luggage bag. The pool is nice, very clean, and a great place to catch some rays or just relax. If you are staying in Montego Bay, we would highly recommend checking out Polkerris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
34
115
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We spent the first four days of our recent three-week visit to Jamaica at Polkerris. Sitting on the huge sea-facing porch eating a wonderfully tasty Jamaican breakfast each morning and watching the ships pass by below was both amazing and relaxing. We loved the creatively-designed gardens and aquarium with their many varieties of fish, fruits, flowers and plants, the inviting pool and the indoor-outdoor ambience of the gracious house on the hill itself. Our king-sized bed, room and bathroom near the pool were large, beautifully furnished and very, very comfortable. Cissy, Jeremy and the entire staff were always helpful, and their warm smiles made us feel very special. We looked forward to returning each evening to our calm, Jamaican home away from home. Polkerris' relaxed atmosphere was the perfect beginning to our holiday and its designation as the #1 bed and breakfast location in MoBay is richly deserved. We wholeheartedly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton Shores, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at Sissy and Jeremy's place for 6 enjoyable nights. We traveled with friends that have known the hosts since 1970. Our friends have stayed there many times and keep returning.
We felt right at home immediately. The setting is lovely and the service is exceptional. Wonderful breakfast each day with many traditional Jamaican dishes, as well as standard breakfast fare of your choice (generous portions). The grounds are beautiful and the staff is quietly busy all day long. They own the Pelican Restaraunt, which is just down the hill, highly recommend it for lunch, if you need it, or dinner. Some of the local jerk restaraunts are great.
A car for day trips is recommended, if you are there more than a few days. The beach at the bottom of the hill on the "Hip Strip", Doctors Cave was great. The "Hip Strip" is not really all that hip, but there are a few nice parts and it was very safe in the area. A must stay for B&B travelers!

Room Tip: 6 rooms at Polkerris and 4 at their daughters house accross the street. Daughters house is newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I can only repeat what so many others have said - beautiful place, gracious hosts. Breakfasts include Jamaican dishes and are large enough to keep you going until dinner. Recommend either of the upstairs rooms beside the pool. Suggest a car rental as dining choices that are close by are limited.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed for two days and wished we could have stayed longer. Its is a beautiful property with stunning views of Montego Bay. Very close to the shops, bars and beach its an ideal place to stay. Our room was tastefully decorated with quality furnishings and had comfy beds. It was so clean and well maintained, we kept singing its praises! Lovely air conditioned room, refrigerator and security box. The property was very well secured with security keys provided to guests to enter main gates and our rooms main and terrace doors.
As for the owners Jeremy and Clarissa, they were lovely, friendly and caring people. Our daughter was feeling very unwell and when we asked there advice they were most helpful. We will always appreciate their personal help and attention.
Breakfast by the way was so tasty, with a fruit platter and then a choice of Jamaican, American or English or a mix n match and good sized portions. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would most definatley stay again when returning to Jamaica.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We stayed 15 days at Polkerris. Lovely property overlooking the ocean, very well kept, and location is excellent only minutes away from the airport. Located just up the hill within walking distance from "Hip Strip." Room was very spaciuos,clean, with Air condition, large closet, mini refrigerator, safety box, and satellite TV. Beautifully landscaped property with a nice pool and deck area. Dr. Coves Beach is within walking distance. We felt very safe staying here, as the property is very secured. We truly looked forward to breakfast every morning. Breakfast was always lovely, with fresh fruits and juice served outside on the Patio overlooking the beautiful ocean. You get a choice of traditional Jamaican or American breakfast. I got the Jamaican breakfast every morning and I just loved the fried dumplings. Our hosts Jeremey and Clarissa were very nice and friendly, never intrusive and helped make our stay very enjoyable. Clover kept our room immaculate.

I would also recommend the Pelican Restaurant which is family owned and within walking distance from Polkerris. The food is excellent with variety of dishes, and the price is reasonable.

We didn't want to leave on our last day and will definetly retun to Polkerris!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This is a great place to stay when visiting Jamaica. It is a perfect place to stay at the beginning or the end of a trip if you are flying out of Montego Bay. It is very convenient and close to the airport. (10 minute drive) It is also close to the 'Hip Strip' which is where a lot of tourist go. It is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the pool and beautiful view. I loved the breakfast every morning and the pool. The hosts are very kind and helpful. They make the place one of the best places to visit. We would love to come back and would make sure to stay here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Polkerris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polkerris

Address: 13 Corniche Road, Montego Bay JMCJS, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Polkerris 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polkerris and Vista de la Bahia are two villas nestled on a hillside with fabulous views overlooking the Montego Bay harbour. Less than half a mile from Doctor's Cave Beach and a few minutes from the 'Hip Strip' with it's many shops and restaurants. Rooms are air conditioned with en-suite bathroom, TV, refrigerator, safe and ironing board. A full breakfast is included with a wide array of Jamaican and International dishes to choose from. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Polkerris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Polkerris Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polkerris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.