We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low class facility” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Click for details
Ranked #23 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Low class facility”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There's a few resorts I've come across in my travels to Jamaica that have been disappointments and this is one for sure . You really get what you pay for . Went with some friends on this trip, although I dont want to complain so much for this as we did get a Deal for it ...however, it is substandard in my opinion . No beach to speak of ...the staff spent ALOT of time with patrons here !! Unprofessional and inappropriate, absolutely . I've never seen so much personal involvement with customers in any other place . Rooms - very basic and outdated, as is hotel and it's property. Food was less than average. I would rate it a one star. Would never return nor recommend it.

Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,010
    1,010
    320
    160
    108
See reviews for
346
1,061
85
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (522)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merchantville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

i recently traveled to jamaica on business (lucky me, i know). we wanted to extend the trip and after careful consideration of the area and other options we decided on a return trip to the royal decameron – montego bay. we stayed for two nights, after staying three nights at the hotel where the conference was hosted.

arriving at the rdmb was like returning home, it was just as we remembered. upon check in, we were informed by the new hotel manager that we were invited to stay at an oceanfront bungalow at the sister royal decameron property – club caribbean. we declined this offer. being in jamaica for such a short time we were not interested in the additional travel and we were excited to be returning to the m. bay location since we enjoyed it so much the first time we were there.

unfortunately, then we were brought to our NON-oceanfront room, when we had paid through expedia for an oceanfront room! rdmb mostly has oceanfront rooms and we were placed in a room on the side of the building (325), which was not oceanfront. also, the door was impossible to open and we had to wait for maintenance to help. overall, this experience didn’t leave us happily checked into the jamaican hotel where we had previously felt very much at home. hotel staff told us that the hotel was at capacity during our two night stay, so we were unable to change our room. but we also heard them talking to each other about how we booked through expedia. i hope we weren’t penalized for booking through expedia.

food: the last time we visited we loooooved souk, the al la carte restaurant. this time, not so much. our dishes were bland, small, and the service was lacking. however, the buffet was great, lots of variety and everything tasted very fresh and flavorful.

beach: the new beach is awesome. it truly makes a huge difference when the hotel is completely full as there is plenty of room to spread out. this was also helpful because during our stay there were a lot of rowdy, larger crowds that took over the pool area. there is construction going on behind the new beach where a brand new building will be. the noise was minimal, but might increase in the coming months. i hope the new building doesn’t cause the hotel to lose its small resort charm.

tips: we finally ventured out and enjoyed a lovely happy hour at the houseboat grill. we highly recommend this gem, the views and food were both amazing. and happy hour is 2 for 1 red stripe.

overall, we were disheartened about our room placement given our last irie experience at rdmb. the price, location, and overall experience (3.5 stars) do outweigh that, however we hope when we book a return trip we will get that rdmb oceanfront room that we love so much! shout out to our favorite bellman, dave, bartender, kiwan and driver, courtney!

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Royal Decameron delivered on every single level, everything was amazing! The atmosphere was awesome, ages ranging from 30-55. Not really a resort for younger children, but if you're looking for a plain ole good time and meeting new friends, this is the resort for you!! Will be back next year!!

Stayed July 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

In addition to having THE WORST FOOD EVER, the management of this hotel, particularly the sales director whose name I don't know, is a heartless set. I am a native Jamaican. I brought my father here to celebrate his 65th birthday. Two days into my four day trip, I needed to return to the states due to family emergency. I explained this on my unexpected checkout form. The hotel refused to refund me for the two unused nights.

I will never return to your hotel because you do not have the decency to not take advantage of someone who is already handling a bad situation. I hope it was worth it, sales director.

  • Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time, and are very pleased. We stayed there for a week, and the food is good, the entertainment is good (watch the shows), the entertainers/fun crew were very entertaining. Very clean, and plenty of places to relax during the day. We will definitely be back to visit again.

Stayed July 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First, the hotel is just a few minutes away from the airport so no time lost here!
It's not a big resort wo you can easily be at the beach, the pool or the buffet in a few minutes. As we travelled in June, it was not overcrowded at all so we always had a lot of choice to sit in the dining room or to lay under a parasol at the beach, we also were often alone in the pool!
Everything is clean and weel groomed, the staff is polite but not in your way, which is really appreciated.
The food was good, enough options for us, especially as it changed every day. The drinks at the bar were always good (the Chi Chi cocktail is so good !) also.
The only two lows are our room was on the 2nd floor near the lobby and it was really loud at night, and the wifi should definitely be free.
But we really enjoyed our stay, and having this ocean view all the time, wherever you are in the hotel, is really great.

Room Tip: Ask a room as far from the lobby and the stage as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont-Saint-Hilaire, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As soon as i hit the lobby i was greed with a welcome to your Jamaican home.
Room was ready so they sent my luggage right away.
Hit the buffet for lunch and as always great food was served. Now relaxed and enjoying my vacation i went to the poolbar to meet my friends.
I had a wonderfull week, sunshine wall to wall and the ocean is one of the best part
clear blue cristaline water.
Had a blast with the entertainement crew, played games and had lots of fun
My room was the same as usual, clean fresh and very comfortable. My maid does a great job.
Dont miss the À La Carte,the food is so good,try everything you wont regret your diners and the service is first class! Thanks to Pattisha Grant and her team.
Staff is fantastic, from landscaping employes to high management, always smilling and welcoming you with a Ya mon and a smilling hello.
Guests are also fantastics! Since it is a small hotel every body is nice to others. I met people over the years that became best friends for life.Salutations to Margie, Sandy, Melissa, Judy and Tom, Janice and Mike and Laura that met me all this week and contribute to make my vacation unforgottable. See you all in October!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
0.2 mi away
The Gloucestershire Hotel
The Gloucestershire Hotel
#22 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oasis at Sunset, Montego Bay
41.0 mi away
Royal Decameron Club Caribbean
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
Holiday Inn Resort Montego Bay
#25 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 257 reviews
1.7 mi away
SeaGarden Beach Resort
SeaGarden Beach Resort
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sunset Beach Resort, Spa & Water Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.