We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Services so and so” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Veikkola, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Services so and so”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Nice location, but outside hotel a lot of smoking offering people. Hotel allows also "smoking" inside, even their security and band members are using there stuff. Mainly helpful staff, but slow and ignoring ones plenty. Many people had problem with internet reservations, like we also. Pre paid two rooms, but hotel offered only one first.

Room Tip: Sea side third floor ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    984
    969
    306
    156
    106
See reviews for
323
1,033
81
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (494)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We've made this our annual beach vacation......for the past 9 years. Never disappointed. This is not for people looking for high end pampering. It's for down to earth folks, looking to relax and have fun in the sun. You get a real taste of Jamiaca in Montego Bay. The RDC is clean and neat. A good variety of food and drinks. The staff is wonderful....we've made many friends over the years. We travel the same week each year and look forward to seeing other guests who do the same. The view...the sunsets....the coral reef are amazing. SInce there's nothing to compare to the Caribbean in Washington DC....we spend as much time as possible snorkeling in the peaceful, warm water. As I said...we love this place. And for those who say otherwise, that's OK....we prefer happy people! Thanks to all our RDC friends who made this year' s trip fantastic....and "One Love" to our special friend's Kevin and Rick! : )

Room Tip: Have never had a bad room....but prefer rooms in the Sunset building. Room #1 is large, and conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were here on Feb 2014, resort is very close to airport. Food and drinks were ok. Service was good. Room had a good view, but try to get 3rd or 4th floor. We stayed in the old building and went pass by new building for few times and those rooms had a better view. Ala carte restaurant was strictly ok, you can try it once just for the sake of it. I would say over all it's good for the money.

Room Tip: Get the 3rd floor room at least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We had an awesome time at the Royal Decameron, Montego Bay. We chose to get married there but was a bit nervous with reading all the bad reviews. There were 32 of our close friends and family coming with so I had to make sure everything went well! The staff was great the bartenders and the waitress, the only one we had a problem with was a female cook at the snack bar otherwise they were all friendly. The only staff I have to complain about is the wedding coordinator. If you plan to get married in Jamaica I would say don't do it at this resort just so you don't have to deal with the wedding coordinator. First thing was we planned the whole wedding gave her all my information and she lost it all. Second when we got there we had to meet with her and finalize everything well again she didn't have any of the decorations on file that we had picked out. The day we met I picked out a bamboo arch and a certain bouquet that I REALLY liked. The next morning 10 minutes before the wedding nothing was set up for the wedding it was 90 degrees so everyone attending had to stand around and wait and watch them set up, they did not set up the bamboo like we pre ordered and paid extra for and my bouquet was a totally different one that I had chosen and did not match the wedding parties colors. She told the pastor a different time then the wedding was scheduled for, so the pastor was 20 minutes late. The wedding was supposed to be at 10 and ended up starting at 1030. The wedding coordinator then advised we would get a reception and my husband and I pre ordered the meals. She had zero communication with the reception hall and they had no information that night when we showed up. She also when confronted blamed the reception hall and of course it wasn't her fault. Well when you pay money to have stuff you kind of want it done right and extra money on top of that. Lastly she got the date wrong on our marriage license and spelled our names wrong which are in all the pictures with the license in it. She also stated that wasn't her fault. Besides the wedding coordinator (Norshia Morgan) is her name, the wedding turned out great the other staff members were very helpful and did a great job. The resort is certainly not a 5 star but with 32 people it was easy to always find them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolla, Missouri
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

In June of 2012 I married the love of my life. We chose our honeymoon to be at Montego Bay and decided to stay at Royal de Cameron Hotel. Very nice property on the water. The swim up bar was my favorite. Snacks in the afternoon were delicious and the variety of food at the restaurant was very memorable. Overall great stay in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

We went there for my daughter's wedding, the whole experience was amazing and beautiful, nice size resort and the staff were personable and FUN! You could relax at the beach or the two pools and not be harassed by outside vendors, plenty of delicious food(almost all day and night)and the drinks, mmmmm, especially the hummingbirds, yum

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My boyfriend and I just returned from a week stay at the Royal Decameron in Montego Bay. The resort was centrally located about half way between Ochos Rios and Negril so we were able to take day trips to both of those cities. The resort was also within walking distance of many shops and nightclubs and only 5 minutes from the airport. The buffet was fantastic for breakfast, lunch, and dinner! Lot's of variety and very fresh! And, if you need food when the buffet is not open, there was also a snack bar available at other times with hamburgers, hot dogs, fries, etc. There were two small beaches at the resort as well as a man-made sandy area with plenty of chairs for catching some rays. There was never any crowding and always plenty of areas to lay on the beach or in chairs. There was also a small reef about eight feet off the beach with lots of colorful fish and nice coral. Great for snorkeling! The resort had plenty of events/contests throughout the day as well as evening entertainment every night. These were all hosted by the "fun crew" which did an excellent job of keeping the energy up and providing fun for all. The room itself was nothing special, but we really weren't in the room all that much anyway. The only complaint we had related to the water sport equipment. The resort had two glass bottom kayaks, two regular kayaks, and two peddle boats. All six of these items were broken and could not be used. That was disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.