We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A blast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Listen, the Royal Decameron is by no means a 5 star in the traditional sense of the word, but when my boyfriend and I travelled there in December 2013, I had read the reviews on here and thought, oh no, my boyfriend is not gonna like it. But he did. In fact he loved it and so did I.
It is a resort, so the all-inclusive includes entertainment, some people have said that it was too loud, but you are on vacation!! You shouldn't have to get up in the am for anything! The service was awesome, with or without tipping. I think the staff understands that not everybody carries cash in their swimming trunks or suit, and we made sure to take care of everyone on the last day of our trip.
The beach on the other side of the beach grill was where we spent most of our time (except for the hip strip). We went the week before Christmas so maybe that is why it was never packed, but no matter to us because we were able to get a seat and move around in and out of the sun when we got too hot without disrupting other guests. It was perfect!! (Although we did have a local who kept pulling out his junk, but the property security immediately got him away without us having to tell them, it made me feel instantly safe!!)
The food is local, which is why they are able to offer the stay at such a great rate. I didn't expect too much based on the reviews, so maybe that is why I was pleasantly surprised, but I must have lost 15 pounds from that trip from eating such healthy fruits and veggies (and walking the stairs). And I drank my weight in alcoholic beverages every day (if not twice a day)! The coffee was amazing, and I am definitely picky about my am coffee…although one suggestion I might have is to put coffee pots in the rooms, I am a raging crank when I first wake up until I have my coffee, and my boyfriend takes forever to get up in the am, making my plight that much harder!
Will we return? Absolutely, and in fact the boyfriend wanted to go back this december but I successfully convinced him to check out other Caribbean islands before we come back! But after we see the rest of the Caribbean, we will be back to Jamaica and the Royal Decameron. I feel sad about those who have had a bad experience here, ours was golden!

Room Tip: Try to get an ocean view (obviously), ours was above the pool looking at the pool bar, so we were ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    899
    280
    152
    101
See reviews for
302
947
75
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ironwood, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Just got back from a visit to the Royal Decameron in Montego Bay. We had a very nice and relaxing vacation and enjoyed the hotel. Everything was just as I expected it to be (our third trip to Jamaica and 5th all inclusive Caribbean trip). Sure would have been nice if something had pleasantly surprised us by exceeding our expectations, but not too many complaints.

When we arrived at 4:30 in the afternoon we had to wait until after 6 to be taken to a room. They didn't however, have the ocean view room we booked available and took us to one of the few (I would guess maybe only 5 on the whole resort) garden view rooms. The room was bigger had had two areas and two beds (a king and a twin), but it wasn't ocean view. This room was noisy (from the busy street nearby) and very dark (I had to bring the suitcase in the bathroom so I could see what I was doing). When we were finally (after 3:00) relocated to the Oceanview room we had a great room on the 4th (top) floor. Much brighter, quieter and a great view.

The three food options suited us just fine (buffet, beach food, dinner restaurant)...we appreciated that the buffet offered "local" food like oxtail, jerk chicken/pork, fish and various side dishes. It might be less than ideal for more choosy or less adventurous diners.

We really appreciated that the resort was smaller/less people than some of our past trips. There were always plenty of beach/pool chairs, cabanas, hammocks and such - I never felt like we had to hurry to save a spot. We also enjoyed being steps from the beach and sitting so close to the water during our meals at the buffet. The resort is on a long narrow stretch of land so you are always close to the water/beach and though the beach itself is broken up by boarwalk/breakwall sections, it creates nice little pockets so you don't feel like you are in a sea of people even when all of the chairs are full. Not ideal though, if you are a "long walks on the beach" kind of person - no long walks available here.

We happily went sailing almost every day with Ivan and never had to wait in line or bribe him to take us instead of someone else. Most of the other guests didn't seem to take advantage of the water sports options.

Evening entertainment didn't start until 9:30 and was good enough. One night they had a dance team come in to perform, another they had a guy who '"breathed fire", another balanced things on his head and walked on glass...a third night they embarrased guests with some kind of "Miss Decamaron" contest, we didn't stay for that one...... Better than watching a movie in the room, but nothing to write home about.

Bartenders were nice and drinks were plenty strong. Housekeeping was efficient and always had fresh towels. The whole resort seemed well maintained and clean. Someone was always cleaning something. The water pressure in the shower was miserable. The a/c worked, though we preferred to leave the doors open and let the breeze do the work instead. Didn't use wifi, though saw other guests skyping from the Lobby. They had two computers available for $5/hr with internet access.

Booked through funjet, with hotel transfers included and waited so long at the airport for the bus to leave that we could have (literally) walked to the hotel faster. Not too sure about other taxi options, but would check into that next time. Didn't have any problem with the airport being too noisy even though it was a five minute drive. Even with our patio door open....

I would recommend this hotel to a friend. As long as that friend was used to staying at the Holiday Inn and wasn't a picky eater, or required a lot of beach walking....not a resort for someone with really high standards I guess. Everything was just as I expected it to be, no frills, just relaxing vacation time.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a Ocean view room. Some rooms on the airport end looked like they might be nicer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

This was our second trip to Montego Bay and the Royal Decameron. As so often happens the second time round is a disappointment but not this time. Although the resort is older the staff work very hard to keep it clean and fresh looking. The rooms are in need of updating but we only used the room to sleep. The water pressure was a problem but you just had to wait it out and the pressure would be back in a minute or two. All the room concerns disappear when you look out of your balcony or patio to the fantastic view of the caribbean ocean. From what I understand almost every room had an ocean view. We were on the fourth floor and it was great. We got a lot of excercise since the elevator only holds a maximum of 4 people so we mainly used the stairs.

There is one restaurant, one buffet and a Hamburger/Pizza Grill on the property that are all good. The restaurant served excellent menu selections and reservations were very easy. We could reserve the day we wanted to use the service. The buffet had lots of variety from the traditional jamican dishes to the North American comfort foods. Since we were there for two weeks we were expecting a repeat of the menu the second week but the menu options were different enough to keep us from getting tired of the choices. The Grill was open for lunch and then again after the evening entertainment at 11pm. They made excellent hamburgers and I highly recommend the wings.

There are two pools on the property and a jacuzzi. The jacuzzi is on the cooler side and I never saw anyone use it. The quieter pool is a bit removed from all the activity but close enough to enjoy watching the activities without getting involved. The other pool has a swim up bar and can be rowdy in the afternoon.

The entertainment staff work very hard to give people something to do all day long. They arranged aquacise, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, beach games, pool games and drinking games for any and all who want to participate. They ended the evening with entertainment that varied from singers/bands, fire dancers, contortionists to bingo and games with more audience participation. Kudos to Jack, Brittany, Dr. D, Poppy and the rest of the crew, including new comer Zooma (Kim). This was the best entertainment crew we have seen in the Carrirbean.

As far as tipping goes it didn't seem to matter if we tipped or not the service was the same. If the bartenders enjoyed your company and you were friendly and personable chances were you would be served sooner. There were times throughout the day when the bar staff would be very busy and they served you when they had the time. This was something we took in stride, after all we were on vacation. The waitresses in the restaurant were excellent but busy. After a couple of days they knew who you were and what you were drinking before having to order.

There are two small beaches on the property. One of the beaches has better snorkelling than the other but the coral is quite close to the beach. This makes the snorkelling better but you need to be aware of the coral and the sea urchins. The other beach has coral as well but it is further out and not as plentiful. The snorkelling isn't as good but people who want to swim and sunbath on the beach enjoy it more than the other one.

We did several tours and found Ren, a local taxi driver, cheaper than the resort prices. He provided us with excellent service and was flexible. We told him where we wanted to go and he made the arrangements, advised us of the costs and made sure we were where we had to be when we needed to be there. One day we did the Black Snake River, waterfalls and the Appleton Rum factory and he got us to each tour a few minutes before the appointed time. He helped to make the vacation enjoyable.

The resort keeps close tabs on their guests. If leaving the resort you are required to give the gatehouse your room number. There are several security guards that survey the property 24 hours. They not only keep the guests safe but make sure any guests who have over indulged get to their correct room. The Hip Strip is right outside the resort gates and provides tons of shopping. If you tired of the resort food and drink there are several bars and restaurants within walking distance on the Hip Strip.

Everyone in the resort was excellent. The bellman, Denton, is a great resource. The front desk staff were very accommodating and greeted us by name. Waitresses, cooks and barmen all made of point of providing good service. All the maintenance staff and cleaning crews were friendly and pleasant. The Water Sport guys did their best to arrange whatever water equipment we wanted. The staff seem to be happy with their work - a rare commodity in today's world.

Overall we enjoyed our trip immensely and will definitely be back. Not because the resort is a five star - its not. We will be back because of the people. We met some exceptional people both on and off the resort. Locals that originally come from Jamaica and other tourists from around the world. "Respect Mon"

Room Tip: If you want an excellent view and not a lot of noise the rooms on the third and fourth floor are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We upgraded from Decameron at Runaway Bay. Glad we did . Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and sunsets. Vaughn and staff were great and helpful. Food selection wasn't as much as Runaway Bay ,but still good. The Seafood El a carte was worth it. You can snorkel right off the beach. No problem finding chairs on the beach ,but around 7:30am people start to put their towels down. We did the Tropical Dream Catamaran .Lots of fish to see and rum punch to drink. We had fun. $75 per person. We'll be back.

Room Tip: don't take room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

If you are a working class person with a budget this is your place. If you are high maintenance please choose another location! Upon arrival and as your checking in, you receive a free rum drink..granted it's a little light on the rum but it is free and a wonderful gesture! I've reserved our rooms through Travelocity both times (1st week of February travel), no issues no gimmicks, no bait/switch. Our room is old as is the rest of the neighborhood, but it is clean and the view is spectacular, we spend most of our day outside and just use our room sleep so this fits our needs. Water pressure, lets just say you can close your eyes and imagine taking a shower in a rain shower..kinda tropical..but No Problem Mon! 2 pools; 1 quieter and the other has the swim up bar that can get a bit rowdy in the mid afternoon. Snorkeling is great even off the small beach; or you can rent the glass bottom boat. Food; plenty of it, even the most finicky eater can find SOMETHING each meal! Our first trip we didn't really tip; but after seeing the economic conditions in the area we began tipping. $1 every few drinks, $5 to my maid, etc..I found booking excursions at the hotel to be far cheaper than booking ahead of time. All in all, i found this to be a great bargain and a wonderful trip. We will be back again next year.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Stayed at this hotel from 22nd Jan-30th. Was originally staying at the RDC in runaway bay and got offered a free upgrade to montego bay-best choice we made! This hotel is much friendlier and not overun by the french! Room was nice and big with a balcony and a sea view! Only two small beaches but water was crystal clear and very clean.

There are two swimming pools, one small quiet pool and a bigger pool with a swim up bar, was nice to sit there with a cocktail looking through to the sea!

Food was good, lots of variety to choose from. Drinks were good too. Staff all friendly, except on occasion the bar staff by the stage bar were a bit miserable at night. Entertainment was ok, a little boring at times. Entertainment crew will ensure you have a good time though, got dragged up on stage and got some free twerking lessons from the girls!

Overall this hotel is pretty good, not the best/prettiest beaches i've ever seen but it's good value for money. Always something going on, reggae music throughout the day, volley ball and various games with the entertainment crew. Would def go back!

Trips we did were Bob Marley museum in 9 mile where he was born and is now buried. Not a great deal to see but if you're a big Bob Marley fan-definately worth it!

Dunns rivers was pretty good, got a katamaran to the falls where you climbe over 600 foot to the top and then back on the boat for some rum punch and a party on the way back!

Would def recommend the glass bottom boat too with captain Polly. you can get this at the hotel for $20 each, he takes you to a great snorkelling spot and you get to see lots of amazing pretty fish! Maybe even a shark/stingray if you're lucky!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Just got back from a week at the Royal Decameron in Montego Bay.
We read reviews before booking, and were satisfied that overall we would have a good time (site unseen).
Our plane came in around midnight, and we spent a good two hours going through the immigration at the airport, since there were only four inspectors for HUNDREDS of passengers, and no AC (they turn it off at night).
Arrived at the RD hungry and exhausted. No food available (NOTHING).
The front desk staff was polite, but put us in a room with two twin beds (no good for us). They told us we could change rooms the next day at 3pm, and would have to bring our luggage down to the storage area, during the wait.
We thought this was a liberty, but complied.
The room we ended up getting was next door to the one we left on the third floor??? Very nice view of the ocean, old, but clean. They need to figure out how to use some fabric softener, and bleach on the towels, which were a white grayish color, and rough to the touch.
Have to mention the TWO passenger elevator, just big enough for two people, and maybe your luggage :)
Spent the day on the beach...(now this is important) if you are a sandy beach person, you should know that this resort has VERY limited beach area, and there is a coral reef that runs the whole length of the small beach area, making any swimming hazardous.
Most guests stay on the deck side, where although there is water, you have to dive, or climb down a ladder.
We're vegetarian, so didn't expect too much at the buffet, but were pleasantly surprised at the variety of food available for us.
To top it off, the chef ERROL personally came out and introduced himself, promising to make us special items (we love Ackee, and Dumplings). He more than catered to us, even arranging for some Ackee to take home...yum yum!!!
The entertainment was so, so. We wondered why the singers, chose to wow us with western music, and not the Reggae we love.
This was a theme all down the 'Hip Strip', from MARGARITAVILLE to PIER 1, most of the music is geared towards a tourist palate, I guess they think Reggae won't be appealing to white people :).
We took a very nice day trip, which we booked through the hotel, to Negril. We had thought of hiring a taxi, but they wanted $150 US, our coach trip cost$75 US and was well worth it, with a tour guide, and stops for shopping, beach, and Ricks Café.
For the price we got value, a good holiday, and plenty of sun!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the ocean side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Avenue | St. James - Jamaica, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located five minutes away from Montego Bay International Airport near the commercial district and the Hip Strip, Royal Decameron Montego Beach is a beachfront property on white sandy beaches with crystal clear waters. Its facilities and ensure a relaxing holiday environment. This hotel has two restaurants, PassaPassa and Souk, where you can enjoy different international and regional dishes. During the day, you can partake in different recreational activities including dance lessons, aerobics and non-motorized water sports like kayaks, sailboats and diving lessons in the pool. In the evenings, enjoy our shows and dance till you drop at the disco of the Royal Decameron Montego Beach hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.