We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant experience at RDMB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“brilliant experience at RDMB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

just returned a week ago from RDMB and had a brilliant time. the hotel is a bit dated but some rooms being renovated at the moment. we were in room108 n it was absoluteely brilliant had our own wee garden n right out on to the beach. what more could u ask for. my husband had a hammock in the garden and loved it. staff are fantastic. every single 1 of them. the entertainment crew were so friendly n didn't force you to take part if you didn't want to. the guys were amazing. special mention to andre, sprinkles, chocolate, peppar, brittiny and sadikki. all the guys were so friendly. 5 mins from airport too which makes a big difference to booking too. i would definately recommend this hotel. would love to go back soon.

Room Tip: i enjoyed my room. was quite near the pool bar but far enough away not to be too bothered by the noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    920
    867
    270
    148
    97
See reviews for
296
911
72
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I booked this beach resort as a free transfer from their sister hotel in RunAway bay.

It is close to the airport; you can see air planes landing. But I did not experience a noise problem,

The resort is on the beach and is quite compact. The hotel is old but kept clean. There was 2 rooms being redecorated next to ours; so at least, they are trying to keep it smart.

There are plenty of shops (& 1 flee market) selling virtually the same stuff on the main road outside. Be prepared to be harassed by touts and asked if you want some "smoke" (not the legal stuff!). There are a lot of tourist wardens in colonial uniform along Gloucester Road; not sure what their role is.

Our room was clean and had a great view of the bay from the terrace. The air conditioning works, the bed was comfortable and the large screen TV has a great choice of news, sport and movie channels. There is a safe but the lock is charged at $2/day.

The food was a pleasant surprise. It is varied, loads of choice and goes from average to very good.

There is entertainment every day by the main bar. A small gym and of course the beach with a few free water sports.

The drinks are virtually all local produced. The red wine comes in (milk) carton (they try not to show you that) but is drinkable.

The WIFI costs an incredible $5 for 1 hour or $20 for 24 hours (which expires after 7 days). So you need to remember to turn off your wireless!

The weather is fantastic, the sea blue/clear (great for snorkeling), the beach clean, the people/staff are very friendly, the food is good, ...

Room Tip: Sea view got to be a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This resort is really quite lovely. The lobby area is wide open and the tropical breeze is wonderful. The rooms need some updating but I'm not the kind of traveler to stay in my room very much so this wasn't an issue for us. The beach areas are small but very nice and I really liked that even the areas without an actual beach (more of a bulkhead) had ladders so you could enter the water virtually anywhere. The swimming areas have small reefs with lots of tropical fish, anemone, and a few stingrays to spy on while you're snorkeling.

The staff are so friendly I thought they were trying to get me to buy something for the first few days we were there. They are just very kind, accommodating, inquisitive, and upbeat. The concierge and tours employees could have been a bit more knowledgeable.

It's hard to let anything get to you in such a beautiful setting, but the food at this all-inclusive was just not very good. The bread selection and quality was great but everything else was pretty much cafeteria food. The liquor wasn't watered down as it is at some other all-inclusives we've been to, so that was nice.

Another (very small) issue I had was that they'd only rent the snorkeling gear for 1 hour. I wasn't even close to being done when my hour was up so I decided to just buy my own mask and avoid the hassle of returning the resort's gear. If you have a mask/snorkeling gear I'd recommend bringing it. The snorkeling is really great at this resort!

If you're a light sleeper, PLEASE listen to other reviewers and stay on the “quiet side” of the resort (furthest from the pool and dining areas). The pool is pumping very loud dance music all day and the stage shows are fun but VERY LOUD. We could sleep through the apocalypse but if you’re a normal human being, good luck.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms = away from pool and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great stay. BEST was 99% staff. Very helpful & friendly. BEST WAS ENTERMAINT STAFF. VERYYY Special--Sprinkles--Chocolate- - Brittany. MOST amazing -fun-helpful. They made our stay a constant Iree. (All Well) & laughing all the time .Only 1 complaint-FRONT DESK CREW! Not help & very condescending!. NOW: that's out of the way rest was great. Comfortable room(had no ac is PM for 1 hour. MUST Compliment the baggage handler for getting a maintain man at 5 PM to fix. He went all over resort as desk kept telling us 15 more minutes. Got RICHARD. He was great. Got this fixed & a wiring problem & even checked back to find us twice more during stay to SAY Hello & was everything working. After that no more room problems. Stay was the MOST relaxing we have had(except check in was late into & stressful- room not ready on time.).Room comfortable. Pools & beach great. SOME of the best entertainment every night you'll get to see. Great all inclusive. Swim up bar at pool was neat. GET yourself a Covered insulated 2 1/2 glass mug for pool & eating in buffet and shows. Keeps you from getting 10 drinks a day--hold ice & stays cold. Don't want to bring one stop a NICOLE's Gifts just 2 blocks out on right from gate on left side of road for $9. ALSO; makes great Jamaica gift. SEE RAY!! BEST prices on Cuban & Jamaican cigars(HE Will haggle on them & on all items in store).Has great selection shirts $ swimwear. Also owns food market nest door.--they have some great Jamaican only made food items & local papers. Bets side trip(two) All day to Negril up coast. Margaritaville at Negril GREAT Beach -Great food. Well worth trip. Cost $900 for 2. Ricks' next was good-OK-drinks expensive. Best about it was local Cliff drivers & tourists cliff drivers & ONE fo the best Sunsets you'll see. Nest 2 hour trip by nice van for $30 for 2. Took us shopping- into market place where locals shop for food-fruit-necessities etc. Was very revealing. Also took to best outdoor craft market local. Not too pushing- REALLY can haggle over prices. Everything you can want for yourself & friends. FOOD at resort. Good. BEST is home breads. Buffet was better than restaurant . They only have settings in small room at 6:300 PM & 8 :300 PM. BUFFET line open 2 1/2 hors + ALL 3 meals. Very quite-leisure & no rush OR CROWDS. Use seats on outside. All is open air. Great salads & local fruit fish & Jamaican Jerk items. ONLY problem here was most meats dry--Must use the ajus sauces. Eat as much or all little. Also good snack bar by swim up pool bar 12PM to 5PM & 11PM to 1 Am to party after all shows. GREAT MUSIC.at meals by local 3 piece group singing Jamaican songs. Water at beach VG. Pool & activities great. You'll LOVE the wooden lounges at the pool. Comfortable(lots in places & cruses aren't). And beach ones very sturdy too. All have thick pads. Towels provide which can go on trips you make. JUST besure to return to hut or you'll be charged.
BEST small local resort right at Hip Stip. Can walk up to 1 1/2 miles-see everything U want- Modern Casino-Margaritaville -another beach at Drs. Cave & Dolphin show.
GET to Know the entertainment STAFF WELL as they are fun & get you to MOTOR ON!
HAVE FUN--GREAT TIME!!!. BEST BUY IN JAMAICA. Cost us with airfare from home $2428 & eight nights stay. ALSO-you'll get hit with a Jamaican room tax. No war around it. Only need shorts-swimming suit-T Shirts-Sandals & comfortable Nikes'. YOU don't need pants to get into small restaurant . NEED no pants or jacket. 76-86 @ day. Do bring deet as has mosquitos. BRING lots of sun lotion with U as VERY expensive here.

Room Tip: Worst part was too long to get into room 1st day. AC not working-took 2 hrs to fix. AND Front desk s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Check in was very quick, no warm fuzzies from the lady who checked us in but that's OK. Picked up a drink from the lobby bar from another cold lady. She was like that the whole week even though we tipped her every time.Hopped in the elevator with our luggage to the 4th floor, we only just fit but it was great to have only broke down one day for 4 hours. We thought our room was lovely, although it was dark out we knew we were in for an amazing view (we wern't disappointed it was gorgeous). Freshened up and went for dinner, had a few drinks & watched the show it was OK. We spent most of our time at the quiet pool. My only complaint about the pool was there wasn't enough umbrellas, and it was really hot. We ate lunch at the beach grill most days the young lady who works there was very warm and welcoming. The 2 Chris's and the 2 Rayon's at the bar were a lot of fun. We ventured out after a couple of days and made the mistake of crossing the road. High pressure selling from a bunch of women. We never went shopping after that. We rented a taxi one day right at the hotel it was $35 per hour. Also went on the glass bottom boat with Captain Poly, we really enjoyed that. So close to the airport loved watching all the planes come in. Older but well kept hotel, would I return probably not, we do like new places to explore. It all boils down to you get what you pay for. We had a lot of fun though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First things first, can't wait to get back! We read many reviews before we went and I have been to Jamaica before and stayed at the Sandals Royal Carribean. I have stayed at 5 star resorts also in Mexico and Dominican Republic twice so I have some experience with all-inclusives.....Now onto the Decameron, we arrived with only one staff at the front desk, however he was polite and tried to get all of us through as quickly as possible, keep in mind you are now on Jamaica time. All the staff were friendly, polite and love to have a chat if you are interested in their culture. There was only one bartender that was not polite because I didn't tip him right away, so be it. In fact some of the staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I think that some people don't treat the staff with respect and politeness and therefore they get the same in return. Keep in mind that some of the staff work 12 hour shifts, 6 days a week for bad pay. The buffet was fantastic, lots of choice, as well as a good mix of Jamaican staples mixed in, spicy and not so spicy. My girlfriend raved about the bread all week.. Did the A La Carte one night, lovely, try the Filet Mignon, cooked exactly to liking and not tough at all. The buffet staff were really good, we ended up sitting in the same area for most of our meals so got to know our servers very well. In the mornings, they will bring coffee, water, juice, whatever you need while you are eating. For Lunch and Dinner, they will bring wine and any other drinks you would like. For wine drinkers, I enjoyed the house white wine very much, didn't try the red. The rooms are large and comfortable, immaculately cleaned everyday, some days it was in the morning, sometimes late afternoon. If you're in your room and don't want it cleaned they gladly just give you fresh towels and pillow cases if you want them and then sign off their sheet. We were on the ground floor of the sunset building near the end of the resort, lovely view, nice front porch, double french doors. Some of the rooms are being re-done because they are looking old, our bathroom was like that, but new paint in the main room, flat screen t.v, satellite, lots of channels e,t.c and A.C worked fine, loved getting the breeze of the bay in our room as well, and, found the bed very comfortable. Lots of beach area's to choose from, plus hammocks, sunbeds, sun covers are there for you to choose as well. We never hung out in the pool area's but always looked like seats were available in both the pool and beach areas, so you don't have to get up early, grab your towel and "save your seats" which I loved. We walked the Hip Strip most mornings and be warned there are lots of vendors, souvenir shops, cabbies/taxi services vying for your money. But if you are polite and just no mon, or no thanks, firmly but friendly they don't bug you so don't be afraid to stroll down. There's a lovely pub called The Twisted Kilt that's great to pop into for a cold bevvie, air conditioned if you've been strolling the strip in the heat. Two bank machines on the strip, one gives out Jamaican dollars and another one that does Jamaican and American money, American money tends to get you better deals in the shops, FYI. I had fun bartering for stuff so you don't need to take the first price or the price tags in the shops except for the gift shop at the resort. However the gift shop at the resort does not overprice its goods, so always good to go there if you're not in the mood to haggle and don't want to deal with people trying to get you to buy their stuff. Plus everyday some vendors are on the resort so you can buy from them and bartering is a part of the fun if you want to get a deal. we got very friendly with a couple of the vendors and I was lucky enough to hang out with one of them away from the resort on their day off, brilliant. Speaking of that we also got very friendly with one of the security personnel and were lucky enough to get off the resort to have sunday lunch at his place with his family, genuine jamaican home cooking in one of the non-affluent neighbourhoods in Montego Bay, fantastic! Generally speaking if the "locals" are not trying to sell you something, they are very friendly people and great to talk with, have a great sense of humour and love to have a laugh. I loved that the resort is smaller (this was my first time at a small resort) and you do get to know quite a few of the staff (if you choose to) from the maintenance people who keep the grounds immaculate to the outside security personnel that work there. Lots of water sports there for free, if you like that,from snorkeling to paddle boats, rides on hobie cats, a couple of wind surfers, etc. There is a Sauna, whirlpool and massage if you want it as well. I also liked the grill if you don't feel like eating at the buffet during the day time 12-5 and then it re-opens at 11 at night, there is a fountain drink machine and a Red Stripe (Jamaican Lager) tap there so you can help yourself, had cheeseburgers and fries at 11:30 at night, that was a nice treat.. We bought mugs when we were there as the small glasses for beer and pop just don't work. The nightly entertainment was fair to very good depending on the night but still enjoyable, cabaret-like at times. Be prepared that sometimes they pull up volunteers to help out and that can be quite funny "To the beat, To the beat!". This is not a five star, but to be honest it didn't bother me at all and it has a great vibe for a smaller resort, well worth more than the money you pay to go there compared to how much you would pay for a five star in Jamaica. In regards to being moved to other resorts, it seems to happen to people that went through Bookit.com after research and talking to some reviewers, so be prepared if you use them. What more to add....Enjoy it for what it is, a genuine gem, fantastic value, a great vibe, friendly people, comfortable rooms that is very close to the airport and you're on Jamaica time....laid back and very relaxing, every ting irie! An extra shout out to Rayon, Fitzroy, Christopher, Kaleesha, Diamond, Denton, Karhi, Tyrone, Rock, Kaye, Chamar and others that made this trip great!

Room Tip: Get the sunset building rooms if you can, ground floor isn't bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was excellent, although I realise I am not really a all inclusive resort type of person. The room wa enormous, the view stunning and the staff courteous and helpful. The Buffett food was good, but I stayed for 7 days so did get a bit bored of it. The hotel is situated closely to the hip strip so there is a supermarket 2 minutes up the road as well as some restaurants and plenty of souvenir shops. One thing that did annoy me about Montego Bay (nothing to do with the resort) was the constant harassment from drug dealers in the streets as every guy seems to deal, no matter what their day job is.

The one criticism I have of the resort is that you have to wear a wristband all the time so as soon as you leave the resort everyone knows where you are staying so increases their prices to you...

Also don't pay for a airport transfer ($68 return) as the resort is literally 5 minutes from the airport so grab a cab and save some money!

Room Tip: Stay away from the southern end of the resort as the beach next door has the locals visiting at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.