We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Tampa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This resort is really quite lovely. The lobby area is wide open and the tropical breeze is wonderful. The rooms need some updating but I'm not the kind of traveler to stay in my room very much so this wasn't an issue for us. The beach areas are small but very nice and I really liked that even the areas without an actual beach (more of a bulkhead) had ladders so you could enter the water virtually anywhere. The swimming areas have small reefs with lots of tropical fish, anemone, and a few stingrays to spy on while you're snorkeling.

The staff are so friendly I thought they were trying to get me to buy something for the first few days we were there. They are just very kind, accommodating, inquisitive, and upbeat. The concierge and tours employees could have been a bit more knowledgeable.

It's hard to let anything get to you in such a beautiful setting, but the food at this all-inclusive was just not very good. The bread selection and quality was great but everything else was pretty much cafeteria food. The liquor wasn't watered down as it is at some other all-inclusives we've been to, so that was nice.

Another (very small) issue I had was that they'd only rent the snorkeling gear for 1 hour. I wasn't even close to being done when my hour was up so I decided to just buy my own mask and avoid the hassle of returning the resort's gear. If you have a mask/snorkeling gear I'd recommend bringing it. The snorkeling is really great at this resort!

If you're a light sleeper, PLEASE listen to other reviewers and stay on the “quiet side” of the resort (furthest from the pool and dining areas). The pool is pumping very loud dance music all day and the stage shows are fun but VERY LOUD. We could sleep through the apocalypse but if you’re a normal human being, good luck.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms = away from pool and dining areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    860
    261
    143
    95
See reviews for
294
893
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (406)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great stay. BEST was 99% staff. Very helpful & friendly. BEST WAS ENTERMAINT STAFF. VERYYY Special--Sprinkles--Chocolate- - Brittany. MOST amazing -fun-helpful. They made our stay a constant Iree. (All Well) & laughing all the time .Only 1 complaint-FRONT DESK CREW! Not help & very condescending!. NOW: that's out of the way rest was great. Comfortable room(had no ac is PM for 1 hour. MUST Compliment the baggage handler for getting a maintain man at 5 PM to fix. He went all over resort as desk kept telling us 15 more minutes. Got RICHARD. He was great. Got this fixed & a wiring problem & even checked back to find us twice more during stay to SAY Hello & was everything working. After that no more room problems. Stay was the MOST relaxing we have had(except check in was late into & stressful- room not ready on time.).Room comfortable. Pools & beach great. SOME of the best entertainment every night you'll get to see. Great all inclusive. Swim up bar at pool was neat. GET yourself a Covered insulated 2 1/2 glass mug for pool & eating in buffet and shows. Keeps you from getting 10 drinks a day--hold ice & stays cold. Don't want to bring one stop a NICOLE's Gifts just 2 blocks out on right from gate on left side of road for $9. ALSO; makes great Jamaica gift. SEE RAY!! BEST prices on Cuban & Jamaican cigars(HE Will haggle on them & on all items in store).Has great selection shirts $ swimwear. Also owns food market nest door.--they have some great Jamaican only made food items & local papers. Bets side trip(two) All day to Negril up coast. Margaritaville at Negril GREAT Beach -Great food. Well worth trip. Cost $900 for 2. Ricks' next was good-OK-drinks expensive. Best about it was local Cliff drivers & tourists cliff drivers & ONE fo the best Sunsets you'll see. Nest 2 hour trip by nice van for $30 for 2. Took us shopping- into market place where locals shop for food-fruit-necessities etc. Was very revealing. Also took to best outdoor craft market local. Not too pushing- REALLY can haggle over prices. Everything you can want for yourself & friends. FOOD at resort. Good. BEST is home breads. Buffet was better than restaurant . They only have settings in small room at 6:300 PM & 8 :300 PM. BUFFET line open 2 1/2 hors + ALL 3 meals. Very quite-leisure & no rush OR CROWDS. Use seats on outside. All is open air. Great salads & local fruit fish & Jamaican Jerk items. ONLY problem here was most meats dry--Must use the ajus sauces. Eat as much or all little. Also good snack bar by swim up pool bar 12PM to 5PM & 11PM to 1 Am to party after all shows. GREAT MUSIC.at meals by local 3 piece group singing Jamaican songs. Water at beach VG. Pool & activities great. You'll LOVE the wooden lounges at the pool. Comfortable(lots in places & cruses aren't). And beach ones very sturdy too. All have thick pads. Towels provide which can go on trips you make. JUST besure to return to hut or you'll be charged.
BEST small local resort right at Hip Stip. Can walk up to 1 1/2 miles-see everything U want- Modern Casino-Margaritaville -another beach at Drs. Cave & Dolphin show.
GET to Know the entertainment STAFF WELL as they are fun & get you to MOTOR ON!
HAVE FUN--GREAT TIME!!!. BEST BUY IN JAMAICA. Cost us with airfare from home $2428 & eight nights stay. ALSO-you'll get hit with a Jamaican room tax. No war around it. Only need shorts-swimming suit-T Shirts-Sandals & comfortable Nikes'. YOU don't need pants to get into small restaurant . NEED no pants or jacket. 76-86 @ day. Do bring deet as has mosquitos. BRING lots of sun lotion with U as VERY expensive here.

Room Tip: Worst part was too long to get into room 1st day. AC not working-took 2 hrs to fix. AND Front desk s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Check in was very quick, no warm fuzzies from the lady who checked us in but that's OK. Picked up a drink from the lobby bar from another cold lady. She was like that the whole week even though we tipped her every time.Hopped in the elevator with our luggage to the 4th floor, we only just fit but it was great to have only broke down one day for 4 hours. We thought our room was lovely, although it was dark out we knew we were in for an amazing view (we wern't disappointed it was gorgeous). Freshened up and went for dinner, had a few drinks & watched the show it was OK. We spent most of our time at the quiet pool. My only complaint about the pool was there wasn't enough umbrellas, and it was really hot. We ate lunch at the beach grill most days the young lady who works there was very warm and welcoming. The 2 Chris's and the 2 Rayon's at the bar were a lot of fun. We ventured out after a couple of days and made the mistake of crossing the road. High pressure selling from a bunch of women. We never went shopping after that. We rented a taxi one day right at the hotel it was $35 per hour. Also went on the glass bottom boat with Captain Poly, we really enjoyed that. So close to the airport loved watching all the planes come in. Older but well kept hotel, would I return probably not, we do like new places to explore. It all boils down to you get what you pay for. We had a lot of fun though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

First things first, can't wait to get back! We read many reviews before we went and I have been to Jamaica before and stayed at the Sandals Royal Carribean. I have stayed at 5 star resorts also in Mexico and Dominican Republic twice so I have some experience with all-inclusives.....Now onto the Decameron, we arrived with only one staff at the front desk, however he was polite and tried to get all of us through as quickly as possible, keep in mind you are now on Jamaica time. All the staff were friendly, polite and love to have a chat if you are interested in their culture. There was only one bartender that was not polite because I didn't tip him right away, so be it. In fact some of the staff went out of their way to make you feel comfortable. I think that some people don't treat the staff with respect and politeness and therefore they get the same in return. Keep in mind that some of the staff work 12 hour shifts, 6 days a week for bad pay. The buffet was fantastic, lots of choice, as well as a good mix of Jamaican staples mixed in, spicy and not so spicy. My girlfriend raved about the bread all week.. Did the A La Carte one night, lovely, try the Filet Mignon, cooked exactly to liking and not tough at all. The buffet staff were really good, we ended up sitting in the same area for most of our meals so got to know our servers very well. In the mornings, they will bring coffee, water, juice, whatever you need while you are eating. For Lunch and Dinner, they will bring wine and any other drinks you would like. For wine drinkers, I enjoyed the house white wine very much, didn't try the red. The rooms are large and comfortable, immaculately cleaned everyday, some days it was in the morning, sometimes late afternoon. If you're in your room and don't want it cleaned they gladly just give you fresh towels and pillow cases if you want them and then sign off their sheet. We were on the ground floor of the sunset building near the end of the resort, lovely view, nice front porch, double french doors. Some of the rooms are being re-done because they are looking old, our bathroom was like that, but new paint in the main room, flat screen t.v, satellite, lots of channels e,t.c and A.C worked fine, loved getting the breeze of the bay in our room as well, and, found the bed very comfortable. Lots of beach area's to choose from, plus hammocks, sunbeds, sun covers are there for you to choose as well. We never hung out in the pool area's but always looked like seats were available in both the pool and beach areas, so you don't have to get up early, grab your towel and "save your seats" which I loved. We walked the Hip Strip most mornings and be warned there are lots of vendors, souvenir shops, cabbies/taxi services vying for your money. But if you are polite and just no mon, or no thanks, firmly but friendly they don't bug you so don't be afraid to stroll down. There's a lovely pub called The Twisted Kilt that's great to pop into for a cold bevvie, air conditioned if you've been strolling the strip in the heat. Two bank machines on the strip, one gives out Jamaican dollars and another one that does Jamaican and American money, American money tends to get you better deals in the shops, FYI. I had fun bartering for stuff so you don't need to take the first price or the price tags in the shops except for the gift shop at the resort. However the gift shop at the resort does not overprice its goods, so always good to go there if you're not in the mood to haggle and don't want to deal with people trying to get you to buy their stuff. Plus everyday some vendors are on the resort so you can buy from them and bartering is a part of the fun if you want to get a deal. we got very friendly with a couple of the vendors and I was lucky enough to hang out with one of them away from the resort on their day off, brilliant. Speaking of that we also got very friendly with one of the security personnel and were lucky enough to get off the resort to have sunday lunch at his place with his family, genuine jamaican home cooking in one of the non-affluent neighbourhoods in Montego Bay, fantastic! Generally speaking if the "locals" are not trying to sell you something, they are very friendly people and great to talk with, have a great sense of humour and love to have a laugh. I loved that the resort is smaller (this was my first time at a small resort) and you do get to know quite a few of the staff (if you choose to) from the maintenance people who keep the grounds immaculate to the outside security personnel that work there. Lots of water sports there for free, if you like that,from snorkeling to paddle boats, rides on hobie cats, a couple of wind surfers, etc. There is a Sauna, whirlpool and massage if you want it as well. I also liked the grill if you don't feel like eating at the buffet during the day time 12-5 and then it re-opens at 11 at night, there is a fountain drink machine and a Red Stripe (Jamaican Lager) tap there so you can help yourself, had cheeseburgers and fries at 11:30 at night, that was a nice treat.. We bought mugs when we were there as the small glasses for beer and pop just don't work. The nightly entertainment was fair to very good depending on the night but still enjoyable, cabaret-like at times. Be prepared that sometimes they pull up volunteers to help out and that can be quite funny "To the beat, To the beat!". This is not a five star, but to be honest it didn't bother me at all and it has a great vibe for a smaller resort, well worth more than the money you pay to go there compared to how much you would pay for a five star in Jamaica. In regards to being moved to other resorts, it seems to happen to people that went through Bookit.com after research and talking to some reviewers, so be prepared if you use them. What more to add....Enjoy it for what it is, a genuine gem, fantastic value, a great vibe, friendly people, comfortable rooms that is very close to the airport and you're on Jamaica time....laid back and very relaxing, every ting irie! An extra shout out to Rayon, Fitzroy, Christopher, Kaleesha, Diamond, Denton, Karhi, Tyrone, Rock, Kaye, Chamar and others that made this trip great!

Room Tip: Get the sunset building rooms if you can, ground floor isn't bad at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel was excellent, although I realise I am not really a all inclusive resort type of person. The room wa enormous, the view stunning and the staff courteous and helpful. The Buffett food was good, but I stayed for 7 days so did get a bit bored of it. The hotel is situated closely to the hip strip so there is a supermarket 2 minutes up the road as well as some restaurants and plenty of souvenir shops. One thing that did annoy me about Montego Bay (nothing to do with the resort) was the constant harassment from drug dealers in the streets as every guy seems to deal, no matter what their day job is.

The one criticism I have of the resort is that you have to wear a wristband all the time so as soon as you leave the resort everyone knows where you are staying so increases their prices to you...

Also don't pay for a airport transfer ($68 return) as the resort is literally 5 minutes from the airport so grab a cab and save some money!

Room Tip: Stay away from the southern end of the resort as the beach next door has the locals visiting at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Decameron, Montego Bay for 5 nights in April. The guy that took our bags when we got there was great! Very friendly and upbeat. The rest of our check in didn’t go as well. When we went to the front desk for check in a couple people were working behind the desk. They didn’t greet us right away and took their time as they had conversations with each other and other workers in the lobby. We were ignored for a bit and then the female working at the desk asked for our names and passports. She said our room wasn’t ready and that we could go have lunch and check back. We did that. Room still wasn’t ready. We were really tired because we took an overnight flight to get there so I was a little annoyed because we had asked for an early check in and were told it wouldn’t be a problem. We figured well, what can you do? So we waited. Walked around. Waited. Came back to the front desk again an hour and ½ later because we were hot and tired and wanted to sleep so we decided to wait there until our room was ready. After several annoyed glances from the guy at the front desk, he called us up. I won’t put his full name in here although I know it but the first letter on his name tag was “M” and he really should not be working in the service industry. He clearly does not like people. At any rate, he put us in a first floor room which was old, dingy and smelled like smoke. We returned again to the front desk and asked to be moved to a higher floor as originally requested. He said that was not on the request (although I’m sure it was) and had a look on his face that said, too bad, so sad, get out of here and stop bothering me. I know I had requested this because I’m particular about these things and called the hotel in advance not once but twice. Once to make the request several weeks ahead and once a week before to verify they had the request. Anyway, I was pretty miffed at that point and asked for a manager to which I was denied saying she wasn’t around. I said fine, I would come back. When we did, we spent a good amount of time trying to explain things all over again and kept hitting a brick wall. She finally said we could try switching rooms the next day. When I asked what time I could come to the front desk and who I could talk to the next day she out of nowhere found another room for us! I feel like they knew we weren’t’ going to go away and just wanted to put an end to it. As a customer, you shouldn’t have to go to those lengths to get something you asked for in the first place. There were other people we met there during our stay that had the same problem so apparently it isn’t unusual. Not a good sign.

That being said, the first day was the worst of it. The rest of the stay was okay. The room we ended up with was nice and had a good view. The room was clean and maid service was decent. Being right on the water was great and the entertainment was fun to watch and be a part of. The food is another story. It wasn’t that great from the get go so we were being careful about what we ate. Even so, two of the four people we were traveling with got sick the same night (and not the drinking kind of sick). While I can’t say with 100% certainty it was the food, it was enough of a coincidence for me. I pretty much lived on Pringles I bought from the store from that point until we left.

Overall, I would say this is an average hotel, not luxury in any way but it is right on the water so that’s really nice. The front desk staff issues need to be addressed. Since I spent so much time talking about the front desk in my review, I should also add that there was one nice guy that was there the second time we went back to ask for a manager. He’s the one that got her for us and really seemed like he wanted to help. I didn’t see his name but he was much taller than the first guy. The rest of them could take a few lessons from him on how to interact with people.

All in all, I would say that the hotel is adequate for the money you pay. Just be really careful about what you eat and don’t expect good service. We won’t be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARYLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location and most staff are excellent especially the front desk staff. Food was just ok. The entertainment staff was doing a great job. The beach is the best. If you want to be on the Hip Strip close to everything and where the is then this is the place for you

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.