We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Save Saved
You added Royal Decameron Montego Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Decameron Montego Beach
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Fort Frances, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for our vacation - March 10 - 16, 2013. We did not expect to be overwhelmed by this hotel due to the pictures. The pictures on internet do not do this hotel justice. Its a beautiful hotel, great service for the most part, wonderful resort!

We had one bartender named Chris who was completely rude to us. We ordered the infamous "Chi Chi" drink and he stated very rudely to my bf that he was not saying it correctly and refused to serve him. We went to another bar in the resort and ordered the drink again and were served. We asked the second bar tender how it was pronounced and he told us we were saying it right? Needless to say we all together avoided lobby bar to avoid j*ck*ss bartender thereafter (who was working our entire stay). Other then this we noted that the staff worked very hard and were very polite.

The resort was very clean and under maintenance. Though I could imagine some people would have been annoyed by all the painting and maintenance going on at the resort - it did not effect our stay at all and the resort looked immaculate as a result. The Jamaicans work very hard. During our staff I believe a owner or manager was in from out of town - we noted a gentleman who was staying at resort wearing Decameron logo on his shirt. We were told by another guest that prior to this managers arrival the service was much slower, however we have absolutely no complaints and would return to this resort in a second.

The location beats any other resort in Montego Bay hands down. Was very close to airport but plane noise does not bother resort what-so-ever in fact, it was quite the site watching all the different sorts of planes land throughout the day. Hotel is located on hip strip so it is not much a walk to see Montego Bay strip and downtown. (BEWARE FANTASY MARKET - when u leave the resort a guard will ask you for your room number and where you are going, just outside the gate there are people waiting to take you "shopping". They will bring you to market place which is safe but very overwhelming, good to see but leave your money at the hotel for this wander session). I have never seen people pressure you into buying things so badly elsewhere).

We got to see all other Montego Bay hotels from our tour buses, other ones very far from airport and town and appear completely "ghetto'ish" just outside the resorts. I dont believe I would stay at any other hotel regardless of cost in Montego Bay.

Great value! Well done Royal Decameron!

Room Tip: All rooms have A/C and all ocean view rooms have great views! We stayed in 217 - was perfect. Beauti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    917
    861
    263
    144
    95
See reviews for
295
896
71
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryville, Illinois
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The resort is small and dated, but still a great pick for a week in Jamaica. Only 5 minutes from the airport, and the planes were enjoyable to watch from the resort. The staff did a great job the entire trip, the resort is kept clean and well maintained. The front desk, restaurants and bars were staffed with hardworking and very friendly people. The rooms are basic, but nice size, clean and a perfect ocean view. The smaller size works to your advantage, no long lines at the buffet and plenty of open seating around the pools and bars. Location on the strip was perfect, you could easily walk from one end to the other, and stop in shops and different restaurants. Always felt safe on the street, but the vendors are aggresive to show you their store. The food is average and there is only 1 restaurant for dinner, 1 snack bar and the rest of meals are served from the buffet. Never went hungry there were plenty of choices. Bars were not stocked with top shelf, but the drink selection was excellent and so was the Red Stripe beer. Meet some very nice couples, from different states and Canada. Would return next time we are in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were only in Jamaica for 4 nights so didn't want to lose time travelling, the
Royal Decameron Montego Beach is literally a 5 min taxi ride from the airport ($15). That said, whilst you could see the planes landing, like others have stated, noise was minimal and definitely not a problem.
Our check in was quick and efficient and the reception staff extremely pleasant and welcoming. Dave who took our bags made a point of showing us where everything was before taking us to our room.
We had room 407, and though the furnishings were perhaps a little tired and basic, the big balcony and terrific ocean views more than made up for it. The room was spacious with tv, ironing board and hairdryer, the shower hot and reasonably powerful.
As others have said, it is not a large resort, but that said, the hotel was full when we were there but never felt crowded, with ample sun beds and quiter areas to relax. There was a lot of maintenance work going on when we were there.
Food in the buffet restaurant was okay, not the greatest we've experienced AI, but breakfast was very good. We ate once in the a la carte and this was great, food cooked very well and a great ambience, I think had we stayed longer we may have struggled with the food, but have to add we never went hungry!
The entertainment team have the balance just right, creating an atmosphere where you feel included but not pressurised into joining in activities.DJ was brilliant but all staff were welcoming and pleasant.
We ventured out onto the hip strip once but didn't really enjoy the area so stayed within the hotel, again if we'd been there longer we would have tried some organised trips , though these did appear to be expensive.
Being English, we would have liked to have tea/ coffee facilities in the room :-) perhaps something mgt could consider?
All in all this hotel exceeded our expectations and was xcellent value for money. We would certainly return.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have unobstucted sea views, some end rooms have side sea view, not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent the March break at the Decameron in Montego Bay. What a great hotel!! It's next to the airport but not much noise and nice to see planes comes in. Nice rooms with beautiful view. This hotel has a family feel to it since it's small. The staff was very professional and friendly. We were greeted by Ryan at the lobby bar and the reception staff was efficient and very nice. From the cooks to the servers, to the gardeners, the bartenders, the lifeguards... all so nice! The entertainment crew was also great! Shak and Brittany were so funny and just so nice! We also spoke with the manager and just had to tell him how great this place is and how well run it is. Nobody bothers you, you can do your own thing or can participate in a variety of activities. There were lots of different areas to go to... a few beaches, pools, upper beach decks... and not crowded! No need to be out early to leave your towels out here. There is also good snorkling! The rooms are clean have large balconies. We were offered a deal to visit their sister hotel in Runaway Bay and went there for the last two nights. It was ok, nice grounds, right on ocean... but prefer the Decameron in Montego Bay by far. We were able to compare and you can tell that this hotel is really well run, maintained and the staff is much more pleasant and friendly!!! Hats off to the great Decameron family in MoBay... you made our trip a fantastic one! We will be back!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our 14th trip to Jamaica and we were satisfied with this property. We have stayed at Club Caribbean in Runaway Bay 3 times which is owned by the same people. They do an excellent job at providing a nice vacation at an affordable price. We had a nice room and the food was good. I never made to the Lunch buffet because the beach grill was very good. The shows were fine and the staff was always helpful. The beach bar did a good job and the entertainment and games were fun. I was not impressed with Montego Bay but I am not a city guy anyway. Golfed at the White Witch which had the most beautiful views I have ever seen on a golf course. Course was in good shape and the caddie was sufficient. A course built into the mountain jungle which means few flat spots to hit from. Found my balance on the back 9. I am sure we will stay at one of the Royal Decammaron properties again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Creek,Ontario, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have not travelled extensively but after having been to a small resort and enjoyed ourselves so much I highly recommend going "small ". Six of us stayed from Feb.23 to March 2 of 2013 , we had great weather and a excellent. Thumbs up to all the friendly and helpfull staff. The food was great, the drinks were strong and the nightly entertainment good. They work hard. The swimming was excellent, some reviews mentioned the small beaches, for the number of people here there was plenty of room, the area where you could dive into was especially nice, you never had to get up and reserve a chair either. Lots of fish to see snorkelling, good side trips and a real plus 5 minute ride from the airport to the resort. Don't know when but I will be back. Older resort but well maintained and a great deal for your limited travel dollar. Scott Ontario Canada

Room Tip: you cant go wrong pretty well all are ocean view I would suggest the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The trip to Montego Bay was amazing!!!! The Decameron is literally right on the ocean, the views are breath taking and water looked sooo blue and clear. The hotel is located at the end of the hip strip not too far away from all the shops and restaurants, everything was still in walking distance- even Margaritaville. When i arrived to the hotel i checked into my room which was an ocean view room on the third floor. It was beautiful and clean. I would definitely suggest to get an ocean view room. When I walked out on the balcony, you can feel the cool island breeze and hear the ocean waves- it was so relaxing. There are many activities available to the tourists, such as snorkeling, glass bottom boat rides, kayaking and you can go jetskiing as well as going on a catamaran boat ride. There is aerobics in the pool everyday at 11am for the ladies, which looked fun and there is a pool party everyday from 2:30 pm to 5 pm where there is music being played and lots of activities and games held by the amazing entertainment staff. My favorite game was a drinking game called zuma zuma LOL! The bartenders are great also they will always make u your drink how you want it, either light or strong. Shout out to O'shane, Alicia and Christopher the best bartenders there! I had a shot called a Bob Marley shot it was soo pretty and very strong! Shout out to DJ Rue for playing all the great reggae songs and playing all of my requests as well. The entertainment team did a great job in getting us all involved in the activities, shout out to Shaq who was so pleasant and wonderful to talk to. That girl is fierce and has a great personality!!! :)
In the evening there are different shows every night all of them entertaining. One night i saw a carnival show which was amazing to see the different dancers, a cabaret show, a game show, and i even saw a snake charmer show, all the shows were fun to watch. If you do choose to sit in the front you will most likely get called upon to go on stage and participate in some of the activities during the show- which was fun too :)
for the food, there is a breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet- all with various kinds of food. there is also a grill by the beach which serves burgers, jerk chicken, pizza ect....
the food was okay - there are lots of options to choose from.
Every nite there is a bus at 11:30 pm that leaves the resort to take the guests to Margaritaville or you can choose to go to the disco in the resort. I went to Margaritaville one of the nights i was there and had a lot of fun. I went to the disco in the resort the other nights and had a blast also. DJ Winston is GREAT! he plays a mix of different genres and he plays everyone"s requests. The DJ definitely made the night life of the resort a lot of fun. I definitely can't wait to come back to Montego Bay, it was truly an amazing experience!!

Room Tip: choose an ocean view room- it is such a relaxing environment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Decameron Montego Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Decameron Montego Beach

Address: 2 Gloucester Road | St.James, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Decameron Montego Beach 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Royal Decameron Montego Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jack Tar Village
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Bay
Royal Decameron Jamaica
Royal Decameron Montego Beach Hotel
Royal Decameron Montego Bay Jamaica
Montego Beach
Decameron Montego Bay
Royal Decameron Montego Beach All Inclusive

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Decameron Montego Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.