We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing expirience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royalton White Sands Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royalton White Sands Resort to your Saves list
Royalton White Sands Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Highway A1, Mountain Spring | Trelawny, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
“Amazing expirience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Wow! This resort is great. The rooms were very nice and very clean. When I go back im going to get the honeymoon suite because it's closest to the beach and it has a swim out pool!! The food was great. There were different options for dining. The steakhouse was delicious, but you have to make a reservation or else they will be booked. The Italian restaurant and buffet both weren't great. My favorite was zen. It was so delicious and so much fun! It's a hibachi restaurant and they had a great menu planned. They had fried rice and fish, meat, sushi and great dessert. The room service menu was also great. One thing that I didn't like about this resort, was the beach. It was very relaxing, but very small. There were beds on the beach and we would have to wake up at 6am in order to reserve a bed. The beach was a little crowded. But It was still very relaxing. The spa was nice, but when I was getting my massage, they left the lights brightly on the entire time which was very unpleasant. The kids club was also nice. It was very cute for the kids to play there and it was very clean. The pools were so nice! They were gorgeous and so relaxing! The staff was excellent. They were so accommodating and so nice. Overall, it was a great expirience.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    741
    346
    152
    58
    24
See reviews for
436
435
17
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (503)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Battle Creek
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My recent visit to this Royalton White Sands Resort was above expectations. The attention to detail and overall appearance was above satisfactory. The atmosphere and food was above expectations. Dahlia Walker goes above and beyond to make sure that every guest is satisfied with their accomodations and service. This resort is a beautiful wedding venue in Jamaica if you are looking for a resort that accomodates children.... 5 Star!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
englandd
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Not been Jamaica before but overall opinion is that the people in the hotel are lovely and the hotel is well looked after with great food & drinks..

We upgraded to the diamond club - personally I didn't feel it was worth the upgrade. You have a different section of beach, different towels, separate check in, a little lounge with snacks in, dedicated butlers and priority restrant bookings. We didn't get to see much of the butlers which was a little disappointing considering how much extra we paid but they did try their best when we did see them.

Food and drinks are amazing for an all inclusive hotel as wine etc is normally watered down but they were very good!
Plus room service is free but the food is pretty pants.

On the beach you will get locals passing by but they aren't allowed to stop and talk to you.
Beach was disappointing as it rained every day for 10 days so lots of seaweed took over!

As it rained most evens also, the entertainment couldn't continue outside as normal so instead there was music most nights inside which was still really good considering!
Entertainment in general definitely isn't a big selling point for this hotel as there isn't a variety of things to do in the evening & there isnt anywhere for hundreds of people to sit. So if you're looking for really good entertainment at night- this place isn't for you.

Useful tips-
1)Phone in room is free to call other countries
2)Bring umbrella with you at night time
3)Ensure you book a reservation for the restaurants at 9am that morning or you wont get in!
4)Your rep will offer you the Mobay airport lounge $30 pp- DO IT!!! Its worth it as u get free food & drinks. Free wifi, shower facility, free phones and access to smoking area .

Weather was absolutely crap!!!!! Rained pretty much every day which ruined our trip as we went for the sun!

Premium club on dreamliner was very good as you get fast tracked everywhere!

Please let me know if you have any questions!

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There is a remarkable young lady at Royalton White Sands by the name of Kerryann Casserly. Kerryann holds the title of Director of Sales and Marketing for Blue Diamonds, Jamaica.

This young lady is simply amazing, the word no does not exist in her vocabulary. She takes a challenge and turns it into an unforgettable and awesome experience. Always a step ahead she already has your every request fulfilled even before you have thought to ask.

I found the staff at Royal very professional and at the same time warm and friendly always ensuring that the guests are happy and satisfied.

I highly recommend this resort and have sent many friends and family members their since my stay. All, I am happy to say, have had the same awesome experience that I had.

Charisse PInk


  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed for a brilliant 14 nights in November. Our first trip to Jamaica but not our last and we would certainly stay at the Royalton.

Reception. Check in was quick and efficient, no bureaucracy as in other hotels. A quick form to complete and on to our room. The girls at reception are extremely efficient and helpful. On two occasions our electronic room "key" failed to work. Reception staff took literally seconds to sort the problem.

Rooms. The rooms are spacious enough to sleep two adults and two children (just). You are provided with the normal toiletries that would be expected from a 5* hotel along with bath robes and slippers, nice. Rooms are kept spotlessly clean and tidy with towels and bedsheets changed very regularly. Free WiFi is available throughout the hotel and is reasonably quick (password available from reception). Rooms are fitted with 2 USB2 charging outlets for 'phones, tablets etc. There are also a reasonable number of U.S. style mains sockets.

Restaurants. We ate at all of the "A La Carte" restaurants. The food was always cooked to our requirements (steaks in particular) and was absolutely brilliant. The one (minor) criticism is that the menus never varied. A bit sad really because when excellent chefs are available, they are not challenged to serve a variety of food. The buffet served high quality food but it was a pity that the temperature of the food was not as high as the quality. One tip is to get to the buffet when it opens, the food is always hot. If you prefer to dine later, use the A La Carte restaurants. You need to book the Tepanyaki restaurant on the day that you wish to dine there. Book at the booking station just outside the buffet restaurant. If you like jerk chicken, don't miss the beach grill for lunch. There is also a burger bar for lunch by the main pool.

Bars. The beach bar serves an amazing array of cocktails from the menu during the day but will make anything that you fancy. Cocktails and shots of your choice are also available fro the other three bars, all serving "top shelf" spirits although these sometimes ran out much to the embarrassment of the bar staff. The hotel management seems not to have any plan "B" when this happens.

Entertainment. The entertainment was good quality and varied. From circus acts to steel bands. The steel "orchestra" is a must see. Live reggae bands perform a couple of times per week by the main pool. There is even an outdoor cinema set up each evening for the kids.

We found that there were plenty of sun loungers around the pool with no one struggling to find one. There were however few parasols available for those wishing to retreat from the sun. Plenty of Cabanas are available on the beach but you need to get there early as they soon get taken. There is also a nice cooling sea breeze by the beach so, if you don't like to bake, that's the place to go.

Excursions. We always like to see something of the country that we are visiting so tend not to go on organised excursions. We hired one of the minibuses that you will find parked in the compound by the main gate and explained that we wished to see Jamaica not zip wires or climb waterfalls. We hired Patrick Hutchinson for two excursions. This guy is easy going, witty and knowledgable, giving us a running commentary as we travelled along. He understood what we wanted and stopped at good spots which offered good photo opportunities. Don't be frightened to negotiate the price. Whatever you are charged, it will be less than half of the charges for organised trips and when you have had enough, you can just return to the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Vacationing at this resort was one of the best decisions we made. The facilities , rooms, staff were all impressive. We met Dahlia Walker and her customer service was most outstanding, taking care of our every need and being ever attentive to us, even when we least expect.

The entertainment and food was very nice too and we enjoyed every bit of it.

It was a well deserved vacation for us having worked all year long. We plan on returning and telling friends about our positive experience!

Thanks Royalton!.

Room Tip: Just Ask for Dahlia, she will help you .
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

stayed here for a wedding had amazing service. Danion Clark made the stay extra enjoyable by always being around for anything we needed would recommend to anyone going to jamaica to stay there. ask for danion for all your needs he was the bomb.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalton White Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalton White Sands Resort

Address: Highway A1, Mountain Spring | Trelawny, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royalton White Sands Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 352
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your All-In Luxury™ vacation starts on one of the Caribbean's most idyllic settings. "White Sands" beach in Jamaica is a powdery white slice of paradise, separating lush tropical gardens from the turquoise Caribbean Sea, just a 35 minute drive from the Montego Bay Airport. A warm reception and chilled cocktail set the tone for a week of extravagance. The elegantly appointed lobby offers a scenic view of the modern resort facilities. After a day of indulging in our extensive and unlimited reservation-free dining and drink services and partaking in our activities, sports, and entertainment program, guests will appreciate the comfort of our modern and spacious rooms. From Luxury Rooms to Diamond Club(R) Luxury Presidential Oceanview One Bedroom Suites, all rooms offer Dreambed™, designed exclusively for Royalton Resorts and adorned in luxurious 250 thread count sheets. All of our 352 luxurious rooms and suites offer our exclusive DreamBed™, 250 thread count sheets, 24 hour concierge service, USB recharge and Bluetooth audio stations, complimentary Wi-Fi service, In-room safe, rain showers, satellite television, stocked minibar, 24 hour room service, and a balcony or terrace. Other amenities include iron and board, coffee/tea maker, and hairdryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, BookIt.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Royalton White Sands Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalton White Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.