We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to start your trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Toby's Resort to your Saves list
Toby's Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good place to start your trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2010

We have used the Toby Resort to start or end many trips to Jamaica. It is minutes from the airport so its a good place to stay for a night if yo have a flight leaving early in hte morning and need to travel from Negril or Ocho Rios. The rooms are clean and comfortable, though last time we were there our a/c unit could have worked better. The pools are relaxing and the restaurant quite nice, esecially for breakfat. You can't beat the location as walking to Doctror's Cave Beach is a breeze. This is by no means a luxury hotel and I think giving it 4 stars is a bit over the top. Its more like staying at an aging Best Western or Comfort Inn in the U.S. Its perfect for a budget traveler or as a stopping off point.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    150
    86
    24
    10
See reviews for
53
107
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

I travel all over the world and have stayed in many, many, high end resorts (Waldorff, Plaza etc). Traveling for fun and leisure (esp. with your buddies) means staying in local places. My only requirement is cleanliness and safety. Toby's staff were great. for both aspects. The hotel is comfortable and was safe. Docs Cave Beach down the street was incredible. Keep your belongings in the office safety deposit boxes.

I would go back again...but always tack on a 5 star private resort just so you can avoid being badgered :)

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
green bay
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

My friend and I stayed in Mobay this January. We were at Toby's last year too. This is a nice hotel, but not fancy. It is clean and safe. The price is right. We were able to walk to 4 different beaches from here, no problem. (Cornwall beach is now open)Try the blended fruit punch at the pool bar. We ate breakfast here everyday and it was great. We would split either the french toast or Hungry Man breakfast. That was more than enough for 2 girls. Had great jerk pork at the Pork Pit just down the street.
This is a place to relax and have fun.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2010

We have stayed at Toby's Resort on 3 separate occasions. We have always found the staff helpful and friendly. The hotel offers a good service for tourists, great for large groups, plenty of rooms. Restaurant providing resonably priced meals and a good menu for kids and those who are not so Jamaican. We will be back to stay next year. Please say hello to Lenworth Scott (he works there) and feel free to ask him anything, he is a local and honest, very helpful staff member.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

I was very surprised that the other reviews spoke so highly of this hotel. While the hotel is clean it s very old. The fixtures, linens, towels, etc are really outdated. The food in the hotel is just ok and th service is really slow.

I would not stay here again. Definitely not worth the money.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

Wheel chair freindly,The most memerable place to be. Very close the beach and night life,The people who work at the hotel are very friendly and will help you with any problems you may have.The rooms are clean and some have wheel chair accesiblilty and the price is right..You will never have to find anther hotel . ps I have been staying at Tobi's inn since about 1993 and have been in many others since 1986 but there is no place like Tobi's i call it my second home. sincerly Ed.S

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2009

If you want to meet the jewel of Montego Bay - stay at Toby's. The staff are incredible! Friendly, helpful and respectful. The resort is located behind the multiple rows of trees and flowers that outline the street. Its a resort that welcomes you like family.
There are several room types to choose from - a cottage that although appears to be simple yet welcomes you with the warmth of Jamaica, rooms by the pool side that most consider good and deluxe rooms with the added comfort.
The restaurant atmosphere with the garden side pool windows was inviting. The food was delicious.
The pool was very well maintained and welcome when the heat of the day proved to be too much. The inside garden area is well groomed and the scent of tropical flowers is evident. The lovely lady (Carmen ) who tends the bar at the pool side welcomes all with her smile and charm. Fitzgerald is an individual who makes sure your stay is as enjoyable as possible. The real charm of Jamaica comes alive with a gentle soul named "Mr. Kiddy". Whether he is taking your luggage to your room or simply stopping by to say hello - this man will touch your heart. Paul is another gentleman that will help anyone anyway he can. From tours to advice this man has your best interests at heart.
The resort lies at the start of "Hip Street" which has an incredible offering of shops, restaurants, nite clubs including Margaritaville, and access to the white sandy beaches.
This may not be the most flashy resort but then again most people don't recognize a diamond until its cut and polished. Take your sunglasses off and open your eyes.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.