We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for the Price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Toby's Resort to your Saves list
Toby's Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Value for the Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The property was nicely landscaped, secure, always clean. The rooms were a good size and kept clean. There were a few small issues like no hot water one day and the sliding glass patio door could only be opened from the inside (one room.) But it was definitely a good resort for the price. The staff was friendly and responsive. The maid even did our laundry for a small fee. The property is on a busy street. I recommend asking for a room at the back. We were there for 9 days and the restaurant menu was somewhat limited, but that got us out exploring other venues. The location is excellent. We walked to just about everything in town and hired a taxi to go further. There are two pools. We only used the larger one. It was clean and had ample chairs for relaxing. The poolside bar was good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the property are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    137
    81
    23
    10
See reviews for
47
96
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
flint,michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

The holetal is small but very nice foir the price. The staff are very nice. the rooms are comfortable and clean. The fiurst room I was given, did not have a coffee pot, but come to find out that I had been given a standard room, by mistake, the problem was quickly solved and I was moved to the deluxe room that I had paid for. Some reviews spaoke about the noise level. but it was very quiet , except my room was not to far from the out door. It stopped about 11pm. but still was not so much that I would complain. I WOULD stay there again. It is a safe place. As was traveling alone.

Room Tip: room 39 if you choose a standard room, room 66 if you choose a deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for three nights in January as a family the front desk staff were very professional and very pleasured, always greeting you with a smile.

The hotel is right on the hip strip , that was very handy, also handy for the airport,used the pool for early morning swim

Hotel was clean, hotel ground was also well kept, we only have breakfast in the hotel which we found great, the JA breakfast was wonderful
We would stay here again no problem.

Room Tip: Alway lock you suitcases when going out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

The hotel offers quality service and good maintenance. We loved every meal on the restaurant, the pool, the room and the overall conditions. Most of the time the staff was friendly (one or other exception). The resort’s driver – Paul – takes you to several places by a good price and explain interesting things about the places in the way.
The only thing that bothered us was the nearby street, Gloucester Avenue. Too much harassment, as we never experienced anywhere else. But it seemed to us that this is Montego Bay’s characteristic: hotel – tour – hotel. We usually walk around the places we travel to, but this is not the place for it. So if you’re staying there, plan your trip and ask Paul to take you to your destinies!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Stayed overnight - as stop over for onward journey to relatives. Hotel in need of some modernisation, has air con and free toiletries, and hey I was able to use free wifi in restaurant area, so I can live with that. Breakfast was nice and adequate. Two pools not sure I would swim in any of them though. My highlight was feeding the fishes, chef came out and gave me fish food and the beautiful fishes came alive - Great location, but I think the $15 dollars taxi ride from airport is standard but really not worth it. After a few days with relatives I wished I was back at the Toby.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Visited Mobay again, and decided to stay at Toby's again; lots of improvement and upgrades have been made, rooms are beautiful and well kept,service is great as always.Def recommend ,most affordable w best location in Mobay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I stayed overnight with my wife in mid December. Location excellent, very close to the airport and a short walk to Doctors Beach and the Hip Strip. Older hotel and a bit frayed round the edges but the room was comfortable and had a balcony overlooking the well tended grounds. Two pleasant pools. Nice restaurant and bar with reasonably priced food.
The staff were all really good-they let us stay beyond checking out time as we were catching a late afternoon bus to Mandeville. I left some eye drops in the room and didn't realise this until I had left Montego Bay so was very impressed when I phoned to find they had the eye drops and two weeks later I was able to pick them up at the front desk. Great service. I recommend Tobys as a relatively economical and convenient place to stay in Montego Bay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.