We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option for a lower budget” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Toby's Resort to your Saves list
Toby's Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good option for a lower budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are not fancy but adequate. They don't go out of their way to make anything special. No wifi in the room or even a tv control but who goes to Jamaica to stay n your room. The restaurant is good but not great. Its affordable and centrally located. Great for groups!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    156
    88
    25
    10
See reviews for
57
110
56
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

On my most recent trip to Jamaica I stayed here for one night and while the room was clean and comfortable I probably would not want to stay here for more than one or two nights. We booked two rooms online several months in advance requesting two beds in each room as we were going to have three adults in each room. However, when we arrived they told us it would be an extra $25 per room to add an extra person. We argued to no avail and once we were finally shown to our room, we walked in and there was only one bed. Then we had to go back to the office and wait while they figured out which room was available. Admittedly, this was not a huge inconvenience but when you add the hidden fees and the less than spectacular service we thought that we could have found a better option for what ended up $120 for the night. Not to mention the main pool wasn't open, but we had fun hanging out in the small pool since we had it to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Stayed here for two nights. I was looking for cheap and close to the strip and that's what I got. The AC was cold all the time, the room didn't smell, and the bed had clean linens so I cannot complain. Free wi-fi in the restaurant/bar area but you have to pay for it if you want it in your room. Only ate in their restaurant once for breakfast and the omelet was good. If you're looking for something fancy this is not it. Most of the staff was very nice, just one or two that could use the boot. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Doesn't have all the conveniences of the big chain resorts, but it's clean, well kept, the staff is very responsive & friendly and the location is great! The restaurant is good and they are very accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed just one night in this hotel. It was def. overpriced. Front desk was friendly and helpful, but the waiter in the restaurant obviously didn't like his job or tourists. Dinner was good, breakfast overpriced. Pools were not very clean. We were in general disapointed with Montego Bay. In Negril we had a much nicer hotel for the same price and right on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here in Sept. 2012. Chose this place as the last day's hotel stay as we were coming in from spending a few days at a resort in Ochi and flying out of Montego Bay the next day. The way I saw it was, this was the last day in JA, and we were spending it shopping on the hip strip for souveniers, going out to dinner to one of the local spots, and not planning to spend the day on the premises at all. So why waste money on one of the more expensive resorts that you will not even spend time at? The property was mostly decent, I did have an issue when we first checked into our room, the bathtub had a trail of ants coming up from the drain, but they switched our rooms quickly and without any problem. Next room was just fine. A plus was that it was right around the corner from a BEAUTIFUL natural beach (not man-made like some of the resorts have) that was free of charge and did not close early. (I dont understand how you have to pay to get into Dr's Cave Beach AND they close early??). Overall great value if it is for a short stay and you dont plan to spend most of your time on the premises. (I will say that for a longer stay, to me, all inclusive resorts are a better value since everything's included). Hope this helps!

Room Tip: Check the entire room for any issues before you fully settle in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wow, all I can say is the pictures on the web site are very misleading. I too, read all the reviews for this resort and all seemed to be good. I'm almost confused thinking I went to a different resort! Resort is not an accurate word to describe this " Run down Hotel". Seriously people, have you never stayed in an actual Resort? The "bar", couldn't even make us a tropical drink. They don't even have a blender to make good drinks! The owner, Mrs. Chin purchased this Hotel 40 years ago.... and obviously she has not spent 1 dime on renovations! Our patio doors would note stay closed and locked. The pool looks "Hug" on the web site, what a joke. This place is so rundown I would not recommend to any traveler. Oh and the "Hip Strip" too many locals trying to get you to buy some illegal drugs! BEWARE

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Montego Bay hotels
1.9 mi away
The Gloucestershire Hotel
The Gloucestershire Hotel
#24 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
1.9 mi away
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
Doctors Cave Beach Hotel
#39 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
2.3 mi away
Altamont West Hotel
Altamont West Hotel
#32 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Palm View Guest House & Conference Center
1.9 mi away
El Greco Resort
El Greco Resort
#30 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 354 reviews
0.7 mi away
Relax Resort
Relax Resort
#36 of 64 in Montego Bay
3.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay 00000, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.