We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location/friendly staff/economical” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toby's Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Toby's Resort to your Saves list
Toby's Resort
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    137
    81
    23
    10
See reviews for
47
96
53
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

I can't complain about anything. Clean and affordable place across the street from beach, .5 mile from airport, walking distance to hip strip! The rooms are nice and clean like those of a *** hotel with prices of a ** place! Restaurant has good food and decent prices especially for breakfast! Free Ice from machine near pool! Beach towels available upon request! Complimentary toiletries! Pressured showers!!! A/C! Balcony! TV! Clean plush bathroom towels everyday! No fridge on "basic rooms" It needs some renovations but we need to keep supporting this humble family owned resort in order for that to happen! -Peace

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My friend and I stayed at Tobys resort during our vacation and overall had a great experience. Apart from the hotel charging my credit twice (however, this was my personal banks fault) it was a good experience. The hotel staff were extremely helpful, accommodating and friendly. The restaurant at the hotel had a good choice of menu and there are two swimming pools. The property was quite spacious and there was free wifi in the lobby area. Also, if you are keen on listening to awesome dancehall and reggae tunes, def the place to stay. Loved the fact that the main pool bar was blasting these tunes whilst relaxing by the pool - very Jamaican style :) Close to the hip strip as well.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We stayed here on our way out of a 4 night stay at an all inclusive just to be closer to the airport and to check out what the "hip strip" is about. The place itself is adequete with a friendly staff, free wi-fi in the lobby, and bare bones rooms. You can skip the pool as it's nothing to swoon over but it's very close to the beach. Airport shuttle is easily arranged at the lobby desk for about $10 USD per couple. This is pretty cheap but in actuality, you can really walk to the airport if you're traveling light since it's about a 1/2 mile away. The Hip Strip is a huge disappointment lined only with some local tourist shops that will rip you off and a few restaurants most of which are still high priced and filled with tourists. We made a point to find a local balcony bar that played reggae that had local folks sitting around smoking as we would have liked to see. We chatted with some very nice locals there and stayed far away from the likes of Margaritaville or any of those other touristy locations. Overall, the Toby Resort is good for a one night stay but the experience of the area was underwhelming in general so skip it if not needed.

Room Tip: There is no point in requesting rooms as they are all bare bones and face inward toward the pool are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The location is great. Right at the end of the hip strip, but you couldn't even tell because it is very quite. Very close to the beaches. The pool was also very nice if u didn't want to travel with all your stuff to the beach. This place has a restaurant, which was ok but nothing special. Although there isn't much else for breakfast around the area, so we ended up eating there all 3 days we were there for breakfast. Overall a great place to stay if you aren't going to do an all inclusive resort.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Our main floor room was adequate for a two day stay - buy not any longer. The room was in need or a major makeover - grim and age showing everywhere. Room large, pillows terrible, beds hard. This property is not average for Montego Bay - it is less than that - but not "poor" either in terms of TA ratings. One night we found the hallways filled with noisy people until the crack of dawn, the next night it was much better. The whole place needs some real tender loving care - as it does not look like a dime is being spent to maintain or upgrade. Restaurant served some good meals at a reasonable price point.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Went with husband and two daughters, 6 and 2 years old for two nights. Location within walking distance of hip strip food and shopping but not close enough to hear the noise. Great view of "Red Stripe" sign from grounds.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toby's Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toby's Resort

Address: 1 Kent Avenue, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Toby's Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our family owned hotel, geared towards the easy going, adventurous tourists and returning residents seeking for a peaceful and relaxing environment. We are located on the famous "Hip Strip" of Montego Bay, just five minutes away from Donald Sangster International Airport and walking distance from Doctor's Cave Beach and Cornwall Beach, restaurants, nightclubs and duty-free shopping. When you combine an ideal central location, affordability and genuine people who offer a heart-felt welcome and first-class service, the vacation of your dreams begins as our guest at Toby's Resort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toby's Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toby`s Hotel Montego Bay
Tobys Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toby's Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.