We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G Shire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gloucestershire Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Gloucestershire Hotel to your Saves list
The Gloucestershire Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Oxford, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“G Shire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

This hotel is truly amazing and their staff service is incredible. They have the friendliest staff and will go out of their way to accommodate your needs. They went out of their way to get to know everyone staying in the hotel and make this hotel feel like a home away from a home.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    76
    39
    15
    32
See reviews for
30
58
29
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed at the Gloucestershire for 2 nights (Friday thru Sunday). The location is almost perfect besides being on a very busy street. It is about 5 to 10 minutes from the airport and directly across the street from Dr's Cave Beach. Check in was fast and welcomed with a rum punch drink. The lobby is open and airy. We stayed in a King size room with ocean view and a door to a shared balcony. The room was very clean, no weird smells or stains. Shower had good water pressure and it also had shampoo and body wash dispensers on the wall. Bathroom towels were very soft. Daily maid service was good. Loved having A/C in the room which was remote controlled!
Enjoyed the breakfast buffet of authentic Jamaican breakfast of stewed fish and greens and plantains. Also had French toast, omelets and bacon.
Enjoyed the Jacuzzi and pool after Dr's Cave closed at 5. We took advantage of the grocery store in the condo to the left of the hotel. They have EVERYTHING you need and very reasonably priced.
Only downside of hotel is the busy street known as "hip strip". Cars are continually speeding and honking and screeching ALL day and night, I would recommend asking for a room not facing the street (not an ocean view). We walked to the Pork Pit after dark (7:30) and felt a bit uneasy. Cars were speeding by and honking and side walk is very narrow and randomly ends at places.
Overall it was a great hotel for a beach weekend getaway. Felt safe and at home in the hotel and Dr.'s Cave Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms face the street so you will have constant honking and screeching of cars
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I had a great experience here. The staff is incredibly friendly and helpful, always smiling and lending a helping hand. The food is delicious and the rooms were wonderful. With the beach feet away it’s impossible not to enjoy your stay at the G Shire!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crewe
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

After previously staying in a large AI in Mo Bay this was such a pleasant experience. Instead of a gilded prison miles from anywhere this is an oasis right in the middle of things. We had a room right on the front with a beautiful view of the beach and sea from my balcony and even my bed! I personally loved the noise coming up from the streets.

And the staff! Almost without exception, they are the most friendly, professional and helpful anywhere. I was particularly impressed by David at the bar who really knows how to make a Long Island Iced Tea, Marcia from housekeeping, Carl at the pool, Neil the security guy and one of the waiters who I didn't get to know his name but did get to show my appreciation to. You will find Burchall the manager very helpful too and he will know you by name from day one!

Comfortable rooms, good food, great location; I would definitely stay there again and recommend it.

The only thing I would change is I would have liked music at the pool/jacuzzi area and if they could stretch the wifi that far it would be perfect!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This hotel is awesome and the staff is wonderful! I stayed here with a large group for two weeks and the staff took the time to get to know me and really cared about how my stay was. When I left, they all gave me a hug, wished me safe travels, and welcomed me back again in the future. Truly a hotel that cares about it's staff and its patrons. Did I mention it's also right next to the beach??!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Great food, clean rooms, great view, friendly staff - what else you could want? Beautiful and located right across from Doctor's Cave Beach. I'll take it anyday. Although it might be slighly noisy at times being right on the strip, that is what you want down here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Lago, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel staff made it great especially Peta-Gaye at the desk. We were looking for a warm beach getaway in Dec 2013. The hotel is directly across the street from Dr Cave beach. The beach is very nice but gets crowded when the tour buses bring people there. Out of 5 days the beach was extremely crowded on one day possibly when a cruise ship was in town. There are shops and restaurants within walking distance on the Hip Strip and the hotel restaurant has good breakfast and very good jerk chicken at reasonable prices. The hotel is older but well maintained, it’s not perfect but affordable and safe. When walking on Hip Strip be prepared for very pushy creative sales people. If you enjoy negotiating at flea markets you will like the shops but they are pros ! There is a convenience store hidden next door in the condos on the 2nd floor where you can buy snacks and necessities. The prices there were less than the other tourist places and uses JA dollars. Didn’t go to any clubs but could walk from Margaretville to Spice World convenience store on Hip Strip till about 9:30pm without issue. If going any further or later take a taxi. Had a very good dinner at Pier One via taxi. The hotel staff was awesome and the tours we went on had exceptional care and concern for all. Jerry on the luminous tour is a great guy and the staff at Dunn falls found a drivers license dropped into the falls by a guest. Compared to other vacations I can say it’s true that the people of Jamaica really do care about guests and help if needed was there for the asking.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms have more road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gloucestershire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gloucestershire Hotel

Address: 92 Gloucester Ave, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gloucestershire Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Gloucestershire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gloustershire Hotel Montego Bay
Gloustershire Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gloucestershire Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.