We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alrick Allen: Excellent All the Way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Your Jamaican Tour Guide Private Tours

Your Jamaican Tour Guide Private Tours
Montego Bay, Jamaica
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 99 Activities in Montego Bay
Attraction details
Gallatin, Tennessee
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Alrick Allen: Excellent All the Way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We visited Montego Bay end of May (4 adults) and set up airport transfers and a premium tour to YS Falls/Appleton Rum Factory/Pelican Bar with Alrick (Your Jamaican Tour Guide). We booked everything via Lorette, his wife, who was always very responsive and clear with details and answering any questions I had about the tours. Airport transfer was done by his brother and was great. On time and great attitude. The premium tour was a full day. Alrick was on time, his driving was great considering some roads were not in the best condition and his personality and attitude could not have been any better. He made the entire day entertaining, pointed out interesting points of view, was informative, took us to some great local places to eat and did not rush us but gave us great timing at each tour location. He tries to make the tour more than the standard tour you may get from other companies, and he takes the time to set you up with good guides at each of the sites. We had such a great time with Alrick that we decided to set up another tour with him for a few days later. This was the Negril/Ricks Cafe tour. Another amazing day. The only downside, which obviously is not Alrick's fault, is that we could not see the sunset given the cloudy weather. The next time we return to Jamaica, we will definitely rebook with Alrick and Your Jamaican Tour Guide. The entire experience was amazing! Thanks Alrick!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    3
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Private is the way to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We just spent the day with Your Jamaican Tour Guide on the Premium South Coast Tour. Our driver picked us up in the hotel lobby, right on time, in a spotless van. We had a great day - safe driving and lots of great conversation. Our timing at each stop was amazing - we avoided the crazy tourist crowds, usually leaving just as they were arriving. It was fantastic.

The premium tour was nice because all of the admissions were included. No hassle for us and we didn't pay a surcharge for this service. Our driver even hooked us up with a fantastic roadside local lunch. My friend remarked that it was the best food she ever ate!

The price per person was comparable to a tour bus, except that we controlled when and where we went and how long we stayed. Much better than being crammed on a bus with 50 other tourists and getting hustled along the way.

I definitely would not hesitate to use Your Jamaican Tour Guide for my next trip to Jamaica!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford,IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Tour Experience in Jamaica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I’ll start by saying that I don’t review a lot of products or services, but felt compelled in the case of Your Jamaican Tour Guide. It was our first trip to Jamaica and we wanted to see all the touristy stuff. Rather than chancing and potentially missing an opportunity of seeing “items on the list” with tours booked via our hotel, we opted to book them all online prior to the trip. We booked three day long excursions through various companies we found online. All of them had some random issues (late, tour guide wasn’t engaged, bad driver) except for Your Jamaican Tour Guide. They were on time, had a nice vehicle and what really made the experience was our guide, Alrick.

Alrick was fantastic. I can’t say enough about this young man. He was very knowledgable about his country, the places we visited and on a occasion stop to pick some local vegetation. He offered several tips from the best Jerk spice to places to stay when we go back. We truly enjoyed getting to know Alrick, learning about his family and in general the time we spent with him. On our next trip, we will book exclusively with Your Jamaican Tour Guide.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Arlick is the man”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We had airport transfers with Arlick and a full day tour with one of the other drivers great guys I had some email issues and they were patient and kept all appointments on time and were very professional couldn't be happier

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Our favorite tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I have been using Alrick for a few years for transportation from the airport to Negril as well as for tours. We have been going to Jamaica for over 20 years and have used many drivers and tour guides over the years, but since we first used Alrick we haven't worked with anyone else. We look forward to seeing him every year when we go back as he feels like an old friend!

He is the safest driver and drives a comfortable speed, doesn't do a lot of passing like some drivers (sometimes with really close calls LOL!), is fun to talk with, and is always on time picking us up.

In terms of tours, last year we went to Mayfield Falls and the Appleton Rum Factory and had a great day. He was even patient when my husband had to pry me away from the rum tasting!

He also takes us to the store to pick up wine and stops for our first taste of jerk before we leave Montego Bay.

Alrick's the best and we won't use anyone else for our yearly trip to Jamaica!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Your Jamaican Tour Guide Private Tours also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Your Jamaican Tour Guide Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Your Jamaican Tour Guide Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.