We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value if you are on a budget and need to get away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Valley Stream, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value if you are on a budget and need to get away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This resort is great for families and couples, if you are looking for a party resort this place is not for you. A wrist band is required to be worn at all times.

Food: Several dining options available and the food was delicious. Reservations are required expect for the buffet. During the day the Jerk Hut and Barefoot grill are perfect places to snack at for lunch.

Drinks: I advise that you bring your own cup. The staff were constantly washing cups to keep up with the demand due to the fact the cups were only 10oz.

Night Life: There is no club at this resort.

Room: Nothing special. The bathroom has only sink and only has room for one.

Staff/Service: Friendly and helpful

Activities: The game room is really a game area and needs improvement along with the basketball court and miniature golf area.

Overall we enjoyed ourselves and found the resort to be very relaxing. Again, great value if you are on a budget and need to get away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, November 16, 2013
Dear Lena D,

Thank you for your considerate review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your overall stay. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are working hard to improve our product and would love for you to give us an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    993
    1,496
    795
    262
    230
See reviews for
1,466
1,296
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

First time in Jamaica, so we went with what we know. It was fantastic. Price was great and service was wonderful. Food was good, but for an all-inclusive we did not expect 5 stars. Bars (Recardo,Aviian and Orvette are the best) , pools and again all-inclusive water activities WERE 5 stars. We did the boat ride, snorkeled and kayaked. Great fitness center. Entertainment was very good. If you are a 20-somthing looking for a club atmosphere it might not be for you, but if you are past that and\or have kids you will like this resort

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloucestershire, uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

stayed here many years ago. when my daughter was young, and yes it does mainly cater for families, the nannies were fab with my daughter, could not fault them, the staff were friendly, probably a bit too friendly near the end as they wanted tips etc, and 1 particular staff not naming wanted our contact details so we did a swift exit, well my hubby did. (as we know there would be endless begging letters etc. our room was excellent, the place is fab. would definitely recommend and go again. watch the drinks though as they tend not to have labels unless you ask for the real items. and the crab race was comical.

Room Tip: choose ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

It may not be the newest resort in town, but for the price you can't beat it!
It's our first time to Jamaica, and we really enjoyed our stay. The people here are so nice! Helpful hints: if you are not a night owl ask for a room farther away from the main pool. They host music and fun around that area in the evening and it could be intrusive to those staying close by. Otherwise, everything be irie! Enjoy!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic stay at the Holiday Inn in Montego Bay. The food was excellent with a great deal of variety. My favorite restaurant was the Italian, the service was great and the food was amazing. The resort has 2 pools one adult and one for family. The Jerk Chicken huts food was outstanding. The rooms at the resort where clean and stocked with plenty of towels and the cleaning staff are very helpful and friendly. The entertainment was professional and well organized. If you like snorkeling the beach has lots of different areas where you can see colourful fish and marine life. The little island is great for sun tanning. I plan to return to this resort in the future. Thank-you to all the staff for a job well done.

Room Tip: Building one on the poolside has more noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

My second stay at holiday inn,and I had a fantastic time :) Kishaun,Carolyn,Davia & the rest of the entertainment team do a great job keeping everybody entertained.all the staff were lovely,always smiling and very polite,the food was good,my favourite restaurant is sorrentos Italian the steak was gorgeous!!
Can't wait to go back next year :)))

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have never written a review, but this time I must. Where should I start? They far exceeded all we expected, so we went there again, and they surprised and impressed us even more deeply.

The people are the most important. Each and every one of them bent over backwards to ensure our stay was even better than we expected. Yes, this includes the grounds keepers and maids and waiters and chefs and the staff at the front desk and more. They seem to smile from the inside out. It was very hard to leave them.

We have many Jamaica stories, too many to recount here. This was absolutely enjoyable and I recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Buildings 6 and above have less noise from families with children. Ocean views are better from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All rates displayed are All-Inclusive* When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica. After an extensive renovation, this favorite Montego Bay hotel looks fantastic! The renewed color theme throughout the hotel will help you kick off your Jamaica vacation. A newly refreshed lobby, enhanced guestrooms with flat screen TV's, restaurants, beach and swimming and sunning areas make this Jamaica hotel better than ever. This Jamaica resort is located approximately 7 minutes from the Montego Bay International Airport. We offer an array of services as well as optional tours. Our wedding coordinator can help you plan your dream Caribbean wedding. Please look at our package page for more information. Conference facilities available. Children activity centre from 6 months to 12 years. The All- Inclusive Caribbean vacation includes room, non-motorized water sports, three delicious meals and snacks - buffet or a la carte. Please note: Some restaurants are not open every day and require reservations. See food and beverage section for schedules. Local brand cocktails and soft drinks. *Must advise arrival flight in info field when making reservations. Taxes and service charges included. Our property offers a courtesy lounge with luggage storage area and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Jamaica
Montego Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Rose Hall
Rose Hall Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.