We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Little bit of Heaven on Earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #23 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Newnan, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Little bit of Heaven on Earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just a few minutes from the Sangster airport so you can start your vacation right away which was great after staying in slow long lines at the immigration without AC. Check in is at 3pm but you will get a wristband to start using the services and your luggage will be stored until your room is ready. We got there at noon so we went straight for the lunch buffet wich had a wide variety of food to please every pallate. Only soda served at the buffet so be sure to grab your frozen drink or beer at the bar. Jamaicans are friendly and proud people and give you back the respect you give them. I had my hair braided by Betty, a local, they are at the end of the beach past the adult pool. They also sell beautiful hand carved animals and masks and other awesome quality Jamaican stuff so no need to leave the resort. I got so many compliments on my hair all the way back to the States. Leaving was much easier since the airport is loaded with restaurants and duty free shopping. I will definitely go back to Jamaica. I love that place :)

Room Tip: Bring or buy a cooler cup with lid at the gift shop. If your going over to the island it will keep y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    937
    1,416
    755
    253
    223
See reviews for
1406
1226
41
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very nice all inclusive Resort with great kids activities. Not the best location on the island as it is somewhat in between any attractions, etc. The service makes it worth the trip. They always had entertainment each night. Really now reason to go off property as they try to provide everything. The beach is just OK, but it is private.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for a week in August 2013. The resort is not fancy but a great value for the price. If you are travelling with kids you don't need fancy and many of the features were very kid friendly - man made island and shallow waters, shallow pool with vigilent life guards, ice cream cones, childcare center etc. The staff were lovely. Food was decent in the buffet, very good at the restaurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This resort is located in Montego Bay just a 10-15 minute ride from the airport. Its a kid friendly resort that is mid-sized compared to other nearby resorts. The food is basic with many choices aimed to please the kiddies....fries, nuggets, pizza, pasta etc. You can also have local food if you choose. Over the last several years we have seen an influx of locals coming into the resort for the day. While it is great to get the local vibe, it was much less crowded prior to the hotel offering the locals these day passes. This will not stop me from returning, but wanted to be sure to mention it. The beach is one of the best on the island since you can walk out far and still be standing. There is good snorkeling as well since the water is clear with nearby reefs. There are cabanas if you wake early enough to secure one. The staff is ok, but do not expect quick service with a smile due to the large number of guests and locals. The price is very reasonable compared to other resorts on the island that are also all inclusive. The rooms are standard with nothing special in them and are on the smaller side. Balconies are in every room. If you want to upgrade to a larger room, they are available, but will cost 100-150 per night.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a kids suite if you like a bit more room. They will lower the price if you attempt to upg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear brincher,

We want to thank you for always choosing our hotel and for leaving a feedback.

It was real pleasure to learn that your stay with us was such a pleasant one. Your opinion, as every single guest, is very important to us and serves us as an advise, reward and motivation for the future.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write to us. It is only with both positive and negative feedback that we can strive to improve our service to our guests and I do hope that you give us again the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks here in a group of 15 adults and children. It was my first time in jamaica and I had no idea what to expect, I haven't got any complaints about service, staff, food, cleanliness or location and I would most definitely return. The kids loved it the entertainment both day and night was 10/10 and the kids club was great for the younger children if you wanted some child free time on the adult beach or pool. Hoping to return next year. Keisha is an amazing lady who will go out of her way to help. I read poor reviews on this site before we arrived and I was sceptical about it but it definitely exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here one night as we had splurged on Jewel Runaway Bay and Iberostar Grand Rose Hall previously and our airline tickets were changed so we could either extend another night at Iberostar or try something else for a new experience,I am all for trying something new so we stayed here for 1 night before catching our flights back home.
Check in was a long wait in line but they were kind and offered punch to us as we waited in the heat.
We got there at 1230 and the room wasn't ready so they kindly stored our luggage and told us to enjoy some lunch and we did and it was okay.
They had constant entertainment which did help pass the time but by 2 pm it was so hot and with no air condition place to go we went back to the front desk where there continued to be a long line and where we observed people now checking in getting there room keys,so we begged for our and the man finally gave us the room keys yeah!!!
The room was average hotel room decently clean could have been cleaner.They did have my favorite bath and body works toiletries in the bathroom which is always a plus.
We stayed in room 5317 with a beautiful ocean view. Room had free WiFi so we called home to check on kids for free. The room had a nice love seat to sit on. The balcony was small compared to the other resorts we had been to.
Didn't go to any specialty restaurants but from what other people were saying they were pretty good
The saving grace about this place was the laundry they had a washer and dryer for free and we got all of our laundry done,yeah,I could see this as a big plus for parents with children on vacation.At the other resorts you have to pay for laundry service which can get quite expensive.
The beach was okay,not sure if the litter was from people that day using it or if it just isn't normally cleaned.
After eating lunch at the buffet we decided against it for dinner and took a over priced 60 usd round trip taxi ride to a restaurant called Pier one that was less than a 10 min ride we checked with different drivers and some charged more,really?
The food was okay nothing to write home about but the views were outstanding.
Check out was quick ,our private ride back to the airport didn't show up so we caught a decently priced shuttle .
This is a good budget place especially if your low on funds but want to experience Jamaica and if you have children because they seem to have a lot for them to do and all of the children we saw were very happily giggling and playing.
Minus the long wait to get into the rooms in the heat it was decent stay.
.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room its great. Be prepared for lots of children running around it's a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear KARLANETTETX,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the service and experience at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for your overall dissatisfaction. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. I'd read the reviews and been warned by the travel agent and I wasn't expecting a 5 star property. For the very little we paid, this was an awesome experience.

1. The hotel is literally 5-10 minutes from the airport so it was convenient.

2. Check in was a bit long - but we received a cocktail and we made it through without any complaints.

3. Our first room was in building 5. We'd requested a nice view and we did get a beautiful ocean view. The room itself was average. There was no bathtub, only a shower - which I don't like, and no mini-fridge (which are apparently reserved for suites, however you can request one). Our a/c also sounded like a tractor trailer. The next day we requested a room change. I wanted to be in building 1, overlooking the entire resort and ocean. They upgraded us to a deluxe room - which meant a mini-fridge, and sitting area. We had a great view and we were close to everything. The trade off is the noise. It's quite loud into the evening (like 1-2am). We were happy though, and stayed here for the rest of the 2 weeks.

**There are 6 or 7 buildings on this property - if you get a room in building 3-7, it's much quieter however you are further away from the action. So it's personal preference.

4. I liked the space that this resort had. There was tons of beach frontage - lots of lawn chairs, 2 or 3 pools, 2 hot tubs, a few bars... overall I was impressed. One thing I didn't like was that you couldn't find a single spot above 3 feet to swim in - not in the pool, not in the ocean. I hate that. I love to swim, and I hate shallow water.

5. The food.... ok, let's start with the ala carte restaurants. I liked that it was easy to book. You showed up in the morning and booked for the next evening. You were never refused unlike at other resorts. The Seabreeze seafood restaurant was amazing. I paid the extra $20 both times and had lobster and steak. Really delicious. I loved the Italian restaurant. We had the bacon wrapped beef both times as it was amazing. The Caribbean restaurant, ironically, was horrible. The service was slow and the food less than mediocre. We never made it to the Japanese restaurant but that also required an additional $20 to eat.

The buffet ... Ok... 100%, you will be disappointed on the first day. Buffet's are never what you hope they'll be. They only offer a handful of options - and dessert is the worst! 3 or 4 little cakes and jello. However, buy day 3, your expectations are lowered and you'll really start to enjoy it. They always have a good mix of American dishes mixed with local favourites. There is jerk chicken, stewed chicken, lots of fish - always mashed potatoes and rice ... They have a different station every night, maybe pasta, tacos, roast pork etc. Breakfast is their no fail meal. They can't screw it up - eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes or french toast, fruit, omelet station, and some local favourites like Ackee and Saltfish and porridge.

In addition they have a jerk chicken hut which is decent and a hamburger/fish shack which is passable... and a snack hut where you can get ice cream and nachos.

So all in all, the food is acceptable. There are pop machines everywhere, and the drinks run freely. So for what you pay, you can't beat it.

6. This is a family resort, so there are a lot of kids. There are also a lot of kid activities - and kids are often included in the entertainment. So if you aren't a fan of them, stay somewhere else.

7. The entertainment was nice. I loved how they had a band or played music every night in the main yard, where the buffet overlooked - very romantic.

Final notes: I only saw one bug the entire trip, a gigantic cock roach in the hall - that was frightening lol. The staff was friendly and polite, no issues there. They require a hold on your credit card when you check in.. I think it's $45-$75. It's not much but just be prepared. The beds are so rock hard, I could barely move when I woke up each morning.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 2 overlook the pool but are louder. Buildings 3 - 7 are quieter but further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All rates displayed are All-Inclusive* When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica. After an extensive renovation, this favorite Montego Bay hotel looks fantastic! The renewed color theme throughout the hotel will help you kick off your Jamaica vacation. A newly refreshed lobby, enhanced guestrooms with flat screen TV's, restaurants, beach and swimming and sunning areas make this Jamaica hotel better than ever. This Jamaica resort is located approximately 7 minutes from the Montego Bay International Airport. We offer an array of services as well as optional tours. Our wedding coordinator can help you plan your dream Caribbean wedding. Please look at our package page for more information. Conference facilities available. Children activity centre from 6 months to 12 years. The All- Inclusive Caribbean vacation includes room, non-motorized water sports, three delicious meals and snacks - buffet or a la carte. Please note: Some restaurants are not open every day and require reservations. See food and beverage section for schedules. Local brand cocktails and soft drinks. *Must advise arrival flight in info field when making reservations. Taxes and service charges included. Our property offers a courtesy lounge with luggage storage area and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Jamaica
Montego Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Rose Hall
Rose Hall Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.