We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely loved it!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Stayed 2 weeks here in a group of 15 adults and children. It was my first time in jamaica and I had no idea what to expect, I haven't got any complaints about service, staff, food, cleanliness or location and I would most definitely return. The kids loved it the entertainment both day and night was 10/10 and the kids club was great for the younger children if you wanted some child free time on the adult beach or pool. Hoping to return next year. Keisha is an amazing lady who will go out of her way to help. I read poor reviews on this site before we arrived and I was sceptical about it but it definitely exceeded my expectations.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    977
    1,468
    775
    259
    230
See reviews for
1,440
1,275
44
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed here one night as we had splurged on Jewel Runaway Bay and Iberostar Grand Rose Hall previously and our airline tickets were changed so we could either extend another night at Iberostar or try something else for a new experience,I am all for trying something new so we stayed here for 1 night before catching our flights back home.
Check in was a long wait in line but they were kind and offered punch to us as we waited in the heat.
We got there at 1230 and the room wasn't ready so they kindly stored our luggage and told us to enjoy some lunch and we did and it was okay.
They had constant entertainment which did help pass the time but by 2 pm it was so hot and with no air condition place to go we went back to the front desk where there continued to be a long line and where we observed people now checking in getting there room keys,so we begged for our and the man finally gave us the room keys yeah!!!
The room was average hotel room decently clean could have been cleaner.They did have my favorite bath and body works toiletries in the bathroom which is always a plus.
We stayed in room 5317 with a beautiful ocean view. Room had free WiFi so we called home to check on kids for free. The room had a nice love seat to sit on. The balcony was small compared to the other resorts we had been to.
Didn't go to any specialty restaurants but from what other people were saying they were pretty good
The saving grace about this place was the laundry they had a washer and dryer for free and we got all of our laundry done,yeah,I could see this as a big plus for parents with children on vacation.At the other resorts you have to pay for laundry service which can get quite expensive.
The beach was okay,not sure if the litter was from people that day using it or if it just isn't normally cleaned.
After eating lunch at the buffet we decided against it for dinner and took a over priced 60 usd round trip taxi ride to a restaurant called Pier one that was less than a 10 min ride we checked with different drivers and some charged more,really?
The food was okay nothing to write home about but the views were outstanding.
Check out was quick ,our private ride back to the airport didn't show up so we caught a decently priced shuttle .
This is a good budget place especially if your low on funds but want to experience Jamaica and if you have children because they seem to have a lot for them to do and all of the children we saw were very happily giggling and playing.
Minus the long wait to get into the rooms in the heat it was decent stay.
.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room its great. Be prepared for lots of children running around it's a family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear KARLANETTETX,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities and services are superior and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is regrettable that you were not satisfied with the service and experience at our property. Please accept our sincere apologies for your overall dissatisfaction. Rest assured that this isn't reflective of the high standards we usually pride ourselves. The feedback we receive from you enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We hope to have an opportunity to serve you again in the near future and provide you with the service you deserve and expect from us.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I just returned from spending 2 weeks at the Holiday Inn Sunspree. I'd read the reviews and been warned by the travel agent and I wasn't expecting a 5 star property. For the very little we paid, this was an awesome experience.

1. The hotel is literally 5-10 minutes from the airport so it was convenient.

2. Check in was a bit long - but we received a cocktail and we made it through without any complaints.

3. Our first room was in building 5. We'd requested a nice view and we did get a beautiful ocean view. The room itself was average. There was no bathtub, only a shower - which I don't like, and no mini-fridge (which are apparently reserved for suites, however you can request one). Our a/c also sounded like a tractor trailer. The next day we requested a room change. I wanted to be in building 1, overlooking the entire resort and ocean. They upgraded us to a deluxe room - which meant a mini-fridge, and sitting area. We had a great view and we were close to everything. The trade off is the noise. It's quite loud into the evening (like 1-2am). We were happy though, and stayed here for the rest of the 2 weeks.

**There are 6 or 7 buildings on this property - if you get a room in building 3-7, it's much quieter however you are further away from the action. So it's personal preference.

4. I liked the space that this resort had. There was tons of beach frontage - lots of lawn chairs, 2 or 3 pools, 2 hot tubs, a few bars... overall I was impressed. One thing I didn't like was that you couldn't find a single spot above 3 feet to swim in - not in the pool, not in the ocean. I hate that. I love to swim, and I hate shallow water.

5. The food.... ok, let's start with the ala carte restaurants. I liked that it was easy to book. You showed up in the morning and booked for the next evening. You were never refused unlike at other resorts. The Seabreeze seafood restaurant was amazing. I paid the extra $20 both times and had lobster and steak. Really delicious. I loved the Italian restaurant. We had the bacon wrapped beef both times as it was amazing. The Caribbean restaurant, ironically, was horrible. The service was slow and the food less than mediocre. We never made it to the Japanese restaurant but that also required an additional $20 to eat.

The buffet ... Ok... 100%, you will be disappointed on the first day. Buffet's are never what you hope they'll be. They only offer a handful of options - and dessert is the worst! 3 or 4 little cakes and jello. However, buy day 3, your expectations are lowered and you'll really start to enjoy it. They always have a good mix of American dishes mixed with local favourites. There is jerk chicken, stewed chicken, lots of fish - always mashed potatoes and rice ... They have a different station every night, maybe pasta, tacos, roast pork etc. Breakfast is their no fail meal. They can't screw it up - eggs, bacon, sausage, pancakes or french toast, fruit, omelet station, and some local favourites like Ackee and Saltfish and porridge.

In addition they have a jerk chicken hut which is decent and a hamburger/fish shack which is passable... and a snack hut where you can get ice cream and nachos.

So all in all, the food is acceptable. There are pop machines everywhere, and the drinks run freely. So for what you pay, you can't beat it.

6. This is a family resort, so there are a lot of kids. There are also a lot of kid activities - and kids are often included in the entertainment. So if you aren't a fan of them, stay somewhere else.

7. The entertainment was nice. I loved how they had a band or played music every night in the main yard, where the buffet overlooked - very romantic.

Final notes: I only saw one bug the entire trip, a gigantic cock roach in the hall - that was frightening lol. The staff was friendly and polite, no issues there. They require a hold on your credit card when you check in.. I think it's $45-$75. It's not much but just be prepared. The beds are so rock hard, I could barely move when I woke up each morning.

Room Tip: Buildings 1 and 2 overlook the pool but are louder. Buildings 3 - 7 are quieter but further away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadephia, PA - USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Based on reading reviews from Trip Advisor, the hotel was what I expected. I came here with my husband and his brother and his brother's girlfriend. The hotel was definitely more for families than couples. There was a small adult only pool and section of the beach where we spent all of our time. Which brings me to the beach...it was so incredibly small. If you're picturing long strolls along the water, think again. Others noted this in their reviews, but the water only went up to about waist high at the deepest part of the ocean you were allowed in. Probably the worst part of the trip was the food. I love food, but there really wasn't anything good to eat except maybe the eggs at breakfast and the jerk pork from the Jerk Hut. I pretty much lived on that as everything else was pretty terrible. We went off the resort to eat twice even though it was an all inclusive, just to get a decent meal. I saw some reviews that said the employees here were rude - we didn't find that to be the case. I was looking for a budget friendly trip, but I think I would spend a little more next time to make sure I have a better experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear LENLAS,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. Please accept our deepest apologies for the issues you had encountered specifically with the food. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. We hope that you give us a chance to change your perception of our hotel.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just returned from an excellent 2-week stay at the Sunspree and can highly recommend the hotel for those looking for a relaxing break. Whilst the hotel does cater for children and families it also has quiet space space for adults and couples looking for somewhere to wind down. Aside from the weather which (what can I say) is glorious, the accommodation is in the process of being refurbished but is nice, clean and comfortable, and the staff couldn't be more polite, helpful and accommodating. We've been 8-times already and have once again booked to go back next year ... may be see you there?

Room Tip: Sea views are lovely. If you like the buzz of the entertainment aim for buildings 1 or 2, if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I gave the H.I. Sunspree another chance and this may be my final visit.
We spent six days five nights Aug.20-25 just needed some time away to unwind. We were not told about the returning visitor private managers dinner, another couple we met mentioned it in conversation.
The food as actually gotten worst. I find myself eating at the jerk hut more often than expected.
We dined at the upstairs restaurant two nights, same menus each night no variety. The waiting staff was very friendly and nice at the restaurant and seem to enjoy talking to us about Jamaica attractions.
Our room 6307 was clean and quiet and across from adult pool area.
When you visit Sunspree bring a large Soda cup because their dining room cups run out often and lines develop, their cups are a little bigger than a shot glass. You can purchase large soda cups for $7 across the street from Hotel. Hotel charges $15. There is a Mini strip mall with great deals on souveniers, There is a man made island across from pool area very quiet with shallow water, good for snorkeling, stay to your far left or right of island the ocean is deeper with less rocks and seaweeds.
Nightly entertainment is very weak, subpar acts with no fan fare. The best time is after the shows when the hotel's DJ hooks up and the entire lobby turns into one big club....
Our friends received an upgrade to a junior suite after complaining about original room size....
Do not go to Sunspree expecting a five star hotel, it is a two to three star at best.....

Room Tip: Rooms towards Adult Pool area very quiet no kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear dentaff,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. I am sorry for the shortcomings you have experienced during your stay with us. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a great time here, but the hotel is in need of a refurbishment. At times staff were seen to put buckets onto dining tables to catch water that was leaking through the ceilings, and when you looked up you could see loads of patches where they had previously had the same problem. The first room we were allocated was not at all nice, very dark, not very safe for me in that it was on the ground floor and easily accessible via our balcony for any potential intruders. You could easily see from the patio door that it had been forced previously. However, we asked to be moved and within 24 hours we were, to a junior suite, which was perfectly fine. This is an all inclusive hotel, so we did find that we were forever waiting for clean cups to be put out for drinks, as there were never enough. The food was of a good standard, but a little more variety would have been better, however, there was something for everyone, you would never go hungry. I wasn't much for the "canteen" feel to the restaurant though, which was buffet style. The plastic chairs were very sweaty to sit on in those temperatures!! The swimming pool was great and my children were in it all day every day. I liked the fact that we had a beach right on the doorstep, with a shallow patch of water to wade through that took you over to a small island that you could relax on and take in the views. The staff were all very pleasant, and overall the hotel did look good, but as I said, it does need some work. All in all though, I would go there again.

Room Tip: go for a full or partial sea view, ideally on the top floor for safety and less noise. 4th floor th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Louise H,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay, highlighting on what we can improve further. I apologize if you were initially inconvenienced with the first room you were given but I am glad to know that this has been addressed immediately. Your additional concerns about the food served has been noted and will be used to consider for improvements.

Again, we appreciate your feedback and business and we all hope you can give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All rates displayed are All-Inclusive* When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica. After an extensive renovation, this favorite Montego Bay hotel looks fantastic! The renewed color theme throughout the hotel will help you kick off your Jamaica vacation. A newly refreshed lobby, enhanced guestrooms with flat screen TV's, restaurants, beach and swimming and sunning areas make this Jamaica hotel better than ever. This Jamaica resort is located approximately 7 minutes from the Montego Bay International Airport. We offer an array of services as well as optional tours. Our wedding coordinator can help you plan your dream Caribbean wedding. Please look at our package page for more information. Conference facilities available. Children activity centre from 6 months to 12 years. The All- Inclusive Caribbean vacation includes room, non-motorized water sports, three delicious meals and snacks - buffet or a la carte. Please note: Some restaurants are not open every day and require reservations. See food and beverage section for schedules. Local brand cocktails and soft drinks. *Must advise arrival flight in info field when making reservations. Taxes and service charges included. Our property offers a courtesy lounge with luggage storage area and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Jamaica
Montego Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Rose Hall
Rose Hall Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.