We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay to your Saves list
Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #22 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
yorkshire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just returned from two weeks at the Sunspree travelling with my husband and cannot fault anything. The hotel is traditional rather than dated. We had a garden room which was very large and comfortable. The hotel was kept very clean and we found the staff to be very friendly and polite. They all worked very hard. The food was very good, plenty of variety and changed regularly. Breakfasts were particularly good and the omelette station first class. We tried the Italian and Jamaican restaurants and both were great. During the stay we spoke to several people who were staying at five star hotels and all had some complaints about their hotel. I would have no hesitation recommending the Sunspree to family and friends and would love to go again. There is something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    995
    1,496
    796
    262
    230
See reviews for
1,469
1,296
45
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hagerstown, Maryland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The staff was very kind, friendly and very helpful with any request that we had. The food provided was excellent many items were offered even for selective eaters. The resort and room was clean. Many activities were offered for any age. The only negative was slow check in service when we got to the resort.

Room Tip: 4th floor room was quite with a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We really enjoyed ourselves here at the Holiday Inn. We are a family of 4 with a 15 year old and a 12 year old. The staff is wonderful--very friendly and helpful especially Cherrion at the lobby bar, Jevonughe at the buffet and Patrico at Sorrento. Even though it is an older resort, it is very clean. My suggestion would be to bring your own cups. I read it earlier but forgot. They do provide small cups. Also during the weekend, try the breakfast buffet upstairs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Park, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The description of the hotel is accurate however, the hotel is more dated
than the photos. Some areas are renovated and overall is a nice floor-plan.
Rooms are kept clean but don't expect the plastic cups or coffee to be replenished
every day. The casino is a small room with slot machines only. Food is good but
fruit for ex. is limited, pools are great. If you are traveling with children this
is the place. Entertainment overall is fair not great. The real bummer was at check-out
when we were told that we would not accumulate Priority Rewards points (7 nights of it!!)
for the stay. The tie breaker for us on the hotel decision was the points, which added to what
we have would give us some free nights next time....

Room Tip: There is no room service nor taking food to the room is allowed. Deluxe ocean view rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear patitay2k,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am sorry you found some aspects of our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued IHG Rewards Club members, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We had a wonderful relaxing time! Good food, good atmosphere, good entertainment, good service and good drink! The water was great. The service was great! We ate in 3 of the restaurants, we thought Sorrento's was the best! Seabreeze was good also. We met many different people and enjoyed getting to know them. We had a problem with our room in building 1, but our room was changed the next day. If you wanted to be by yourselves there is plenty of areas for couples only! Personally the children here were very well behaved, they did not bother us at all. At the price we paid this was a great place to visit!

Room Tip: Any room from building 3-7
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This property is all it says it is and more!!

Just returned from a week of relaxation.... and a taste of stress free living!

Rooms... clean and nice! Solid Ocean view without paying for ANY upgrades!!

Property... nice and clean too.... it is an older property, but VERY well kept

Staff... AWESOME! Everyone was GREAT!

Food... Very good... and the 4 Restaurants were all VERY good!

Drink.... Beer (Ice cold Red Stripe) and Rum (Appleton...)EXCELLENT!

Overall... The place is AWESOME!

Its not the Ritz.... but who needs the Ritz; NOT I!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltonville, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

My family of five just returned from this resort. We were traveling with 3 teenagers so an all-inclusive was a must. This resort made my family feel safe and we were never approached to buy drugs or for a tip, which happened constantly off property.

The food at the resort was not the greatest. We tried all the ala carte restaraunts and were not overly impressed. Sorrento was good, the filet was the best, and Kenko was delicious, but there is an extra charge of $20 per person. The breakfast buffet was great, especially the omelet bar, however lunch and dinner was lacking. The Barefoot Grill has the greatest grilled cheese, my son lived on them. Also, the Jerk Hut was ok and the ice cream is pretty good.

As Priority Club members we were promised an upgrade from an oceanfront room to one of the better oceanfront rooms. This did not happen!! We were given one "oceanview room" which was facing the brick wall on the next building. We could see the ocean, but it was far from oceanfront. The other room was looking over the pool. Again, you could see the ocean but not oceanfront. We were also in Building 2, this is the loudest building on the property. Activities were going on from early morning until 10 or later each night. You could hear all of the activities, especially if you wanted to sit on the balcony and enjoy the breeze.

The nonmotorized water sports that are included in the plan are never open. The entire time we were they said it was too windy to use the kayaks and the peddle boats were never allowed out. Strangely the activities that were offered at a cost were never closed due to winds.

We really enjoyed the beach!! The coral and rocks around the beach allow for snorkeling and viewing schools of small fish. The fish aren't all that colorful, but just to swim around it was great. Take a fresh banana out and the fish will eat right out of your hands.

I had read suggestions in other reviews to take a cup for drinks, this was the best tip ever. The cups thet provide are small and if you do not want to spend all your time in line, TAKE A LARGE CUP!! They will refill it with a smile.

All in all we had a nice time and would reccommend this resort for the price.

Room Tip: Building 2 is very noisy and Building 7 is away from everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay

Address: Rose Hall, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
*All rates displayed are All-Inclusive* When comparing Jamaica hotels, consider the All-Inclusive Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Hotel-Montego Bay Jamaica. After an extensive renovation, this favorite Montego Bay hotel looks fantastic! The renewed color theme throughout the hotel will help you kick off your Jamaica vacation. A newly refreshed lobby, enhanced guestrooms with flat screen TV's, restaurants, beach and swimming and sunning areas make this Jamaica hotel better than ever. This Jamaica resort is located approximately 7 minutes from the Montego Bay International Airport. We offer an array of services as well as optional tours. Our wedding coordinator can help you plan your dream Caribbean wedding. Please look at our package page for more information. Conference facilities available. Children activity centre from 6 months to 12 years. The All- Inclusive Caribbean vacation includes room, non-motorized water sports, three delicious meals and snacks - buffet or a la carte. Please note: Some restaurants are not open every day and require reservations. See food and beverage section for schedules. Local brand cocktails and soft drinks. *Must advise arrival flight in info field when making reservations. Taxes and service charges included. Our property offers a courtesy lounge with luggage storage area and shower facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sunspree Jamaica
Montego Bay Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jamaica
Holiday Inn Rose Hall
Rose Hall Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Sunspree Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Montego Bay Jamaica
Holiday Inn Sunspree Resort Jamaica

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn SunSpree Resort Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.