We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seaside Cottage at Round Hill, Montego Bay Jamaica

Montego Bay
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tim K
London
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing service and dreadful experience with the owner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

What looked so promising when we booked turned out to be very disappointing. The villa is within the round hill estate but unlike the rest of the estate the villa is outdated and been poorly maintained. The biggest issue was the terrible service received from the staff. It was virtually non existent - breakfast was served over an hour later than agreed. There was no welcome. No drinks offered. Had to go and find towels to use. Etc. but the worst thing was the attitude of the housekeeper who was hostile and distant. It was bizarre. Particularly when presented with envelopes for the tips at the end of the stay with the amounts per specified.

But it got worse. There were excessive charges for a cot and high chair suddenly presented (never mentioned previously). The high chair was old and damaged and was reprinted whilst we were there so clearly has not been hired as we were being told. The charge for the cot at over $200 for a week was excessive - you could purchase a cot for less than half that.

Having raised our concerns about the poor service and excessive charges, we had no proper response from the owner. We were then told that a/c in one the rooms had broken and we were to be charged for that. Agree it had broken and dripped water all over my parent in laws clothes but this was nothing to do with us - it reflected the age and poor condition if the unit (in keeping with the rest of the place). Anyway, 6 months on we have still not received our deposit back and the owner does not reply to any communications.

My advice is to avoid this place. Stay at the round hill hotel - it's super and definitely worth the extra cost

1 of 5 stars Value 2 of 5 stars Rooms
3 of 5 stars Location 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
1 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Mobay49
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awsome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from another wondeful villa vacation in Montego Bay, Jamaica.
This was our 6th trip and our 2nd stay at Seaside Cottage Round Hill. The villa comes with a staff of five Grace(head housekeeper), Miss LuAnna(Chef), Cassie(Laundress), Leslie(Butler) and Leroy(groundskeeper).

The food is so good other than the Pork Pit we never ate out. Miss. LuAnna will make you want to bring her home with you. Every breakfast and dinner was 5 star. In my humble opinion the staff is what makes a great villa vacation.

The villa comes with every luxury amenity you could ever want and the views are absolutely breathtaking.

If being pampered is your thing Seaside Cottage will not disappoint.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: location, staff, food, views and privacy.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$636
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
B. E. Bensinger, III
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2010
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing