We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Day” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Plantation

Croydon Plantation
Box 1348 | Catadupa, Montego Bay, Jamaica
876 979 8267
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Croydon Plantation like an insider
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Croydon Plantation with Jamaican Lunch
Ranked #9 of 61 things to do in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Streator, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I only have likes for the Croyton Plantation. Alicia was our guide and her knowledge of the plants were impressive. I liked the home remedies that she spoke of. I also enjoyed her openess to answer questions about the island, the plants, the people and the culture. It gave us a

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    49
    12
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Anderson, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Amazing is just not enough to tell you about Croydon Plantation! My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our visit! I must say Winston and Alicia made this tour spectacular! We are definitely entertain by the glitz and fabulous beaches, but It was definitely good for us to see how the jamaican's thrive everyday....I must say that we are t elling everyone it is a must see.I should also add the fruits and lunch was Superb! Please do yourself a favor and see what Croydon has to offer you, want be disappointed

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A bit of Canada in Jamaica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

The last thing I expected to see in Jamaica was Canadian pine trees in a forest setting. Pineapples, coffee, and more, plus a great lunch with a stunning view.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Informative and enjoyable experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

While in Jamaica we chose to do a tour of the Croydon Plantation. Our trip was very informative and interesting. We learned about the different fruits and produce grown in Jamaica. Lunch consisted of barbecue chicken along with different sides. The ride to and from the planation was also informative and we were able to see much of the countryside and how the Jamaican people live. Worth the time and money. Would not recommend for children as it is lengthy and they will tire of it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We took this excursion on our recent Carnival Sunshine cruise. It was thoroughly enjoyable and edcuational. Winston, our tour guide at the plantation, was not only knowledgable but highly entertaining. He is one of the best at what he does. The bus ride up the mountain to the plantation was part of the experience and gave us a chance to see the countryside and some of the people along the way. It was eye-opening and we caught a glimpse of that side of Jamaica. The ride itself was an experience as we weaved up and down and around, narrowly missing other vehicles and people on the side of the road. But is was "NO PROBLEM"! The plantation tour was a short walk up hill, with stops along the way to view the coffee plants, pineapple, grapefruit and a variety of others. We were able to sample some of the different fruit varieites as well. In addition, some of the views along the way were spectacular as we gazed out over the countryside. The tour ended with a meal served outdoors in a covered picnic area. The food was very tasty and a Red Stripe beer was the perfect beverage to enjoy along with it. The only thing missing was reggae music playing while we enjoyed our lunch!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croydon Plantation also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Croydon Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.