We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! Amazing Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Croydon Plantation

Croydon Plantation
Box 1348 | Catadupa, Montego Bay, Jamaica
876 979 8267
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$70*
and up
Croydon Plantation with Jamaican Lunch
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Montego Bay
Type: Farms, Outdoors
Attraction details
Fredericton, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“WOW! Amazing Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Took this tour on the 19th of February. Booked online through Raquel ( $70/person ). Our bus picked us up at the hotel Riu Montego Bay at 8:30 sharp. The drive was very pleasant to the mountains and it certainly captured the way of life as you saw a lot of how the local people live. The drive wasn't a long one - 45-60 min. however, the roads the latter part of the drive are NOT that good ( rough & bumpy ) so if you have back problems do NOT sit at the back of the bus! Our tour guide Winston was most informative, patient with all our questions and a pleasure to have leading us through our tour. The plantation itself is amazing! Such lush vegetation and the panoramic view from the mountains was beautiful. It truly is a wonder - a man made marvel is the correct description & quite evident from the start as to how this plantation has won so many awards. We so enjoyed the lovely drinks, the pineapple treats, the Blue Mountain coffee & the tasty Jamaican lunch you prepared for us. We were most impressed that the owner, as busy as he was, took the time to meet us all, talk to us and answer any questions we might have. I would highly recommend this tour to anyone. Worth every penny and more!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    40
    11
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
“Croydon Plantation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had a wonderful day on this tour. Enjoy an adventurous bus ride up into the mountains. You can view rural Jamaica and see wonderful views along the way. At the top a working plantation awaits you. See how things are grown and learn about sustainable growing. Sample exotic fruits, drinks and sugar cane. A true Jamaican lunch is served for lunch. We even got a visit from the owner of the plantation who had the dream. He was wonderful, humble and certainly visionary. "Winston" our tour guide was extrememly knowledgable and funny and made the day even more enjoyable. A must see trip that is off the beaten path. Take the relaxing stroll through this beautiful country!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Croyden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Awesome tour! I'd recommend going here. You get to see the small towns on the way and it is beautiful there.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pineapples lovely pineapples !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to see the inner beauty of Jamaica and show our 8 year old where different fruits etc come from.
We had a great guide Alicia, who was really knowledgable and funny.
I never realised there were so many different varieties of pineapple, which look and taste very different.
Alicia managed to get our fussy eater Lewis to eat some pineapple, which he did finally enjoy !
A great tour, with plenty of different fruits to try, all set in a beautiful plantation.
The BBQ meal was nice, and the plantation owner greeted us all and thanked us for coming.
A good day out and educational as well !

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“nice day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

we seen lots of different fruit trees and plant life very knowledgeable staff. Have the privilege of meeting the owner and a nice lunch. The drive there showed us many aspects of how the locals live.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Croydon Plantation also viewed

Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 
Montego Bay, Saint James Parish
 

Been to Croydon Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Croydon Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.