We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Paradise with sunsets to match!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Alabama
1 review
“Just Paradise with sunsets to match!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

All I can say is WOW!! We stayed in the Pref. Club 4th floor Master Suite and it was breathtaking with views to match. We just loved it and I can't understand all the negative reviews, maybe people want perfection (if you can tell me a resort that's perfect, you're not being honest, we are all just human). Sure it has some growing pains, it's still very new and it's getting better every day. You won't find a more beautiful setting or a staff that just wants to please you anywhere! The sunsets are stunning and change colors and designs everyday, it was the crowning jewel of each day!!! I just posted a LONG review on Secrets Wild Orchid Facebook page. I wanted to copy and paste it here, but it will only paste the writting before the "read more" (which is only a few lines). It took hours to write and I'm getting back to the real world with a busy schedule, so I just don't have the time to re-write it. Please go to the resorts Facebook page and read it, you'll get alot of info. If you've been concerned about the reviews, don't be, just go!! And ask for Bernadette, she will treat you like family!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,553
    937
    341
    121
    64
See reviews for
224
2,794
68
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,510)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I travel quite a lot to the carribean, and were interested in visit this new hotel from the Secrets group. Well to our surprise it is one of the mot beautiful resort we have travel to in a long time, the rooms excellent all with view to the ocean no exception, the staff extremely helpfull. The management cut no corner to cater to your needs. The restaurant excellent including the food. And most of all the beach and the most beautiful sunsets your eye could ever see. There two hotel The Wild Orchid that's were we stay and Saint James.
We definetly qoing back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2010

We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid in a Preferred swim-out suite. The Resort is Beautiful inside and out. It is gated and i felt very safe. The room was large enough with a king bed. The bathroom has a jacuzzi tub and marble shower stall. We had no problems with the room. The Mini-bar is stocked with Bottled water, Coke, Diet Coke, Sprite, Orange Juice, Apple Juice, Jamaica rum and Absolute Vodka. They didnt stock it everyday, but we would just call the front desk and he would come, not immediatley but before the end of the day. If we caught him we would just get extras just in case. We just tipped him a little extra.The balcony had a soaking tub which was very nice. We would step off our Balcony into the swim out pool. The room did have knick n knacks,,but we werent there to be building inspectors..we were there to enjoy and relax and thats exactly what we did. Room service was available 24 hours and it always came in 30-45 mins...hot and it was good some days..some not,i guess it was a different cook those days. ..but there was a good option of breakfast/lunch buffet at the World Cafe. The dinner options were plenty, Mexican, French,Japanese..very good! The beach was rocky in some spots..but we would just walk until we came across a softer spot. The pools/bars/pool restaurants were plenty and spread out far enough to where it wasnt ever overly congested and service was adequate . The infinity pool was nice. The service was good at the bars...the servers would walk in the heat, tray in hand to the beach from the bars to serve us....incredible!!! The activities were there, hobie wave, kayaks, water trampoline, glass bottom boat, tennis and basketball court, bike riding tour, casino, game area(pool table,table tennis,etc.)Shopping village, movie night, showtime theater,(the nightly entertainment isnt that good but you werent obligated to sit thru it), dance club. The spa center is very nice, water circuit, juice bar, steam/sauna room, then escorted upstairs to a private suite for a couples massage. Nothing is perfect, we were on vacation so you make the most of it and we did. The management was superb, they were readily available to any issues we came across and if they couldnt fix the problem and they found a close solution. Didnt have a problem ever reaching them. we are already looking to make our reservations with friends and family for next year!!! Thanks Secrets for The Best Vacation Ever!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclesfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Sorry it has taken so long to post a review. We visited the hotel from the 8th August to the 22nd. It is the best all inclusive hotel I have ever been to and my husband and i love to travel. The food is beautiful especially at Bordeaux and we loved the atmosphere at the Tepanyaki restaurant. Other people we spoke to said the food at the mexican was a bit bland but being a person that can't eat spicy food this was not a problem for me. The food and drinks manager does an amazing job and was always seen working hard. The staff at the hotel help make your holiday amazing for example Isaac, Noel, Bruce, Shane, Devar and Nicolas. The entertainment is also good with very talented staff like Vanessa and Rodney. Other 5 star hotels I have been to have no atmosphere but this hotel is fun and lively whilst still being a place for a romantic break. Small improvements I would make would be to serve hot chocolate in the coffee shop and to not have the air con on a movement sensor as this means it goes off when your asleep and you wake up in the night too hot. Maybe make the outside jacuzzi hot as the water in it is cold and to check the toilets on a more regular basis as there was sometimes no towels to dry your hands. However all in all a fantastic hotel that I will definately and have already recommended to my friends and family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We returned last week after spending 14 fantastic nights at Secrets Wild Orchid. I'm going to get the only complaint of my chest straight away - after travelling for over 18 hours from the UK it was not very good arriving at the hotel very tired to find no bell boys around, so my partner had to unload the luggage of 8 people from the mini bus with the driver. There it is then!!!!! Did it ruin our holiday, not on your life!!!!

We found everything about the hotel fantastic, nothing , no really, we are not nit pickers, so we kicked back, chilled out and thouroughly made the most of the '5 ***** All Inclusive Facilities'. Our room was lovely, we had a junior suite with the biggest bed ever, which was on the first floor and over looked the main swimming pool. We had room service in the evening twice and this was excellent. Used the wake up service and this was good.

The swimming pool was lovely and was cleaned every day withour fail and they supplied floaties. We never had a problem getting a sunbed any time of the day in fact on some mornings even at 9am we were the only people round the pool. We were going to spend a day on the beach but enjoyed the pool too much. The service around the pool was excellent and our favourite young lady Tanekia looked after us so well always checking to made sure we were ok and she even bought us both a leaving present which I thought was lovely of her.

We did experience 2 tropical storms while we were there which lead to a bit of flooding around the hotel but to be honest it actually added to the whole experience and was quite good fun!!!

Breakfast and lunch had a good selection to choose from, something for everyone, we mainly had something light for breakfast and lunch as we wanted to save ourselves for the evening as we new how amazing the food was in the Resturants and they did not disappoint us. We never had to queue at any of the resturants and the service was very friendly, and super efficient. We ate 4 time French, 3 times Oriental and Jamaican and once Italian and Mexican, so you can see what our favourites were!

The evening entertainment was enjoyable we really enjoyed both of the house bands and watched them every night without fail and then there was some good acts on for showtime!

All I can say is we had the most relaxing, enjoyable holiday ever which went too quick. I want to go back!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

My friend and I were there this weekend for 5 days. We were very excited and thought it will be a nice place to stay but I give a rating of 1 after seeing most ppl giving 2 for this place. We were very disappointed with this place and I am not recommending anyone to go there until they improve their services. It’s not worth of your money.

location: 15 min cab ride and most drivers would ask for $30 at MBJ, but we found a $20 ride to the hotel so that was not too bad.

Hotel was nice looking, very modern and clean. Lobby was very nice and it’s almost like Canyon Ranch Miami....nice arrangement with flowers and furniture, personal check-in desk, warm towels and beverage, so we were happy to be there.

Room: was very nice and clean. We had two beds and they were very comfortable. Our room was quiet and had a nice ocean view. However, our sink was busted one day. There was a flood every where. The building is new but the quality of the place remains some serious concern. Mini bar in the room was a bit lacking with 4 Red Strips and 3 baby size bottle waters and few cans of Sodas. But we don’t’ do beers or sodas so we were ok for that.

services: I would say this is the worst place for getting any service. The house keeping for some strange reason would not stock up for things like shampoo, soap, waters or shower caps, etc every time s/he is there...we are girls and needed to use type of stuff like that all the time. So everyday we had to call and request them. the thing was we usually didn’t know until we need them. So we had to wait for hours before getting them so most of the time we just used the soap from the first day to wash our hair because it usually takes them 2-4 hrs to deliver what we requested or most of the time they didn’t even bother....and this is like happening every day. I complained to the front desk and asked them to request the housekeeping to do a final check when cleaning our place so s/he won’t forget what area needed for the room ...however, that was a dream. So finally we were so fed up with this and complained to the manager. The front desk person said the manger will call us back but no one ever did. the last day there we were very angry and threaded to ask for our money back and then we got some attention there. But then the last morning there, I called night before requesting a wakeup call, guess what, we never got one. Good thing we somehow didn’t trust them so we set up our phone to wake us up or we would miss our flights.

Food; no one every stocked our mini bar either. The 3 or 4 baby bottle waters run out fast and easy everyday....when you call them, they either ignore your request or delivered some warm bottle waters to you3 hours later. We ordered a room service once and it didn’t come until 1:30hrs later while they told you to wait for 50min. The World Café restaurant was good for both breakfast and lunch....definitely don’t miss it. Other restaurants were just ok. I won’t give a feedback on restaurants since everyone’s standard is different. I think they are from not so good to ok. The Japanese restaurant was the worst. And we are wine drinkers and they did o not have anything that’s drinkable unless you pay for a bottle yourself and we were just not going to do that after paying for all. Also there is a jerked chicken car that suppose goes around the hotel every other day but we only saw them once and what the hotel staff told us the every other day or both Sat and Sun was not true....we happened to love jerked chicken and was waiting and looking for it all the time. That’s how we knew.

entertainment: nothing going on there. The “night club” called Desires is mostly half empty. The night when we were there, there was a hotel employee called Troy, I believe he works in World Café, was there dancing with us and pretty much forced himself on us....when we tried to leave to our room after we felt uncomfortable there, Troy was like following us....so single girls be careful there. Dont’ drink too much there. We were bit concerned there.

beaches: some parts of them are rocky...not just rocks. They are sharp rocks

Hotel staff: most of them are very nice. But man they do take their time to help you out. I know we were supposed to relax and not to worry about the time. But you don’t wanna sit there waiting for a glass of water or wine if you can get to the beach and relax there. That’s why you were there for.

lastly, when we checked out at the desk, we filled out the survey about the hotel...we saw most ppl giving 2 and some are giving 1 with the best 3 for this place.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON,MA.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Spent 5 glorious days and thought it was the best "All inclusive" resort I've ever been to ! People were Great, Food was fantastic (american beef,pork and chicken ) and if you've traveled you know what a diffrence that can be ! the most relaxing vac. in years. Never left the premises..didn't have to. Top shelf liquor ,FREE room service 24hr., Free drinks in room refrig. stocked daily, daily linens,towels + turn down w/choc. on pillow nightly. there's a huge world out there with many places to see/go and this gem is one i would definitely go back to ! also something i never gave much thought to....it's only 20min. from airport ! Should have been rated a "10" star resort !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.