We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing in so many ways!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
“Amazing in so many ways!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Secrets Wild Orchid in Jamaica met and exceeded our needs in so many ways that is truly difficult to explain. I chose this destination as the honeymoon choice from a travel agents recommendation. We stayed in the Preferred Club and received the honeymoon package which included a romantic dinner, 50 minute massage, and breakfast in bed which were all well worth it! This resort was a true all inclusive resort that included amazing jerk chicken throughout the afternoon and cold coconuts were just some of the small things that were available. If coconut cart was not around then one of the staff members in green would climb up the coconut tree and get you one.

With all this being said, there is one thing that this resort did that stood out among the rest. Every morning, my wife and I would have breakfast in the World Cafe. On the first morning breakfast, excited about our recent wedding, our server Ojay offered to sing us a song which we asked if he could sing our wedding song, All of Me by John Legend. Ojay sang us the song and brought my wife to tears of happiness. It was beautiful. Every day, we continued to ask for Ojay and every day he would meet us with a warm smile, amazing service, and great conversation.

On the last day, Ojay met us with a goodbye song and a beautiful picture frame as a wedding gift. We both were completely speechless and couldn't believe how remarkable of a person he is. Secrets you truly have an amazing and talented staff member on your hands. I continued to watch him provide this amazing service to all his tables and not just ours. If you have an opportunity to go to this hotel, seek Ojay as your server! He usually serves breakfast and lunch and I promise you that you will only leave with a full belly and cheerful heart.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    888
    319
    117
    60
See reviews for
201
2,651
60
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

all i can say is that the spa is amazing!i had the best massage in my kife by Myvaline! my husband was seen by massgae therapist Alicia who was also amazing. as far as the hotels front desk service Kamisha was amazing it was as if she were on the trip with us she knew everything as far as when we made appts and reservations...her brain is amazing and if you go ask for her she is sooooooo super helpful and knowledgeable! if you just wanna sit back and relax than secrets wild orchid is for you!!!!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

I have never met so many friendly people in one place. The make you feel at home by calling you by name and making you feel welcome in whatever you're doing! They get you to participate and have a good time. I even met staff friends such as bobo(Patrick), candy crush, Kay kay, Tyni, Mello, Andre (the piano man), and many more!!! I definitely recommend this adult resort to everyone looking for a fun resort in Jamaica!!! I loved it and I'll be back!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you are looking for a comfortable environment. If you are looking for a friendly, engaging staff. If you are looking for a delightful array of activities. If you are looking for all of this and more -- you should look no further than Secrets Wild Orchid. It is a true treat. Go soon, and plan to return!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dyer, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Booked our trip through Apple Vacations and most things went smoothly. A nice touch was the dinner given to people who had booked through Apple.
Check-in was smooth and quick.......but our room wasn't ready till 3PM, so we went and talked to the Apple agent Gilley and booked several excursions, then ate lunch; by that time our room was ready. This property being managed by AMResorts, they try to get you to go to a meeting to hear about their vacation club; if you are not interested, just say no-thank you.
Food is a subjective subject, having said that, we thought all of the food we ate to be good and enjoyed every restaurant we visited. There was no wait at any of the restaurants and the service was good. These aren't fast food places, so service will be a little more leisurely and relaxing............enjoy!
Rooms........clean and comfortable. If you look at the traveler photos, you will see that the room/bathroom is an open concept, just a sheer curtain separates the two areas. It didn't bother us, but someone with big privacy issues might have a problem.
Preferred or non preferred.........we had a non preferred and that was fine with us. The preferred rooms on the Wild Orchid side was near the are where the outdoor entertainment was and I wondered if the noise could be heard in their rooms. The preferred rooms on the St James side was the furthest from everything but the spa, but would be good for someone that wanted peace and quiet. Wild Orchid and St James are 2 resorts that share 1 property with most of the restaurants and entertainment being on the Wild Orchid side.
The only thing that was a glitch was that a sunset cruise we were to go on was cancelled. Someone called our room and left a message, but the light on the phone didn't blink so we didn't know there was a message for us. After about 45 minutes of us waiting outside and being told that our ride was on its way, we were finally told that it was cancelled. Not a big deal but communication could have been a little better.
Would we recommend Secrets........that would be a yes.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Secrets Wild Orchid

Location:
Wild Orchid is pretty close to Montego Bay airport, about 15-20 minute taxi ride at a cost of $30 each way for 2 people. We reserved a car before we left with Best Jamaica car service and our driver Stevert was punctual and courteous to and from the airport.The resort is co-located with it's sister resort St.James on a relatively isolated spot on the island. Taxis are always standing by on the resort property and costs $40 round trip to Montego Bay downtown area. Beach area is relatively small but never felt crowded although beach chairs can be fully occupied by mid morning.

Hotel:
Our room was located on the 5th floor(2551)and room size was slightly larger than average with nice large open bathroom containing a whirlpool bath. In my opinion the bathroom needs a renovation or at least a thorough touch-up. Although the room is serviced twice a day, you could tell it was a hurried affair, inconsistent and with neglected details. I think all the rooms have either full or partial ocean views except the first floor. Lobby area is cozy, relaxed but small and shares the space with a bar/lounge. All the main restaurants on the resort are clustered together around a central kitchen for convenient access. This is not a huge mega resort and as such layout should become familiar within a day.

Restaurants:
They have Mexican, Jamaican, French, Italian, Japanese(Hibachi style) and a Buffet style restaurants as well as couple of bars and a snack stand serving the usual plus beef patties(yummy!). Most of the cuisines served are above average in taste/portions and servers are friendly and accommodating. Of all the restaurants only the Japanese restaurant requires reservation and do book early as possible. Hibachi cooking was average at best and cannot compare to Hibachi cooking in NY area. With lot of young couples in this resort, the breakfast buffet is relatively quiet until around 9am. I highly recommend the crab cake appetizer at the Jamaican restaurant as they are packed with crab meat and very tasty. French and Italian restaurants require long pants for gentlemen and it is strictly enforced. The cheese burger seved at the snack shack by the beach, good as it is, lacks beef flavor. Beef patties(mass produced), fried vegetable balls and freshly fried chips are good as well. Around noon each day look for a cart serving freshly cooked jerk chicken, it is good but supply is limited and he move around! The resort advertises serving top shelf liquor in their bars but do not expect anything above JB Black quality.

Entertainment:
It rained quite frequently when we were in Jamaica and most of the venue were moved to indoor stage. They have two outdoor stages and I only saw one show due to "liquid sunshine". They do have different shows each night and from what I saw it was average. As far as off property excursions are concerned, tour company Chukka has a monopoly and you'll pay appropriately. Dunn's River Falls is approximately 11/2 hour bus ride away in Ocho Rios. It could get mighty crowded if cruise ships are in port. For other excursions like ATV, Tubing, Rum tasting and Zip Line, Chukka has a facility little closer to Montego Bay, about 30-40 minutes by bus. Zip line here is amateurish and river tube ride is lame as well. This facility can also get very crowded if a cruise ship is in port at Falmouth.

Final Thoughts:
The entire resort property is clean and well kept. Staff are courteous and friendly like any other good resorts throughout Caribbeans. It is relatively quiet and more so due to lack of children. I ordered a 12 inch birthday cake from the resort and it was a disappointment at $99. However concierge department was very helpful and diligent. Like any other tourist spots, proper tipping of service staff can go a long way. I think I spent over $300 in tips alone during my week stay. Have fun eveyone!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
munich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We came directly from Europe and stayed for two and a half days and two nights. We are used to travel the world and are slightly skeptical to all inclusive, specially since it hinders you to really explore and experience the local culture.
Here was many restaurants with very good food, great breakfast buffet, friendly and funny people working. Also the gym was well equipped. Free wlan over the whole resort area including the pools was also a positive experience for some family members. Weather was excellent, which helps.
All in all very good value for money.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.