We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Leo is the Best!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Save Saved
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
“Leo is the Best!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We spent a week here in early May. We had an excellent time! The rooms are great, food is excellent and Leo A. on the beach made the stay fantastic. Leo's service made our week even more enjoyable and relaxing. We didn't have to worry about anything with Leo around!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,140
    820
    304
    110
    57
See reviews for
175
2433
55
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We stayed here for our honeymoon at the beginning of may and are so glad we chose to come here. We were genuinely sad to leave.

Resort
This resort is beautiful. White sand beaches and crystal clear water and lush green grounds with beautiful trees and flowers. There is so much wildlife around too- hummingbirds, stingrays, starfish, lots of fish swimming around your feet. The wildlife walk which leaves every morning is well worth doing. Elaine was an excellent guide and the tour made you really appreciate all the beauty in the resort. It also showed you which way to walk back to your room in the evening to smell the gorgeous midnight jasmine!
There is an army of landscapers around every day to maintain the resort, and who are happy to have a chat and a laugh. Special mention to Rayan, who was only too happy to climb a tree and get us a fresh coconut! Much appreciated to cool us down from the heat!
Another special mention to Omar who looks after Bob and Rita the two beautiful parrots, who was happy to chat about and let us hold the parrots.

Rooms
Fab room, lots of space and all have ocean views. Great daily maid and turn down service. Only downside with our room is it was above the pool with the swim up bar so was very noisy all day. 

Service
Faultless- all staff are pleased to serve and assist you.

Food
Generally very good. We would recommend avoiding the italian restaurant as the standard here on the night we visited was much lower than the other restaurants. The food in the Italian was uninspiring and not full of flavour. My chicken dish was served stone cold too. The japenese is superb and fun- you must book a chefs table! The French was really tasty with impeccable service. Blue mountain, the Jamaican, we visited twice as we enjoyed the authentic food- try the curried goat, it is delicious! And of course the jerk chicken BBQ on the beach- amazing!

General
This resort really is all inclusive- all food, drinks from the bar, snacks on the beach and water coolers with bottled water were all along the beach. However the only negative we found was the resort is very americanised. The music and entertainment is all American, we would have loved more Jamaican music, and more of a Jamaican vibe, this is the only thing that would put us off returning- more of a Jamaican, rather than American experience would have been better.

Excursions
The resort offers lots of activities but you can book more through companies at the hotel. Dolphin cove was great and good value for money. The luminous lagoon was good, but very pricey for what it was.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Secrets Wild Orchid. The food choices were excellent, the drinks flowed non-stop, the sun shone until the afternoon rains (we did come during rainy season, after all), then the skies cleared for late afternoon/evening. Nothing the resort can do about the weather, but there was plenty of entertainment if an afternoon nap wasn't sufficient to outlast the weather.

Our favorite dining was Seaside Grill (various meat selections and our favorite waiter, Nicholi), Portofino (Italian), and the breakfast buffet. In the Preferred Club lounge, breakfast items or appetizer/hors d'oeuvre and dessert choices were available throughout each day as well.

Preferred Club beach/pool area was perfect for a relaxing day, but the activities at the other pools were always available. Make sure to try the jerk chicken from the cart vendor that strolls the sidewalk between resort and beach each day at noon. And check out Roach's Jamaican cooking class to learn how to make jerk and speak a little patois ("watguan")

We want to thank CC, our concierge at the Preferred Club, the wait staff who kept the drinks coming at the beach/pool - Kerry Ann, Karen, Avion and Erika at the Barracuda Bar who kept us well lubricated throughout the day, and also a shoutout to Shelldon at Bordeaux and the previously mentioned Nicholi at Seaside Grill. Everyone was so pleasant and accommodating - it made our stay a true pleasure.

Room Tip: The preferred side includes mini bar, 24/7 room service and a quieter beach/pool area. HIghly recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I Love Secrets Wild Orchid! This is our second time there and it was good to be back home. Everything was excellent! From the moment of check in to the day we left we were treated like family. Sharone helped make that go as quickly as possible. Some of the staff remembered us from our previous stay. Our butlers Petrona and Dalton was an added bonus to our room. They made reservations for us for dinner and found us the perfect chair at the beach. The one day it rained and came up to find a tub filled wih bubbles and rose petals. Our room was beautiful and the view was amazing. The food is excellent. My favorite this time was lobster fest on Saturday night! they were delicious. We had excellent food in the French restaurant and Manly our server was so much fun!! Loved the Japanese restaurant. The food was excellent there too! Julia the manager always made sure everything was going well. Loved chating with here. Thank again Mr Huhn for hosting us again. God willing we will be back soon!

Room Tip: Love the preferred club! I have problems walking and this resort meets with our needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erial, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Just got back from Secrets Wild Orchid with my friends Michelle, Walt, my sister Mary, and my wife and I. We had a blast ! The staff treated us like family, from the bartender Andrew, to Sparks who was with the entertainment staff. The waiters that service the pool area were the most memorable of all. Kadeeshia was really great, she would have our drinks ready as soon as she saw us arrive at the pool. But the staff member that will never be forgotten is Leo, he showed us much love with his crazy personality, he really adds entertainment in the pool area. We plan to return in October, can't wait to see the staff mentioned above.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Just got back two weeks ago from our first visit to Jamaica . This was too celebrate our second wedding anniversary. We usually frequent Cancun in April, we have stayed at Silver Sands and Capri. We love Secrets and we became members of the Unlimited Vacation Club two years ago. A wonderful investment for our relaxation. Our Jamaican trip with our stay at Secrets Wild Orchid was an amazing experience. We spent 10 days at this incredible Caribbean retreat. Our room was 4th floor preferred club with the most awesome ocean front view. It was worth the money! The grounds, hospitality, food quality, and accommodations are bar none. A few shout outs to everyone at the preferred club at Wild Orchid for their amazing service. This is the best set up I have seen so far for preferred status. I love the Jamaican touches that were infused into this resort to make our experience remerable. We took Pilate's and yoga daily with Wendy Peacock, she is an incredible instructor and excellent at her craft. She was very personable and even offered and extra day of yoga, that is outstanding!!! Lamar at the Porto Fino restaurant was our server, twice he made our dining experience very special with his heartwarming personality and his excellent service skills. The entertainment was extrodinary, the house band very impressive along with the circus show and the guest entertainment of a local band called Kahlil. Our driver, Warren from the airport to Secrets was very energetic and entertaining he started our Jamaican experience in the right fashion. The keeper with the parrots, was very nice and offered an unexpected surprise for me and my husband to have one of the Scarlet McCall's sit on my Hubby's shoulder and get a picture; a priceless memory. When you arrive be sure to treat yourself to a drink called the Jamaican Kiss, you will have to go and try it, I will not tell you what is in it, except pure bliss. April was the perfect time go for pool and ocean swimming and parasailing. Secrets deffinatly puts the" no worries mon" to poestic justice. Oh, the beds are the best, I get the greatest sleep when I
I am at any Secrets.

Room Tip: Preferred club ocean view, 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed in this adults only hotel in May after I had previously been very impressed with the Secrets hotel in Cancun Mexico. The Secrets Wild Orchid wasn't the same level of luxury or service as the Cancun secrets, but it was nice. The room was a good size, with ocean view and a well stocked mini bar. The choice of restaurants was good, I would recommend booking for the tappanyaki style restaurant as the food and entertainment is good. The pool was nice, and fairly relaxing, although there were a few noisy wedding parties that had a tendency to scream unnecessarily, but i suppose that could happen anywhere. The jerk chicken man who serves on the beach will come out rain or shine (and you can expect to see some short bouts of heavy rain in May!), his chicken is to die for! Evening entertainment is good, usually a Jamaican band. We stayed here for the majority of our trip, then moved to the Hilton Rose Hall for our final two nights (as we extended our trip, but Secrets had no availability), I would definitely recommend Secrets over the Hilton. Although the Hilton was very nice, it wasn't nearly as relaxing as Secrets, plus the resort was older than Secrets (ill do a separate review for Hilton).
The front desk assistant Shanique was very helpful in getting us the booking for the Hilton. She was one of the more helpful and friendly staff members, most were very friendly and helpful, although there were a few staff members that seemed to have a slightly less helpful attitude.
We booked the boat/catamaran tour to Nigril via the hotel, i would highly recommend this! Great day out and ended with Ricks Cafe ($140pp).
Overall i was happy with the stay here, there is room for improvement, but i would consider it in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.