We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing time at Secrets!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Save Saved
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $350 Air Credit!
Ranked #13 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
“Amazing time at Secrets!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I just wanted to take the time to give feedback regarding our trip! The food was excellent and the service was incredible :) The dining staff were so friendly and efficient. The kindest and my favorite server was Renardo Quarrie. We sat with him every day and were sad to leave! If you go to the buffet make sure to ask for him :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,935 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,769
    722
    285
    104
    55
See reviews for
145
2119
47
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,046)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Service here for the most part is good. One problem though. There was no robe in my room, I asked for a robe at front desk and no robe came. I called housekeeping and still no robe. I tried again a third time and still couldn't get a robe. Hotel doesn't seem that concerned about trying to make amends!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wow, just wow! What an excellent place for a vacation! Everything was absolutely fantastic! From the room, to the food, to the helpful and friendly staff, to the excursions*. We spent the most time down by the pool bar and were kept company by Sparks (entertainment team member) and Alvin (bartender),(honorable mentions to Sherece and Harry) All went above and beyond to make sure we all had a great time and really made us all feel special!
Have breakfast at The World Cafe (the French toast, crepes and omelets are to die for) For lunch, you will want the Jerk chicken down by the beach. The chicken guy gets there about 11:00 and there will be a long line. It is worth the wait. All of the restaurants are very good, We actually ate at the Italian restaurant two nights in a row. And for late night munchies*, the room service jerk chicken Hawaiian pizza is just what the doctor ordered.
We are already trying to plan another trip. I can't wait!








* We went out to the Bob Marley mausoleum on the third day. It is a very long ride (approx. 1 1/2 hours one way) through the mountains on very narrow roads. The ride is very interesting in itself. If you are a fan of Bob Marley, or Reggae music, or Rastafarian culture, this tour is a must! If you go, here are some things you will want to know. 1) "Concessions" or party favors", if you will, are available just outside the main gate at the mausoleum. 2) Remember, you are going to have to go home and you can't take it with you, so buy accordingly (I had to give away several items) 3) Buy two Gatorades at the first bar. 4) You are encouraged to partake if you so desire.. 5) When you are 2000+ feet above sea level, the air is thinner and a little goes a looong way. 6) Treat the "party favors" with respect. They are not to be trifled with. They are as good as you hope they are. 7) When you are at the stage where the band is playing some Bob Marley music, you are about to have a 100 yard walk straight uphill to Mount Zion. You laugh now...you will see .Have fun!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Second time at this resort. I love it even more. I can't wait to go back. I have dreams about the guy coming up the path with the jerk chicken cart. It smells so good. Everyone is so nice. Food is amazing. The beach was perfect. I loved everything about it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We recently spent twelve days at Secrets Wild Orchid and had a fantastic time. The only downside was leaving this gorgeous spot and heading back to snow! As repeat guests, we can appreciate the growth of the resort. The lush landscape continues to thrive and the grounds crew takes great pride in maintaining the lovely environment. The addition of cocoons along the beach was quite a surprise and delighted the guests who enjoy a reprieve from the Caribbean sunshine. Some changes to the Piano Bar and surrounding patio make for a more spacious area for enjoying the outdoor evening entertainment.

For those of you, who haven’t experienced Secrets, let me continue this review directed to you. From the moment you enter through the gates, you are spoiled! Upon check in, you are served champagne, fruit, cookies and a cool towel. The front desk staff makes you feel comfortable and truly “at home”. You’re escorted to your room by one of the bellmen, who also give you a visual tour of the resort along the way. The rooms are comfortable and fully stocked with the essentials, including bath products, sunscreen, iron/board, a hair dryer and robes & slippers. In addition, all rooms have balconies, free mini bars, iPod docking and flat screens. Overlooking Montego Bay is absolutely gorgeous, but I will say, the view overlooking what I call the “main path” is very pretty as well. Once you’re settled into your lovely accommodations, the fun begins!

The beach and pool areas throughout the adjoining resorts are beautiful. The sand, sun and surf seduce you into the relaxing Caribbean lifestyle. A walk along the “beach path” is recommended after you’ve settled in. You’ll follow the ocean to the pools, outdoor restaurants, the entertainment and water sports centers, the gym and the spa. Along the way, you’ll take in the splendor of the tropical landscape as well as a few peacocks and parrots that roam freely throughout the resort. Make it a point to stop into the outside bars/restaurants and take in all the activity around the pools. We enjoy both Oceana and Seaside for midday dining, both of which are open air restaurants. Make sure you keep your eye out for the jerky, jerky cart, which makes its way down the path from one end to the other serving jerk chicken hot off the grill and freshly cut. A late day favorite of ours is the Barracuda Bar, which is also an outside venue. The staff there is an amazing crew. Actually, the staff throughout the resort is amazing! You’ll find that out for yourselves! (I’ve mentioned the names of many of the wonderful, helpful, gracious staff in previous reviews…check them out. I couldn’t possibly say any more about them, except that, like a fine wine, they get better with time!!! Love you all.)

Also, take a walk along the “main path” and visit the Promenade which houses Coco Café (great coffee with or without alcohol, pastries and tea sandwiches), J-Vegas (small casino), two boutiques with some lovely clothing, two jewelry stores and a shop for those essentials you’ve left behind and souvenirs. Along this path, you’ll also find “restaurant row”. There is a great selection of dining options; Mexican, Caribbean, French, Italian and Asian, as well as breakfast and lunch buffets that offer something for everyone and a late night buffet for those with the munchies! The only reservation you’ll need is for the Himitsu hibachi tables. The Piano Bar, which offers nightly sing alongs, is along this route as well. Just outside the bar is a lovely, spacious patio with plenty of seating from which to enjoy the evening on stage entertainment while sipping on cocktails. At the end of this walkway is Desires, a nightclub for those night owls who get their dancing shoes on after a long hard day!

This is only a recommendation, of course. However, I find it’s a quick and easy way to acclimate yourselves to your new home away from home! It sounds as if would take a day, but trust me, you’re only going to spend an hour or so getting familiar with the resort if your take this tour! Of course, that doesn’t include any stops along the way, which I can guarantee won’t happen! You’ll hear a Bob Marley or a Wild Orchid calling to you and you’ll succumb to the temptation!

In closing I will add my superlatives…the best staff, the best accommodations, the best dining options, the best management, the most relaxing environment, the most enjoyable guests and the most wonderful place to enjoy the perfect vacation! If you’re thinking about booking a vacation at this resort, as they say, ‘just do it’! You won’t regret it. Enjoy…

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautiful resort in Montego Bay ! Very clean! Gardens full of lovely flowers!
We stayed in the preferred club our room was the top floor with beautiful views of the both the ocean and the pool. You had your own pool and bar area with top liquor such as grey goose, baileys, miller light beer etc. it is worth the extra money to stay in this club.
The resort was very clean. The staff were fabulos! Our favorite bar was the piano bar where you sat out under the stars!
The restaurants were very nicely decorated. You could eat inside or outside. They even had light up menus outside. The food was as good as the food we have had at the various Sandals resorts that we have visited . As a matter of fact I would rate this resort right up there with sandals.
There was a singing waiter at breakfast every day he is for REAL!!!!!
We would go back to this hotel in a heart beat. We we also try other Secrets resorts!

Room Tip: Top floor facing beach preferred club!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I had travelled to Secrets St. James last year and had been disapointed with the service we recieved and their "dont bother me attitude". This year we stayed at Secret Wild Orchids. The properties are in the same complex and share the restuarants, Bars, Beach, Shopping Arcade etc. This year's trip was incredible. The service was excellent. The food was delicious. For breakfast we either ordered room service or ate at the World Cafe. Lunch was jerk chicken from the cart on the boardwalk.
For dinner we visited the Bordeaux and Portofino restaurants and the food was incredible.
A special shout out to Leo Anderson and the lady who were serving drinks at the Wild Orchids Pool and beach (10th - 13th April). The service is the best I have ever experienced at any resort. They were constantly making rounds to take orders and pick up empty glasses. Quite often they replenished my drink without being asked.
The grounds are well cared for and the room are fabulous.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors have an un restricted view of the ocean. The view on the lower floors may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel
Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.