We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will come back soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Cancun, Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“will come back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

once you get here it's like you've stepped into heaven. EVERYONE and i mean EVERYONE is with a smile and friendly and awesome. you're welcomed with either a mimosa or a cookie, check-in is a breeze in these desks with the concierges. the rooms are well, it's a secrets, you can imagine, PERFECT! the beds are extremely comfy, there's a tub in the middle of the room (super romantic) the shower is rainfall, and it's just so good that you never wanna get out of the shower. the views from the room (which I believe all rooms have ocean view) were stunning. the restaurants don't require reservations which i loved, had dinner at seafood and japanese restaurant, both great! the piano bar and the club are a must if you have it in you to party! Danielle in the lobby bar was just awesome, her smile and service went a long way. Daemeon in the bellboys, was a friend. Leo in the pool was hilarious. and I'm sure i'll forget to mention some but everyone was awesome. the location of this property is great if you want to go out (which you dont need to but if you want to) Margaritaville is close so is Pier1.

Room Tip: ask for rooms in corners, they have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Great staff, food, excellent service and an overall wonderful atmosphere are just some of the things our resort is known for. Your love of all these and more is truly appreciated by our team and it was our pleasure to make your vacation one to remember. It seems you really enjoyed several key areas of our resort and I know your experience will be very helpful to other travellers and us here as well.

Thanks for sharing your kind review with us and we look forward to your return.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
econcierge1.sesmb@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    888
    319
    117
    60
See reviews for
201
2,651
60
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trinidad
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My husband and I are from Trinidad. We found everything perfect. All day activities, entertainment staff, food, drinks, the different restaurants, rooms, water activities, beach grill, pools and pool bars.

Every night a lady would turn down your bed, give you a schedule for the next day activities and chocolates, you even get bed room slippers. Room service is free!

After lunch a jerk chicken cart and a coconut cart would be going up and down the beach stretch. Fantastic!

Lots of sheds to shade under by the beaches and pools for us brown skin people. The water perfect and waitress coming by the beach taking your drink orders. You don't need to get up. Love it.

The only negative thing I can think about was the mosquitoes in the room. Even though we sprayed it still had. Other guest were also complaining about it or that they got bitten.

This place is perfect!

Room Tip: The view on the upper floors are nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

It is really great that you had a fantastic stay at our resort. Our team always aims to make our guests feel special and have a wonderful time and so it pleases us much that this was achieved. I am also glad that you loved our food, the activities and our service delivery despite the annoyance of the mosquitoes. We will, as we always do, continue our efforts to eliminate them from guest areas.

Thanks for taking the time to share your review with us and we hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
econcierge1.sesmb@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meaford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The wife and I just returned from a fantastic 14 day stay at Secrets Wild Orchid. Starting from our arrival where we were upgraded to the Preferred Club, we couldn't possibly have been treated any better. The staff at this resort were without exception excellent, and couldn't do enough for you. On departure they ask you who was the best staff member you dealt with was, and it's a very hard decision as they were all outstanding,

Food in all the restaurants is very good, and it's very nice not to have to make reservations (except at the Asian if you want to see the Hibachi show). Bordeaux (Gourmet), Portofino (Italian) and Himitsu (Asian) were our favorites but they were all quite good, and we dined at all of them, and invariably had great service and food. Note that dress regulations are enforced and we did on occasion see people inappropriately dressed turned away (always males - come on guys if your significant other dresses nicely make some attempt to match her efforts)!

Grounds are kept immaculately and we actually saw the groundskeepers being inspected one morning before starting their work! It's a newer resort so everything is up to date. We looked at other rooms in the non preferred areas (Wild Orchid and St James) and don't believe there are any bad rooms, and would have been quite happy in those locations as well.

It is a quite secure facility due to it's location and you are never bothered by vendors or locals harassing you on the beach. Beaches are small but sandy and nicely protected and never crowded, so swimming is pleasant (nice warm water) and no chance of being swept out to sea. Pools were great as well and we never had a problem finding a lounge on the beach or pool. Waiter service is constant on beach or pool so you don't wait long for refreshment. It's not necessary to dress for lunch as the Barefoot Grill on the boardwalk offers burgers/hotdogs, homemade chips, etc., and there are two Jerk Chicken carts on the boardwalk over lunch as well (don't miss this).

Take an excursion or two out of the resort so you can see the real Jamaica. We did Black River Safari, YF Falls, and the Appleton Distillery, as well as Bamboo rafting which my wife really enjoyed.

For television junkies there's lot's of channels and we even got City Toronto and CBC Toronto which kept us up to date on what was happening at home.

As usual at all inclusive resorts there are on occasion loud and obnoxious people, but this seems to happen when people first arrive and are still very excited about their holidays, and have not yet settled into the relaxed Jamaican style of life.

Again what makes this place is the staff and I wish I was better with names but a shout out to Caulette, Chantal (our concierge), Jennifer (our maid), Lionel at Himitsui, and everyone else who made our stay so enjoyable.

My only minor complaint was they didn't have any Port in the bars which we enjoy as an after dinner drink.

Now that were back on the shores of Southern Georgian Bay and I have been shoveling snow for 3 days, I can say we will definitely be back to be welcomed with the greeting, "Welcome Home"! Well done Secrets!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great but if you are a wi-fi junkie go Preferred Club as it is free in those locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I went to this resort for a work related trip and my colleagues and I cant express how much we enjoyed this hotel along with one of the best staff team I have ever seen! I wish I could name them all because they all deserve a special shout out but these are the people who definitely helped us make this a great trip. Berndatte, Carvile and Dane in the gift shops were awesome, they helped me pick out some great gifts and gave me great laughs along the way. defintely visit Oswald the cheif he'll make you a killer burger, Kediesha, chantel and danielle at the restaraunt and bar were great, always happy to help and remember you by name and drink of choice! Jeffery the bell hop was excellent help, he took my bags and made sure everything was delivered to where it needed to go with ease. Last but not least DEFINITELY find Leonard the waiter at the pull, his up beat personality can bring life to any party and he made the pool a blast for everyone in site. Thanks to the entire staff for making this trip one of my best! keep up the good work

Room Tip: Every Room is awesome, rooms by the pool are great if you like to have people around
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Montego Bay is a long way from Edinburgh in Scotland and our expectations of this holiday (vacation) were high; we were not disappointed. From the moment our taxi pulled up at the door, it was obvious that we were going to have a wonderful time.

We had booked a room in the Preferred Club and we did not even have to go through the regular Reception Desk to check-in; the doorman had a list of expected guests and instantly knew to take us over to the dedicated Preferred Club Reception where we were given a glass of 'champagne' whilst we were taken through the details of our stay and then escorted to our room.

The room itself was excellent with a huge bed (not sure if it was King sized or maybe bigger!) a lovely bathroom area including a Jacuzzi [type] tub a seating area and a balcony which had a double ended bath (they called it a soaking tub) on it. Best of all, not only did we have a Mini-Bar fridge, there were also bottles of Rum, Brandy and Vodka on top for us to enjoy (we asked and the vodka was replaced by Gin. Fantastic!).

We arrived at around 6 pm after 19 hours of travelling and so just wanted to get dinner and enjoy a nights sleep. Unfamiliar with the restaurant set-up, we walked up to the Blue Mountain (Jamaican) restaurant expecting to be seated immediately; we were a little taken aback to be told that we would have to wait up to an hour for a table, so chose to go to the one next door instead. The El Pateo (Mexican) was superb.

At breakfast in the morning we encountered the first negative of our stay. Much to our surprise in what aspires to be a 5 star resort, my wife was not given a pot when she asked for tea; instead she got a teabag and a cup of hot water. This turned out to be the way tea was served everywhere in the resort throughout our stay. Not good enough in our opinion.

The second issue we had was to do with the room we had been given and it took over 24 hours and a lot of hanging around before it was resolved. But eventually we were not only escorted to a new room, which was exactly what we wanted, but were told that we would receive the services of a Butler for the rest of our stay as we had been messed around.

Well, what can I say! The first of the team we met was Michael who took us to the room and explained that he and his colleagues were on call 24/7 and gave us a mobile phone with which to call them, anytime. As we were there principally to relax, we didn't make too much use of the service, but the team booked us the best available table at our choice of restaurant each evening and escorted us from our room to it, skipping those having to queue at the desk.

My wife celebrated her birthday during our stay (the main reason we were there) and I quietly asked Michael if he could organise something special. He certainly did! Breakfast - with a bottle of 'champagne' - was delivered to our room on the special morning. When we returned from relaxing on the beach, he had arrange a cake, another bottle of bubbly and had run my wife a bath with candles and rose petals! Dinner that evening was in the Bordeaux Restaurant (French) and was quite superb.

The entertainment at the resort is less intrusive than others we've stayed at, but was not really what we enjoy; the music was very good though. It was a little disappointing to be served drinks in plastic cups though; it looked as though they simply didn't have enough glasses. Again, very poor for an aspiring 5 star resort.

The location of the Wild Orchid is on a beautiful west facing beach and the Preferred Club has exclusive use of the best bit of it. Friendly staff are on hand to fetch you drinks from the bar all day, there are lifeguards on duty - just in case you get in to trouble swimming in the warm Caribbean Sea (not really likely) - and there was no shortage of sun-loungers or towels.

Dining each evening was fantastic. The Portofino (Italian) and Himitsu (Asian) being particularly good (the latter's Teppanyaki table is fantastic entertainment as well as great food!). The bars were excellent too, although it took us until 2 days before we left to find the Lobby bar where we were entertained by Geoffery the barman; seek it out on day one! And of course, one of the features of the Preferred Club is the open bar with plenty of quality spirits on offer, and all-day finger food (and a decent help-yourself breakfast).

Everything in the resort worked just fine, but for some where a little over 3 years old, some of the building and furniture was a little 'shabby'. Didn't spoil the holiday but could be better. One thing about the resort (and Montego Bay/Jamaica in general) which did confuse us is that everything is priced in US$; we were all primed for converting from GBP to (and had taken) JA$. Don't, take US$ if you're going.

Every member of staff we met - and other people we met when we went out of the resort - were without exception very friendly. But our time at the Wild Orchid was made a truly memorable stay by having the services of the Butlers Michael, Refaneta and Dalton, each of whom went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. Thank you guys! (I believe you can book their services in advance and if you want an unforgettable holiday, do it!)

Room Tip: If you value privacy, ask not to be put in a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Secrets Wild Orchid & St. James in Montego Bay is wonderful! We had a destination wedding there. We had 22 guests attend our wedding. Our family and friends stayed on the St. James side. We stayed in the Wild Orchid Preferred Club. The wedding coordinators- Rocio & Simone were fabulous- very professional and helpful. Rocio was so calming and really helped the day go smoothly. The ceremony was wonderful. Terrence- the minister, was funny and kept us both calm and relaxed. The photographer and videographer (Tony & Oscar) were the best. They took great shots of us and the video is wonderful. The video is well put together and has the music we wanted in the background. The food at the wedding was delicious. Everyone loved it! We had the buffet. The DJ was also great- I think his name was DJ Blue. We sent a list of all the songs we wanted and he played them all! My sister and I went to the Spa for our makeup and hair. Evette did a wonderful job on my hair and make up! I was very happy and pleased with her work. Joyce did my sister's hair and makeup and it was also beautifully done. Our wedding was perfect! Better than I ever could have imagined!

The resort itself is beautiful. All the restaurants are excellent. Our favorites were HIMITSU (Asian Hibachi) and Bordeaux (French Cuisine). At Bordeaux there is a strict dress code- men must wear long pants and shirts with sleeves. They must also wear closed toed shoes. With our group we found that it was very difficult to get seating for a large group. The breakfast buffet was great. They also had Mimosas and Bloody Mary's ready before you went in and sat down. The food here is great! In the Preferred Club it was nice to have access to snacks and the bar. Room service is available 24/7. The fried provolone was amazing. One order include 2 pieces. The club sandwich was good as well. The food is really good. You will not starve! The drinks are also delicious. We enjoyed the Rum Runners, Rum Punch, Bob Marley, Miami Vice, and of course Red Stripe!

You must try the Jerk Chicken. It was delicious! The best jerk chicken I've ever had. There is a cart in the early afternoon. There is also a cart with fresh fruit and coconuts.

The rooms were nice. The bed was comfortable and the Jacuzzi was nice to relax in. Our view from our balcony was beautiful. We didn't get a chance to use the Jacuzzi on our balcony. The room was always tidy and clean when we returned. The TV shows were great. We got to watch Friends, Seinfeld, sports, and the news.

The pools and beach were great. We spent most of our time on the St. James side since that's where our family was. The pools and beach on that side are more loud and lively. The swim up bar on the Wild Orchid side was great. They guys there made great shots and were very entertaining!

We were able to go on the snorkeling tour at the resort. It was fun- there was a big group of us and they provide all the equipment. It is a long tour so make sure you wear a life jacket. It was tiring even with one on. We did not get to kayak, but our family members did and had fun.

The entertainment was great. We hung out a lot at the Piano bar. That was very nice. The outside stage had live music- PACE band and other performers. We attended the talent show and that was great. First place receives a few nights free on a return trip! We made friends with one of the workers from the Entertainment team- Inches. He was a lot of fun and greatly added to our experience at the resort. We also invited him to our wedding. We had a great time with him!

We were able to do one excursion- Dunn's River Falls and Swimming with Dolphins. That was so much fun! I would highly recommend this excursion. The Falls were not hard to climb. Bring water shoes or you can buy them on the way to the Falls for $10. If you plan on doing this excursion I would buy a waterproof camera and bring it to Jamaica. The camera we purchased in Jamaica was not good quality and broke before the roll was finished. If you go to Dolphin Cove for swimming with the dolphins you have to ask someone to swim with the sting rays. We did not get a chance to go on the small boats or kayak.

Tips are highly appreciated in Jamaica. I would suggest that you bring down a lot of small bills. We heard from family members that the ATM surcharge was very high.

We signed up for Club Mobay at the airport. I would highly suggest doing this if you are flying out on a busy day. We left on Saturday and it was very busy. If you sign up and buy Club Mobay you get to bypass the security line and there is a nice lounge with food, drinks, bathroom, and a Spa. The only thing to keep in mind is the time of your flight and when it will board. They did not announce this in Club Mobay and we were the last two people to board our flight home!

Overall, our trip to Secrets St. James/Wild Orchid was the best! The people of Jamaica are so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return! You will not be sorry if you come to this resort. It is well worth it. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher has a nice view. The first floor rooms in Wild Orchid Preferred Club have acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great resort and value for the money. This was our first time doing all inclusive and there is a good selection of choices for any palate. There is a small area for shopping and a mini casino on sight. There is also a place to register for excursions. We did the horseback riding, we even got to go in the water with the horses. Nightlife, there is a small club like area for dancing. The beaches are gorgeous. Nice calm, clear water great for relaxing.

All in all, we had a good time, would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.