We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Save Saved
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Nights!
Ranked #11 of 63 hotels in Montego Bay
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Montego Bay is a long way from Edinburgh in Scotland and our expectations of this holiday (vacation) were high; we were not disappointed. From the moment our taxi pulled up at the door, it was obvious that we were going to have a wonderful time.

We had booked a room in the Preferred Club and we did not even have to go through the regular Reception Desk to check-in; the doorman had a list of expected guests and instantly knew to take us over to the dedicated Preferred Club Reception where we were given a glass of 'champagne' whilst we were taken through the details of our stay and then escorted to our room.

The room itself was excellent with a huge bed (not sure if it was King sized or maybe bigger!) a lovely bathroom area including a Jacuzzi [type] tub a seating area and a balcony which had a double ended bath (they called it a soaking tub) on it. Best of all, not only did we have a Mini-Bar fridge, there were also bottles of Rum, Brandy and Vodka on top for us to enjoy (we asked and the vodka was replaced by Gin. Fantastic!).

We arrived at around 6 pm after 19 hours of travelling and so just wanted to get dinner and enjoy a nights sleep. Unfamiliar with the restaurant set-up, we walked up to the Blue Mountain (Jamaican) restaurant expecting to be seated immediately; we were a little taken aback to be told that we would have to wait up to an hour for a table, so chose to go to the one next door instead. The El Pateo (Mexican) was superb.

At breakfast in the morning we encountered the first negative of our stay. Much to our surprise in what aspires to be a 5 star resort, my wife was not given a pot when she asked for tea; instead she got a teabag and a cup of hot water. This turned out to be the way tea was served everywhere in the resort throughout our stay. Not good enough in our opinion.

The second issue we had was to do with the room we had been given and it took over 24 hours and a lot of hanging around before it was resolved. But eventually we were not only escorted to a new room, which was exactly what we wanted, but were told that we would receive the services of a Butler for the rest of our stay as we had been messed around.

Well, what can I say! The first of the team we met was Michael who took us to the room and explained that he and his colleagues were on call 24/7 and gave us a mobile phone with which to call them, anytime. As we were there principally to relax, we didn't make too much use of the service, but the team booked us the best available table at our choice of restaurant each evening and escorted us from our room to it, skipping those having to queue at the desk.

My wife celebrated her birthday during our stay (the main reason we were there) and I quietly asked Michael if he could organise something special. He certainly did! Breakfast - with a bottle of 'champagne' - was delivered to our room on the special morning. When we returned from relaxing on the beach, he had arrange a cake, another bottle of bubbly and had run my wife a bath with candles and rose petals! Dinner that evening was in the Bordeaux Restaurant (French) and was quite superb.

The entertainment at the resort is less intrusive than others we've stayed at, but was not really what we enjoy; the music was very good though. It was a little disappointing to be served drinks in plastic cups though; it looked as though they simply didn't have enough glasses. Again, very poor for an aspiring 5 star resort.

The location of the Wild Orchid is on a beautiful west facing beach and the Preferred Club has exclusive use of the best bit of it. Friendly staff are on hand to fetch you drinks from the bar all day, there are lifeguards on duty - just in case you get in to trouble swimming in the warm Caribbean Sea (not really likely) - and there was no shortage of sun-loungers or towels.

Dining each evening was fantastic. The Portofino (Italian) and Himitsu (Asian) being particularly good (the latter's Teppanyaki table is fantastic entertainment as well as great food!). The bars were excellent too, although it took us until 2 days before we left to find the Lobby bar where we were entertained by Geoffery the barman; seek it out on day one! And of course, one of the features of the Preferred Club is the open bar with plenty of quality spirits on offer, and all-day finger food (and a decent help-yourself breakfast).

Everything in the resort worked just fine, but for some where a little over 3 years old, some of the building and furniture was a little 'shabby'. Didn't spoil the holiday but could be better. One thing about the resort (and Montego Bay/Jamaica in general) which did confuse us is that everything is priced in US$; we were all primed for converting from GBP to (and had taken) JA$. Don't, take US$ if you're going.

Every member of staff we met - and other people we met when we went out of the resort - were without exception very friendly. But our time at the Wild Orchid was made a truly memorable stay by having the services of the Butlers Michael, Refaneta and Dalton, each of whom went out of their way to make sure we enjoyed ourselves. Thank you guys! (I believe you can book their services in advance and if you want an unforgettable holiday, do it!)

Room Tip: If you value privacy, ask not to be put in a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,073
    803
    302
    109
    56
See reviews for
167
2378
51
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Secrets Wild Orchid & St. James in Montego Bay is wonderful! We had a destination wedding there. We had 22 guests attend our wedding. Our family and friends stayed on the St. James side. We stayed in the Wild Orchid Preferred Club. The wedding coordinators- Rocio & Simone were fabulous- very professional and helpful. Rocio was so calming and really helped the day go smoothly. The ceremony was wonderful. Terrence- the minister, was funny and kept us both calm and relaxed. The photographer and videographer (Tony & Oscar) were the best. They took great shots of us and the video is wonderful. The video is well put together and has the music we wanted in the background. The food at the wedding was delicious. Everyone loved it! We had the buffet. The DJ was also great- I think his name was DJ Blue. We sent a list of all the songs we wanted and he played them all! My sister and I went to the Spa for our makeup and hair. Evette did a wonderful job on my hair and make up! I was very happy and pleased with her work. Joyce did my sister's hair and makeup and it was also beautifully done. Our wedding was perfect! Better than I ever could have imagined!

The resort itself is beautiful. All the restaurants are excellent. Our favorites were HIMITSU (Asian Hibachi) and Bordeaux (French Cuisine). At Bordeaux there is a strict dress code- men must wear long pants and shirts with sleeves. They must also wear closed toed shoes. With our group we found that it was very difficult to get seating for a large group. The breakfast buffet was great. They also had Mimosas and Bloody Mary's ready before you went in and sat down. The food here is great! In the Preferred Club it was nice to have access to snacks and the bar. Room service is available 24/7. The fried provolone was amazing. One order include 2 pieces. The club sandwich was good as well. The food is really good. You will not starve! The drinks are also delicious. We enjoyed the Rum Runners, Rum Punch, Bob Marley, Miami Vice, and of course Red Stripe!

You must try the Jerk Chicken. It was delicious! The best jerk chicken I've ever had. There is a cart in the early afternoon. There is also a cart with fresh fruit and coconuts.

The rooms were nice. The bed was comfortable and the Jacuzzi was nice to relax in. Our view from our balcony was beautiful. We didn't get a chance to use the Jacuzzi on our balcony. The room was always tidy and clean when we returned. The TV shows were great. We got to watch Friends, Seinfeld, sports, and the news.

The pools and beach were great. We spent most of our time on the St. James side since that's where our family was. The pools and beach on that side are more loud and lively. The swim up bar on the Wild Orchid side was great. They guys there made great shots and were very entertaining!

We were able to go on the snorkeling tour at the resort. It was fun- there was a big group of us and they provide all the equipment. It is a long tour so make sure you wear a life jacket. It was tiring even with one on. We did not get to kayak, but our family members did and had fun.

The entertainment was great. We hung out a lot at the Piano bar. That was very nice. The outside stage had live music- PACE band and other performers. We attended the talent show and that was great. First place receives a few nights free on a return trip! We made friends with one of the workers from the Entertainment team- Inches. He was a lot of fun and greatly added to our experience at the resort. We also invited him to our wedding. We had a great time with him!

We were able to do one excursion- Dunn's River Falls and Swimming with Dolphins. That was so much fun! I would highly recommend this excursion. The Falls were not hard to climb. Bring water shoes or you can buy them on the way to the Falls for $10. If you plan on doing this excursion I would buy a waterproof camera and bring it to Jamaica. The camera we purchased in Jamaica was not good quality and broke before the roll was finished. If you go to Dolphin Cove for swimming with the dolphins you have to ask someone to swim with the sting rays. We did not get a chance to go on the small boats or kayak.

Tips are highly appreciated in Jamaica. I would suggest that you bring down a lot of small bills. We heard from family members that the ATM surcharge was very high.

We signed up for Club Mobay at the airport. I would highly suggest doing this if you are flying out on a busy day. We left on Saturday and it was very busy. If you sign up and buy Club Mobay you get to bypass the security line and there is a nice lounge with food, drinks, bathroom, and a Spa. The only thing to keep in mind is the time of your flight and when it will board. They did not announce this in Club Mobay and we were the last two people to board our flight home!

Overall, our trip to Secrets St. James/Wild Orchid was the best! The people of Jamaica are so friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return! You will not be sorry if you come to this resort. It is well worth it. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor or higher has a nice view. The first floor rooms in Wild Orchid Preferred Club have acces...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This is a great resort and value for the money. This was our first time doing all inclusive and there is a good selection of choices for any palate. There is a small area for shopping and a mini casino on sight. There is also a place to register for excursions. We did the horseback riding, we even got to go in the water with the horses. Nightlife, there is a small club like area for dancing. The beaches are gorgeous. Nice calm, clear water great for relaxing.

All in all, we had a good time, would go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Wild Orchid is a wonderful place. The food is great (super selection for every meal) and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. Our Butler Dalton made our stay so enjoyable and worry free. Every staff member encountered was smiling and ready to help. There is food and drink (including café mochas) available at every turn. Ours was a family vacation and we are already planning a return trip in the near future. It was love at first sight.

Room Tip: The swim up rooms are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We had a group of 60+ individuals at this resort for a 4-day conference. Great staff, great views and clean! Absolutely loved the fact that there was a guy rolling around a cart in the afternoon with fresh off the grill Jerk Chicken. And at the beach, they had these small all you can eat beef patties. I also took a Jerk Chicken cooking class where Hanif showed us exactly how to cook and Sparks gave us a language tutorial on Patwa.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

There is not one thing I could say bad about this resort it really is amazing!!! Me and my boyfriend stayed here 6/11/13 - 21/11/13. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty, staff couldn't do enough!! Got to our room and we were not disappointed. Very clean, modern, huge comfy bed, tv, clean bathroom with a jacuzzi hot tub couldn't conplain about a single thing. Rooms cleaned daily and sheets changed daily, every night you get a little news letter to tell you things going on each day which was a nice touch. If you order room service you can request for it to be delivered into the privacy box which is really good if you want to stay in private. The restaurants were all beautiful!! All clean and amazing food! The Himitsu restutant was our favorite ! All staff was lovely and polite and really couldn't do enough for us!! Our favorite would definalty be Stacey at breakfast!! Always there to greet us and bring us my boyfriends favorite coffee!! She was lovely and we were both sad to say goodbye!! We tried every restutant and the food staff cleanliness were all 5*! We also tried the jerk chicken cart nearly everyday only thing I can say is amazing! Fresh jerk chicken brought to you what more do you want?! The restort has a few bars and each are really nice!! We liked the piano bar of a evening which got busy on a night with a great atmosphere. I can't say enough about this hotel and it's staff we will defiantly be returning! 2 weeks of pure relaxation. The only thing I could complain about it the prices of the spa were ridiculous!! We always have. A massage when we go away but the prices for just a hour massage were way to expensive there wasn't a treatment reasonably priced which we were disappointed about. Overall we had a amazing holiday it was perfect we've missed it since the moment we got home!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I must admit I liked the unexpected greeting from the bellman "welcome home" and the glass of rum punch while checking in with Renae. Everyone is so friendly. We made friends quickly with the concierges Antoinette and Kimberly and Bernadette who manages the gift shop. The bartenders at the Sugar Reef bar are the best especially Alvin. He had no problem making my special request "lemon drop" martini. The beach is beautiful. They have plenty of chairs at the pool and beach areas. This is a big resort since both Wild Orchid and St James are on the same property and share restaurants, pools and bars. If you like coffee you must stop at CoCo's. They make the best hot and cold coffee. I'll even compare it to Starbucks. Don't miss the Jamaican Jerk chicken cart. The cart/cook comes out about 11 am and is out on the sidewalk between the beach and poolside. It's delicious! If you are used to a lobby that you walk in and it overlooks the ocean ...well this resort is not set-up like that. It's very closed-end. The rooms themselves are very nice. I have no complaints about accommodations, except you cannot change the temperature in the room. That was a problem for me since I like to sleep with the room cold. The bed is comfortable and I loved the pillows.
I did like the outdoor stage area and the entertainment particularly the steel band. They were incredible. Don't forget shopping on Hip Street. And ask the concierges to get Lincoln with Juta as your private driver. He took us shopping and he took us on a day trip to Negril. He was great and we were very comfortable with him especially since we were a mother and daughter traveling alone.

Room Tip: This resort has 5 levels. We were in room 2533. You must keep the curtains closed during the day whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.