We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Adult Resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
South Park Township, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Great Adult Resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Was looking for a Great Resort with no kids and found one here...Room and room service was excellent. We were in the Preferred Presidential Suite and my Children and there spouses were in Junior Suites...All the views were perfect, and we loved the fact that we weren't bothered by people walking the beach soliciting. Very quiet and private in our area. Very clean and lots of helpful people... Loved the Jerk chicken everyday which was served from a cart// real deal!
Lots of restaurants to choose from however the Freshest was the Hibachi..
Will definitely be returning...one slight no so good would have to be that the food, while looking wonderful, did not always have great flavor...a small token from really a Super resort.!! .

Room Tip: Preferred area is nice if you like it a little more quiet...all other areas are open to all so you c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,256
    850
    311
    113
    58
See reviews for
188
2,533
57
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Ar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

My wife and I stayed 6 nts. at SWO Nov. 6-12, 2013. We have stayed at many other 4-5 star all-adults, all-inclusive resorts, including one other Secrets resort, and we travel frequently to the Caribbean with our family. We both agreed this resort offered an overall wonderful experience. We would definitely return. The complex, beach, food, drinks, and activities were all outstanding, but the people really make this place---the vibe and friendliness of the staff makes your stay so enjoyable. We would recommend this resort to our family and fiiends without hesitation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingman, Arizona, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The resort was a great place for a relaxing and entertaining honeymoon! We went the week of Nov. 10-16 and stayed in a Preferred Junior Ocean Suite.

The room was very comfortable. The bed was so nice and we both slept great every night that we were there. The view from the balcony was incredible and it was so nice to wake up to every morning! The cleaning staff and turndown staff left the room so clean and put together every day. When we ran out of shower gel, the room service to deliver it was very quick. We also got a champagne breakfast as a complimentary honeymoon gift and it was delivered exactly when we asked for it and it tasted awesome! The employee who delivered it was quick and friendly and quickly laid out the meal and departed so that we could enjoy it. The bathtub has jets and it was nice after a day of kayaking. There is also a soaking tub on the balcony and it was nice to rinse the salt water off after a day at the beach.

The food is delicious. The breakfast buffet has so many options and they are all delicious, plus you can get a bloody mary or mimosa while you wait to be seated (which never takes more than 5 minutes, but we did get there at about 8am every day). The lunch options are all on the beach and only require that you cover up your bathing suit or put on a shirt to eat. They offer simple and quick foods. For dinner, there are 5 options that are all located near the outdoor and indoor stages where the nightly entertainment is located. There are about 4-5 choices at each dinner restaurant for entrees and about 2-3 for appetizers, salads, soups, and desserts. We really enjoyed the pumpkin soup at the Jamaican restaurant, the jerk chicken at any restaurant, and the dessert everywhere! If you are a super super picky eater, you may not find something at every restaurant, but there is a central location where they keep all of the menus, so you can go find something that you like before you head to the restaurants.

The staff was very helpful and incredibly friendly! They were always willing to help you with whatever you needed and not once did they ask for a tip (the only one who did that was the shuttle driver from the airport - and we were okay with it because we planned on tipping him anyway). They were always willing to answer questions or direct you to the correct place to get your questions answered and their response when thanked was always "no problem mon" or "no worries". They were always smiling and making us feel at home. Never once did we feel like we were inconveniencing them to ask for help.

The spa was very relaxing and offered a wide variety of services. They are a little pricey and that is not included in the all-expense paid amount; but they offered coupons and discounts throughout our stay which made the prices more reasonable.

The beach and pool were incredibly beautiful. The preferred section of the resort is much more relaxed and quiet than the non-preferred section. There was always a waiter/waitress walking around to get you drinks, so you didn't have to get up if you were patient enough to wait the 15-30 minutes for them to make another trip around. After the first morning, we got down to the beach at about 8-8:30 in order to get a good spot. There were not a ton of people, but there were these open beds and sphere-shaped beds that we loved (shade for me and none for my husband because he never burns!) so we wanted to make sure that we could get them. Even the few days that we slept late, we still got great beach spots, just not the beds. Most of the lounge chairs have umbrellas over them anyway, so there really wasn't a bad spot. As for the pool, it looked great, but we never actually got into it. We are more of beach people anyway.

We took part in the non-motorized and free sports. We went kayaking one day and it was as simple as walking into sports hut and asking for a kayak. They gave us a waiver to sign and then showed us to the boats and let us loose! We had a great time taking pictures and paddling around the bay looking for fish! The water is so clear and when the sun shines, you can see fish and reefs all the way to the bottom even when you are far out in the bay! We also went snorkeling on the guided snorkeling tour. You can go on your won as well, but we wanted to see the highlights that they knew of and I'd never been before, so we thought it best that we went in a group. The group was about 10-12 people and there were 2 guides. They swam in front to keep everybody on the same path, but they also pointed out certain sights. They picked up and showed us live sand dollars and female sea urchins and taught us about them. They also made sure that they pointed out cool underwater reefs and fish and then when we swam over a shark, they made sure everybody got to see it! It was a nurse shark and the one guide actually took our underwater video camera and dove down to get it on film for us! There are a lot of other sports to take part in there, but we just chose to spend most of the time with each other relaxing instead of being involved in a ton of activities.

Overall, if we ever went back to Jamaica, we would most definitely stay in this resort or another Secrets Resort if we decided to explore another area of Jamaica! Great hotel, fantastic food, incredible staff, and beautiful views! It was an amazing honeymoon!

Room Tip: Preferred area is more relaxing and quiet (beach and pool), non-preferred is more of a party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beautiful resort, sketchy details on resort vouchers. Room service 24 hours great snacks. Watch the greeting before you know it you realize unlimited luxury is a brand not what u necessarily get. Nice stay, didn't ruin my vacation.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Beach 3/5
There are some rocky parts and it is very narrow, not a lot of actual beach area. It certainly isn't the highlight at this resort. You could see the planes coming in and out of Montego Bay, but couldn't hear them.

Pool(s) 4+/5
Featured a swim up bar, lots of chairs, umbrellas, floaties. There was a sunny side and a more shaded side. Music could be loud at times.

Rooms 4+/5
Spacious, modern décor, Jacuzzi tub, double sinks, "do not disturb" light, digital safe and secret box for room service dishes. There was only a curtain between the bed and the bath area. Elevators (5 floors). 24hr room service. Slipper in room

Fitness n/a

Spa n/a
It was certainly cheaper than Red Lane Spa (Sandals/Beaches)

Dining 4+/5
3 omelette stations at breakfast. Good variety of a la cartes and NO reservations (other than teppanyaki grill).

Other:
There were a variety of ages at this resort. It was not stuffy at all. All the action and most of the restaurants were at the Wild Orchid side. It was quieter at the St. James side. Friendly, attentive service. You do have to pay for internet, unless you stay in a preferred club room. It was $15/day. Great themed activities, as we were there over Halloween. We would certainly return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This place was beautifully fantastic! Attended a sports & entertainment law conference for 5 days and the amenities were awesome. The service was incredible and the staff is amazing. Party Leo serving guests in the hottub in a tuxedo was hilarious, and Fresh Prince and his dance moves were killer. Highly recommend this place, even if you're not getting married or on your honeymoon!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

This was a awesome trip. Everything about it was wonderful. For the people who say they had bad service here, must be impossible to please. We were treated like freakin royalty. Beautiful beach, excellent food and entertainment. Def will go back!

Room Tip: Preferred club rooms..we stayed in 1401 which is top for a great view and privacy yet easy access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.