We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice break with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A nice break with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

First time in Jamaica, and what a great hotel to stay in. Me and the wife are vegans, so we checked this with the hotel before booking. They don't have many vegan options on the menus, but on our first day we met with the Executive Chef and he put a dining plan together for us which ensured that we got to try every restaurant. The food was excellent. If you have a food allergy or are on a special diet do speak with the hotel about it, don't just hope for the best.

All the staff (ok, there was one on the front desk who was a little moody) were friendly and cheerful. The attention to detail was what you would expect from an exclusive boutique hotel, not a resort of this size.

We had preferred club access and it is worth it. Quiet pool and beach. There was too much going on at the main pool area, I'm more Club Pipe and Slippers than Club 18-30 nowadays.

Too many individuals to list here helped ensured that our stay went without a hitch.

And after the flight there it was great to be somewhere child free. Now if only the airlines would do that....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,734
    997
    351
    130
    65
See reviews for
252
2,964
76
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,607)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Myself and my other half stayed here for 10 days last month and the only down full was, that we didn't stay long enough! This holiday which we ended up calling 'holymoon' (everyone was on there honeymoon) was the most incredible holiday we have had!

We was staying in the Preferred Club part which we thought was defiantly worth the extra money. Stunning grounds, delicious food, beautiful room and the most amazing staff! The hotel is super clean and tidy with a fantastic beach stretch and pool areas and idealic grounds.

Big shout out to the staff there who made our 'holymoon' even more amazing... Chantel, Nalini, Sharol, Joseph, Jeffery I could go on and name them all!

Were 10000000% returning next year!

Jasmine and Lewis

Room Tip: 1203 stunning room!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Just returned from our 2nd trip to SWO, both times stayed in PC (worth it; premium drinks always at hand in the Lobby and great continental breakfast/light snacks all day and night). This was our 9th time staying at a Secrets Resort shared between Mexico and Jamaica. We just love SWO and the terrific top notch service and staff. Because we were VIPs, we were upgraded to a swim out suite - it was really nice but we didn't spend much time swimming outside of our room, as it wasn't very private and people can see in your swim out area/room while walking past). We had friends who had a Junior Suite on the 4th floor and their rooms were a little smaller than ours. That seemed to be the only difference in the actual room. btw.. The Wild Orchid side of the resort is closer to the restaurants and entertainment.

The outside entertainment stage and Piano bar location on the Wild Orchid side provided a magnificent setting with the sunset and mountain view as background. Many of the Secrets resorts don't have this type of setting, so pretty. Every night the show is held at this location (weather permitting). Loved the view and entertainment!

The grounds are beautiful and well maintained , the hammocks are relaxing. Don't forget the Coffee/cappuccino bar (Open all day and until 11PM), Saturday night Lobster night, the Jerk Chicken guys at the beach every day are a MUST, Surf and Turf at Bordeaux and Prawn Risotto at Portofino was soo good. (next time I will order just the prawn risotto in a large dinner portion). Breakfast buffet is the BEST and the waiters occasionally sing while you eat. On the weekends a Jamaican Trio plays while you enter thru the door way. Oceana restaurant - good 'create your own' wraps, Barefoot bar with fresh potato chips, burgers - so convenient to 'Grab and Go' and head back to your beach chair.

During the day at the pool/beach the Entertainment Staff does a nice job trying to create fun things to do (thank to Tia Maria and 'Bon Joni') - They have Tye Dye days where you can customize and purchase a Tshirt or skirt. (if you have little ones, bring their size T-shirt and they can probably tye dye that for you to bring home?).

They have free catamarans you can take out on your own, BUT if you want to head into the water with a guide to sail the Hobie cat, it's $20 and well worth it! This allows you to sit back and enjoy the ride and view from the water.

The Spa is beautiful and go an hour before to enjoy the complimentary Hydrotherapy water Treatment. (Stephanie the massage therapist was WONDERFUL). Yoga by the water in the AM and PM (Monday through Friday) - great! Again only Monday through Friday, you can take a free 3 mile guided Bike tour from the resort to a Jamaican outside vendor mart if you're up for getting off the resort for a couple of hours and bartering with the locals on their hand made goods.

We totally enjoyed this vacation. You can find fun/active things to do during the day and also opt. to relax in a quiet-tucked away spot anywhere on the resort 'Jamaican style' with 'NO-Problem' - We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Room selection: go higher and above the palm trees. You will have fresh ice in your room daily, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We would like to say big thank to all hotel staff for those 10 fantastic days we spent in Secrets Wild Orchid! The organisation and accomodation were on the high level. All hotel staff was very kind, smily, always ready to help. The beach is fantastic - pure white sand, shiny sun and emerald green water of Carribean sea (BTW we stayed in preferred club, separate beach). A special thanks to Minevra for her professionality and kindness! Shmatov Family.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in the Preferred Wild Orchid - private pool and beach - wonderful. someone always around to take drink orders and provide wonderfully cold face towels to cool off on super hot days. Food in every a la carte restaurant was creatively presented and tasted great. We ate at El Patio (Mexican), Blue Mountain (Jamaican), Portofino (Italian), Bordeaux (French), Oceana (wraps), World Cafe (buffet breakfast, lunch and Saturday Surf & Turf night), Himitsu (Japanese) and the Jerk Chicken man who comes onto the resort grounds daily.

Resort pics are NOT photo shopped - resort looks just as it does in pictures.

Entertainment - fantastic - not performed by staff members but by local live bands and talent (steel pan drums and trapeze artists).

Beautiful grounds kept very clean - concierge and staff very helpful. Concierge booked my spa appointments for me and reserved the spa taxi to pick me up.

Breakfast buffet - lots of different food available; mimosa's met us every morning on the way into breakfast..

Preferred lounge - great food everyday and PREMIUM alcohol.

Room Tip: Book preferred if you like peace and quiet and beautiful rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

First Anniversary,Husbands Birthday and Our BabyMoon!!! Tried visiting a different hotel in Ocho Rios after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor. Literally had a nervous breakdown upon arrival. IE... Jamaica INN!! wasn't what I expected, personally it's time for a renovation. The staff was great but Inn not so to me. Arrived on Sun at Secrets on Monday to spend the rest of our 6ngt vacay. Secrets Saved my vacation and was better price for the EXCELLENT service we received for a great price at last min. The was my second time here. I new to go back because this was where we spent our Honeymoon!!!! Thanks Secrets for Making This a memorable Vacay. Also, Osanie in the HImitsu restaurant was the Best! :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

booked this secrets hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor. Was worried as it sounded amazing but you never quite know until you get there. we need not have worried form the moment we arrived we were blown away. staff were excellent and so friendly across all levels from the gardeners, lifeguards, restuarant,house keeping and reception staff. nothing was too much trouble.
the room was amazing really clean and maid service was excellent. Even when we unfortunately had a leak from our jacuzzi bath which half flooded the room. the room looked as if nothing had happen when we returned.
The restuarant were all really good our least favourite was Portofino but we were probably being a little over critical.
Overall our experience was amazing. We would definitely return and would recommend secrets wild orchid to anyone wanting to visits Jamaica

Room Tip: I would go for the preferred rooms they are a bit nicer nearer the restuarants and have a nice loung...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.