We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“But rowdy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“But rowdy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Perhaps my expectations were too high. Found it very noisy especially as our apartment was around large pool area. We did upgrade to preferred area which was a blessing as it was totally chilled. Staff were amazing couldn't do enough and always had big smiles and a song....food was great, especially lobster night. Entertainment was good but bit samey for two weeks. We went up to bob marleys house which was fab but 2.5 drive so be prepared. Rooms were lovely, modern and comfortable and bed was excellent. We tipped a lot but don't think it's necessary. Thank you Joseph and Clive ...hey Sean a little bit of reggae in the background to keep you rocking !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,173
    828
    305
    111
    57
See reviews for
181
2,457
55
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Washington, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our stay at Secrets Wilid Orchid in Montego Bay was amazing to say the least. There was only one negative which I will touch on later. My fiance and I went for my birthday. We checked in with ease we were greeted with cold towels and champagne. The front desk worker Shameika is amazing so pleasant and helpful. All my request were granted per our booking. We requested a high floor room we stayed in the main building in room 2401 (on the 4th floor) Great View! along with our room keys and welcolme pack we received a "Sundial" which is the DAILY paper that lists all activities and things going on at the resort (GREAT IDEA) less need to call and ask those questions. The bell man took our luggage up to the room and we got settled in within a short amount of time. The overall resort was beautiful. The lobby bar was also very entertaining. The pool was great and our fav bartender was Alvin at the pool bar. The wait staff at the pool came around to serve you drinks in the water too! We did do the Braco Horseback Ride n' Swim Excursion and it was a lot of fun! We def enjoyed breakfast at the World Cafe' (Stacy Ann) worked the omlette station and she was very entertaining. We ate at the Mexican Resturant "El Patio" and the World Cafe',Oceana, Seaside Grill. We only went off the resort once for dinner at the Seawind Club an it was amazing! Our waiter Andrew was a great time and very punctual. The food there was good as well. The live band was outside on the patio of the piano bar nightly and that was nice as well. This was a adults only resort which in the case since we dont have kids was great!!

Activities:

-Beach Party was so fun! They had a DJ and food with drinks!


SPA DAY: we scheduled a couples massage at the spa and HAYDIEN was so amazing she had a great personality and she made you feel like royalty she even took pictures while we were enjoying the hydrotherapy circuit before our massage so that we can savor the memories!

BIRTHDAY SERVICES: They put a Happy Birthday banner on our room door which was nice and he scheduled a champange breakfast delivered to the room as well as a bottle of champagne with rose petals on the bed and fruit platter (Shameika helped him put together these suprises) **She went above and beyond to make us feel special**

**privacy light (great idea vs. the sign on the door knob) located right by the bed so you can flip the switch if you do not want to be bothered!

--Jet tub in the bathroom was a nice touch as well

****Negative Experience:
***PATRICK (WAITER AT PORTOFINO) was terrible he treated us like weren't even there so I got up and spoke to the manager DIANA and she was EQUALLY as rude! I was VERY dissapointed with the service at this resturant!

They also offered iPad rentals for $25 a day so you can access wifi and make calls international and local.

The staff at secrets wild orchid treated us like royalty and it was just the best vacation so far this year -- I would def go back to this resort again.

Check Out was smooth as well we checked out with the same person Shemeika.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2401 great room with great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay. Has all amenities you could think of. The food is top quality. Also, the service is the best in Jamaica. The highlight was the Japanese restaurant. Fantastic food. The beach is private, clean and relaxing. The jerk chicken cart is a nice gesture of keep coming back for me.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our stay at secrets resorts was awesome, we had a wonderful view of the ocean. Upon check-in, we were greeted with champagne and cold towels, the lobby was full so we waited to be checked in about 2 minutes. We were acknowledged by the front desk agent who gave us a smile and apologized for the wait. We were seated and Tihanna did our check-in( very professional with a beautiful smile) We gave her a hard time because we wanted to upgrade to the preferred club but she explained there were no rooms. We wanted a room on the first floor but also with a great view. She showed us 3 rooms but we did not like the view. We were offered an oceanfront but they had only double beds :(...Tihanna was very patient n listened to our every needs. She gave us a beautiful room on the 2nd floor, beautiful view. After we got our room, we went to eat, the restaurants at this hotel was very great,good staff n food. Entertainment was enough but we only went to relax. Our room wasn't cleaned one day and we went to the front desk and asked for our check-in lady. Tiahna called the maid and my room was immediately done. Thumbs up housekeeping. Overall great experience, great food n ALCOHOL. We are booking our next trip already.

Tip: at check in ask for Tihanna or another short lady, they knew the welcome kit and the property like the back of their hands and she was always smiling.

Room Tip: Ask for preferred club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We recently stayed in the Gran Bahia Principe in Runaway Bay. They had over booked their hotel and offered us to go to Secrets Wild Orchid in Montego Bay. We decided to do that as we have stayed at other Secrets and they are awesome. This was no different. The employees truly do try to make a connection with you and makes you feel at home. Food was amazing, entertainment was amazing, rooms and resort were amazing. Nothing bad to say...I highly recommend spending the extra and staying here if you truly want to be spoiled.....

Room Tip: No bad rooms that I saw
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Cee-lo the activity director is great!! Keeps the entire atmosphere exciting and really fun for everyone!!! The resort is awesome everyone is treated like a king and queen!!! Rooms are spotless, food is the best ever, the activities are great for everyone!! The drinks are non stop, top shelf and the staff keeps them coming continuously!!! They deliver them on the beach by the pool everywhere!!! The jerk chicken man has the best chicken in the world... Served hot and fresh every day!!! The beach is spotless and the water is a turquoise beautiful blue!!! Warm water sandy soft bottom!!! The sing around piano bar is so much fun and the piano player knows every song!!! The nightly entertainment of music and dancing and shows awesome!!! Best all exclusive resort that we ever stayed at, the staff was unbelievably kind and worked so hard and "welcomed us home" the first step on the resort !!! Everyone remembered our names and were unbelievably attentive to our needs!!! This is a resort with every food and top shelf drink you could want...paradise!!! My husband and I stayed there five days, not long enough we loved it and definitely will be back!!! We will tell all our friends to stay here!!! Thanks Cee-lo and Wild Orchid staff in Montego Bay Jamaica!!! Thanks for a great time!!! Lisa and Tom Dybata

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I recently spent a week at this resort Secret Wild Orchid beautiful property and great food but our checking in experience was the worst. We had a young lady Tiana check us in and right after we refused the upgrade by explaining based on reviews we don`t think it's worth it, this girl caught an attitude and we also asked for a higher floor after Tiana gave us a room on the 2nd floor she rolled her eyes and my husband decided just to take the room. When we got to the room we discovered the A/C was not working properly and there were no robes in the bathroom, we called down and guess who identified herself when the phone was answered .......yes Ms. Tiana I told her what issues we had she said the matter will be addressed and hung up the phone before I could respond to her , that was very rude. The next morning we went to the front desk to enquired about someone checking on the A/C and was told they were not aware there was an issue then it was repaired the next day it took two days.......my guess is Tiana has a lot of say so in Secret Wild Orchid so We would never stay with you guys again just because of this young lady.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;