We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING RESORT AND EVEN BETTER STAFF” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
MARYLAND
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“AMAZING RESORT AND EVEN BETTER STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

After staying at Secrets on April 23, 2013 I cannot imagine staying anyplace else. Before we arrived at the resort my husband and I had a situation that we needed taken care of. I called and emailed the resort to explain the situation. I was put in contact with Caulette and she went above and beyond to make sure we were taken care of. No need to go into detail about my problems, just know that if there are any concerns, problems or issues they will not only be addresses but they will be worked out. We stayed at Secrets for 9 days days of pure BLISS. The food is Excellent, The Staff is Attentive, Professional, and Fun. The Beach was nice as well. The entertainment was Excellent You never need to leave the resort. The jerk cart and fresh fruit cart were just a few of my favorites. Room service service and premium drinks 24/7. Imagine that. The Bellhops (Joseph) Concierge (Omar) World Cafe server the singing cowboy (Oraldo) what an amazing voice. The nature walk was excellent as well. This is an excellent resort because they have managed to hire Jamaica`s finest

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,402
    889
    319
    117
    60
See reviews for
202
2,651
60
125
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was a great vacation,some pro's some con's.We were greeted at airport for transfer great driver and very polite.Greeted with cool towel and cold drink when arriving to wild orchid.The room was not ready when we arrived,but no problem,grabed a drink and had some great jerk chicken by Sheldon on the beach.We were shown to the room by a friendly happy bellhop.Room was clean and located on 3rd floor oceanview.The bed was the most comfortable bed ever.I have to find were they get there beds from.The workers were great.Room always was clean and room service was excellent.The bar tenders had plenty of Jack Daniels flowing,The breakfast was very good with a nice buffet eggs omelets,smoked salmon and anything you could ask for including a song from Oraldo.Blue mountain coffee was great everyday.Lunch was easy as you must have jerk chicken with spicy sauce,so good.The people run when they see the jerk cart coming down toward the beach and wait on line with their $1.Do yourself a favor and bring $100 in singles,these people work really hard all day and night and a dollar here and there wont hurt you,they are so appreciative.They never looked for the tip as other all inclusives have,it was a nice feeling.The ocean was great for snorkeling,right in front of hotel,a great reef with fish all over. and kayaking,even hobie cats,no charge all included.Entertainment staff had you up and dancing if you wanted to,beach party was a lot of fun.Plenty of things to do between pool,ping pong,chess etc.Piano bar was great as you had to wait to eat at some restaurant and everyone was singing and drinking.As for the food it was ok.The seafood buffet was great,along with the all you could eat rib and meat nights.The Japanese restaurant was good as the sake was hot and flowing and the food very good.The coffee café makes great assorted exotic coffee drinks.The Italian and French I did not like as the food was tough and not spiced right,the wife and friends were not happy with the food.Room service came to the rescue.Great ribs,thank you.Walked over to St James,very pretty landscape and a lot quieter.Save youre money the preffered is not worth the extra expense.All in all a great place with great people great drinks and good food at the buffet.

Room Tip: Ask for a 3rd floor oceanview or higher away from the bird cage for a great view on the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantucket, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been to alot of resorts and Wild Orchid is the BEST so far. The staff was superior friendly helpful and funny. We especially enjoyed Francois aka Blue. He made poolside every day fun. The food was good for an all inclusive. We didn't have to do the "towel dance" as others have stated. There were always chairs available at pool or beach. The entertainment was adequate and different every night. The Jerk chicken cart was to die for!!! We even took the jerk chicken.The grounds are very claen and beautiful. The sunsets are awesome!!!1 We will be going back. Not soon enough for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I attended a function for my husband's work that was hosted at Secrets. I'd never been to Jamaica before, and I'd never been on any "all-inclusive" vacations before. I was very pleasantly surprised by this trip! The grounds were beautiful. The beach, while man-made, was very relaxing and well-maintained. The staff were friendly -- especially Carla, who handled our group's activities and check-in. The prior reviews complaining about the "towel game" are just bad sports - there were plenty of seats available at 8:00 a.m, and still at 9:30 a.m. when I hit the beach and pool areas on my respective days. My only complaints were: (1) the bathroom, while nice, lacks privacy -- honeymooners beware intimate noises!, and (2) the desserts were not that great, all-around. But the drinks were plentiful to compensate! I highly recommend doing the spa. The hydrotherapy circuit was very nice.

Room Tip: I thought having a room overlooking the pool was lovely. It never got too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This hotel and facilities were excellent, the food was fantastic so much selection. Breakfasts were very good especially being entertained by Oraldo the singing waiter.

Really recommend it, in fact our son is going in August and I know he will really love it.

It was faultless.

Traveled with Virgin and they were excellent too.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the pool on ground floor - great just stepping out
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Arrival
Met by kuoni rep at the airport and checked in straight away into the preferred area on arrival at hotel (All within 30 mins)
Problem with Wifi so was provided with another password code, so we could both use the Internet at the same time around the resort.
Had a lovely week in the prefered area, not too busy and made full use of the facilities, ie bar, Buffett and private pool area which is easily accessible to the preferred St James guests.

Yval was very attentive. Full of energy trying to promote the Time share vacation. We made it clear from the offset we were not interested as we generally have cruise vacations, which they were ok with.
Yvette ( housekeeping) looked after our room along with others , such as turndown staff and porters.
Leonard is a popular guy and gave us good local information and keeps the guest entertained around the pool area
Michael one of the life guards will also look after you and keep you informed on activities etc.
Jheanelle who works in the evenings is very attentive and patient young lady.

There is around 400 staff on the complex who move around. Overall everyone we came into contact with was very polite and friendly and did not push for tips. At the end of our stay we did however tip some of the mentioned individuals who went over and beyond their expected job roles.
Talking to some lovely couples we met ( Debbie and Steve) who got married here, received such a wonderful service throughout ( Si and Ria) who celebrated their 1st wedding anniversary, all had a lovely stay and did not encounter any problems. Otherwise management appear to be very approachable.

Hotel security
We travelled with various gadgets etc and jewellery and had no problems
IPads and cameras were used around the resort
As in any hotel we used the fairly good size safe provided in the rooms and didn't leave items on show.

Coco cafe
Julice and Garfield provided such wonderful coffees and service keeping you entertained daily.

Tour information desk
Kevon organises your daily trips and general transportation including the Mobay airport lounge which we highly recommend. It provides a nice buffet, bar and comfortable seating areas, wifi and lovely service compared to the No 1 lounges at Gatwick, which did not provide a good service on 2 recent visits.
Ron Walters (driver) highly recommended to escort you around the island. He has an extensive knowledge of the island and we felt very safe as we travelled to Port Antonio across the north coast of Jamaica.
Dunns River fall
If you plan to do this trip which is a must if you've not done it before, please be warned it is very rocky in certain parts. Would not recommend this trip for anyone who is not too good with heights, the elderly or children. I am physically fit, but found this a bit risky in areas and unfortunately we were not clearly warned beforehand.

Shopping trip into Montego Bay
If you plan to go into town to do some shopping etc or check out the llocal area. You can book a shuttle bus (9am or 3pm)from JTL Tour information desk within the resort $10 US dollars return. Do not book a private taxi as they will charge you much more!
If you don't manage to get much shopping done, don't worry as you won't be disappointed with the duty free at Montego bay airport. With around 50 stores and good prices you will be able to pick up your final souvenirs.

Dining
As mentioned previously the food is ok, breakfast and lunch buffets are good.
Look out the the buffet theme evenings ( normally 3 per week) which offer a good variety of alternatives, such as barbecue and surf and turf nights or Mexican.

Keeping fit
If you fancy burning some calories whilst staying here you are able to run around the resort ( well almost from the Wild Orchid restaurants to St James end and around pass the gym. The gym is fairly small and compact but has a reasonable amount of items to keep you motivated.
(From 6 am - 8pm)

Departure
Hotel organised a room for us to shower etc before setting off for our evening flight, at no extra charge which was a god send.

Finally...

It was such a shame to say goodbye to this beautiful resort!

you won't be disappointed, enjoy x

Room Tip: Wild orchid preferred upgrade. 2nd floor or above which provides a beautiful view Ground floor sw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Being from the UK we were definitely in the minority and we did feel that the resort catered more for the US and Canadian "vacationers" as they generally only stay for a week. For example the entertainment programme was on a weekly rotation and the menus in the restaurants didn't change at all unlike resorts in Europe.
As mentioned in other reviews tips are expected by the majority of staff as the precedent is set by the aforementioned guests and our room definitely got a better clean when we left a tip mid stay however the cobwebs on the ceiling remained as did whatever was biting us in the room despite a plug in repellent.
The overall standard wasn't as good as i was expecting and I think its more of a good 4* than the advertised 5 for the following reasons:-
- Didn't like the unconventional setting of the reception which was small and cramped with a number of concierge desks as opposed to a main foyer and reception desk plus there were a number of travel company tour desks as well and it was dark with minimal natural light.
- Checkout was unfriendly as the staff were busy checking in guests and I was only acknowledged when I assertively asked to check out or else I would still have been stood there now. I also asked a concierge to call a number for me to arrange my transfer and I was told I had to do that from my room as they were not supposed to make calls for guests from the desk ????
- the pool area could have been cleaner (tab ends) and there weren't enough parasols meaning the battle for the sun beds began at 6am (or earlier!) probably made worse as guests from the preferred club used the main pool as opposed to their own but we couldn't use theirs and some guests felt that they had the sole right to the mats in the pool by removing them and placing them by their sun beds
- The beach was man made and OK however no cushions on those beds and not many parasols
- the Spa itself was pleasant although some signs of wear and tear with tiles missing in the hydrotherapy showers which could have easily being remedied
- apart from the receptionist i found the staff were inpersonal and i didn't feel pampered at all throughout the whole experience and the masseuse was robotic and not friendly therefore NOT $140 well spent in my opinion.
- privacy light not acknowledged and turn down service variable
There were however a number of good points many of which have been mentioned in other reviews including the jerk chicken cart, the majority of the staff were pleasant and friendly, the large and comfortable bed , the jacuzzi bath, the view and setting. Our allocated concierge dutifully contacted us to make sure we were OK during our stay and the extras I received on my birthday did make it special - thanks Ci Ci plus my room request was honoured.
Would we go again? - probably not.

Room Tip: Really depends on what you want - we prefer a high floor with evening sun on the balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.