We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 64 Hotels in Montego Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Gay friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Great resort with amazing rooms. Good views. Beach is man made and very small. Most people were at the pools. Dr. Phil at the swim up bar made amazing drinks! Everyone was very gay friendly as we are a lesbian couple. No problems there. Room service is a bit slow. Food was decent. Jerk chicken at lunch is a must.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,858
    1,029
    370
    133
    70
See reviews for
266
3,098
79
146
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,674)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Salvador
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I had a good time in here, a comfortable and nice place to stay. Latoya, Andre, Omar and everybody have been very kind and thoughtful. Food was okay and specially the beach and its colors and sounds. A lifetime experience, wonderful and my best time ever. Flor Morales

Room Tip: any rooms its okay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had such a wonderful time at Secrets Wild Orchid. The resort is absolutely beautiful. The staff were wonderful and friendly, the rooms beautiful, the food was good, and there were so many fun things to do if you had the interest. The tennis pro, Cliff, was great, and Petal was wonderful making sure we had everything we needed while sitting around the pool. The snorkeling was beautiful with the reef right off the beach, no boat ride required. I only wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and I were at this resort April 17 through April 24. We did not want to leave. We were so relaxed for the week, it was heavenly.
The room was great, bed comfy. The food was good, not great. Breakfast was the best with orlando siging almost every morning. He has a great voice!!
The resort had all kinds of activities if you so choose. We lied around the beach most days while being served the "drink of the day". Cant say enough about this resort.
Saw at least 2 weddings a day
The spa was GREAT!! Had a massage wonderful
Even though the resort was 93% full we felt that all of our needs were met

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We are comparing Wild Orchid with out trip to Secrets Maroma Beach in Mexico. Our biggest pleasures at Wild Orchid were the great weather, the friendly staff, and our beautiful room with ocean views in two different directions. Our biggest disappointments were the food, which was simply average, and the rude watersports personnel, who were so condescending that we curtailed our use of the watersports equipment. I also have to agree with the previous reviewer who wondered why the motorized gardening equipment and leaf blowers were used so much.

I realize that grounds must be cared for, but somehow Maroma Beach did it unobtrusively. Maroma Beach also had fantastic food, including a crepe station at the world cafe, which was very popular. The breakfast pastries at Wild Orchid were so uninteresting that I ended up resorting to English muffins for breakfast. The dinners were just average. The Jerk chicken truck rates a 5/5, maybe a 5+ with the magic sauce! It was hard to find a variety of snacks, especially at 5pm, but the coffee counter was excellent and made tasty iced mochas.

I love the outdoor entertainment at Wild Orchid, it was fun dining outdoors and enjoying the show and sitting on the patio of the bar watching. Half the shows were good, but listening to them advertise the club Margaritaville for 30 minutes was annoying.

The staff are kind and accommodating. Our favorite employees were the entertainment staff, who were fantastic, and our superb waiter Melvin from Himatsu. We can't say enough of the service and our housekeeping was excellent. The room was lovely and the bed was comfortable. The spa could use a quiet room to insulate from the sound of the disco next door. The beach is short and fairly rocky, but you can get in the ocean and swim.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anadarko, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We recently returned from our stay at Secrets Wild Orchid in Monteo Bay Jamaica. This was our second trip back, so that should tell you something! We love the secrets family, they make every moment memorable. They have lots of activitys daily if you like to be going all the time and they have plenty of beach so you are not cramped!! I highly suggest doing the preferred club it just makes your stay so much better!! We will defiantly be back for a third visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I know what you about to read may seem to good to be true but HONESTLY we are not affliated in any way to this organization!!!

My husand Tony(Alfred) & I and very dear friends of ours had the absolute pleasure of spending Easter week at this magnificent Secrets Wild Orchid Resort. Upon our arrival we felt like a Queen & King getting out of a Crystal Carriage, walking down a path of colorful flowers and well manicured plants to the Preferred Club, but when the doors opened it was MAGIC from that point on. The lobby was breathtaking. We were greeted by Lisa who immediately handed us an ice cold towel to freshen up & ice cold alcoholic beverage, The check-in was extremely smooth and we were told our rooms were ready. But before we went to our rooms we had the privilege of meeting Renee McHayle UVC rep.,front desk, she greeted us with such a big warm smile, from that moment on we truly felt like it was our second home & we were their adopted family. Then a Mr. Robert Coates appeared in back of Renee, introducing himself at the Guest Service Mgr., after talking and laughing with Robert & Renee for a period of time Mr. Coates reassured us our stay will be over-looked by him & indeed it was, everywhere we turned their was our angel. It didn't stop there we had the upmost pleasure of meeting Miss Marcia Smith Concierge Mgr. words cannot explain the generosity of this AMAZING woman & Miss Smith also stated our visit was very importent to her!.
We were then escorted to our room when we entered it was just another chapter to our fairy tale. It was BEAUTIFUL very spacious, bedding was so comfortable like sleeping on a cloud and our balcony overlooked the beautiful tri-color sea mountains and pool. The bathroom was well designed and quite large.

Our ultimate romantic dinner on the beach was absolutely beautifully put together. We had the honor of Marcia, Robert & Marlene coming down on the beach to personally wish us a Very Happy Anniversary & make sure all was well, even took the time out of their busy schedule to take memorable photos with all of us. Then Demar came over introduced himself, what a WONDERFUL young man. After serving a great dinner he engaged us with such a pleasant conversation in the history of this magical island. We then informed him we will be at the piano bar on our last night, he made it a point to come after his shift and continued to explain their culture, it was extremly interesting. But the best is when he said " I had to come and say Good-bye to all of you" and that touched our hearts. We wish this young man the best.

When we returned back to our palace (room) awaiting us was was all different color rose petals and heart shaped towels on our bed, and a warm scent of bubbles in our tub as well as rose pedals and candles lit. After looking in our room there was also a basket of flowers, champagne on ice, and a hand made scrapbook from Jamaica that we will add many memorable moments from this trip.

Food was excellent, All restaurants offered a great variety of cuisine that was always tasty, fresh & hot off the grill. Anything you asked for was available.

To sum up this dream come true vacation, everything and everyone was well organized & provided superb service. Everyone was so accommodating and Tony & I THANK-YOU all from the bottom of hearts and rest assure we will be HOME again soon. Also I would like to add tipping is at your discretion but people~ ~ ~ THESE ARE HARD WORKING PEOPLE WHO MAKE YOUR VACATION A TRUE DREAM COME TRUE, and do appreciate that extra.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montego Bay
10.0 mi away
Hilton Rose Hall Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Secrets St James
Secrets St James
#8 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 4,409 reviews
12.6 mi away
Iberostar Grand Rose Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Sandals Royal Caribbean Resort and Private Island
7.8 mi away
Half Moon, A RockResort
Half Moon, A RockResort
#4 of 64 in Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,502 reviews
51.6 mi away
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Splendia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.