We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secrets Wild Orchards Topless Sunbathing NOT!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay to your Saves list
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #8 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Space
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Secrets Wild Orchards Topless Sunbathing NOT!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We are presently staying ay Secrets Wild Orchid. They have a big problem with my wife going topless. She has been told by management to put her top on. Now we are at the beach and I don't see a problem with it, but they still insisted. If you are interested in going topless best go somewhere else. It is not allowed at St James either.

This is a big disapointment for us. We never have had any problems at Couples Swept Away with her going topless. Rest assured I will never return to this place. Food is well below what is offered at Swept Away and for the price you pay per night, its not a great deal. The 200.00 credits that you get is a waste of money. You actually will save money by not using them.

$15.00 per day for internet service plus 80.00 RT for airport transfer, well all inclusive it's not.
The prerferred club at 100.0o extra per night per person not worth it. You have the exact room as the junior ocean suite.

Best of luck if you decide to come here. It may fit some people but it i snot what we are used to at Swept Away.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,745
    998
    351
    130
    65
See reviews for
253
2,973
77
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We stayed at Secrets Wild Orchid in Montego Bay March 1-5. We had a wonderful time while there. It was beautiful and the staff was super friendly. One person in particular went out of their way to make sure we were able to get the dish that we came to Jamaica looking for. We kept asking where we could find Curry Lobster. However everyone told us that we had to go into town to get it. When we asked one morning Romaine Thompson said he would be happy to help us with what we wanted to eat. We told him we would be back at 1:00 and he came out with a wonderful dish. It was just what we were looking for. It was perfect. I would like to thank him for his extra efforts. We enjoyed every restaurant at the resort expect the French one. The waiter spilled an entire glass of red wine on a friend of ours. He was apologetic, but never told the manager, when the bill came we were asked to pay for the bottle. We asked to speak to the manager and he argued with us about the bill. I ended up having to go to the front desk of the preferred club, where were were staying, for the matter to get handled. By the way the dress was ruined by the red wine. Minus that incident I would Highly recommend this resort. It was a great experience. I would go back but would not eat at the French restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

,From start to finish, this resort provided a top notch 5 star holiday. The ride to the resort took about 20-30 minutes and only because we arrived during rushhour. Our return trip to the airport was under 20 minutes.
All staff encountered were very professional, friendly, happy and efficient. During the quick & efficient check in, cool facecloths and a drink were offered. Very quickly, the porter assisted us with our luggage and took us to our room where he gave us a tour.
The rooms were superb - spacious and extremely clean, maybe a little on the dark side. Bathrooms were large- Separate shower stall and a free standing jacuzzi tub with a view of the room, toilet in its own little room. We were never disturbed early in the morning by housekeeping. Fresh plush towels and bathroom amenities(which were super) were replaced each day. Evening turndown service was punctual. Rooms provided slippers and comfy bathrobes. Each room had a safe, a well stocked mini bar and a sitting area. Since each building was in a u shape with a pool in the middle, each room had a view of the ocean. The beds and pillows were heaven - very comfortable. Air conditioning worked well.
We particularly liked the proximity of everything on this resort. The u-shaped building made a very short walk to the pool and to the restaurants. The building and pool was right beside the beach. So basically when you were laying out by the one end of the pool, you were only several steps to the very clean and silky sandy beach.
There was never a problem in getting a chaise lounge by the pool or on the beach or even in getting a hut. Considering there were 9 of us travelling together, that certainly was a positive. Yes, people saved chairs but you didn't have to get up at the crack of dawn to get your lounges as in other resorts we have stayed at. Towels were plentiful... you could use as many as you wanted. No wristbands were needed and noone even recorded how many towels you took or returned.
Lots of poolside activities if you were interested and noone harassing you to participate. So if you wanted it, it was there. If you didn't, noone bothered you. Yoga (beach - morning and sunset) and water aerobics were taught by professional yoga or fitness instructors that actually live outside of Jamaica and are there for a one or two week stint. Great classes! Other activities included: dance lessons, pool volleyball, beach volleyball, bocce, horseshoes, shuffleboard, checkers, poker, darts, bracelet making, straw hat making, tie dye t-shirts, scavenger hunt, jerk chicken cooking class, towel design art, bike tour. Snorkelling was supervised and free. Lots of equipment available. The gym had sufficient equipment, but make sure you bring real running shoes as sport sandals are not acceptable footware in the gym.
Drink service around the pool and on the beach was excellent....especially well liked were Alicia, Andrew and Oldfied. (Thanks) Drinks were varied and good. Some bars even served higher end alcohol like Greygoose, Saronno's Amaretto, Bailey's Irish Cream etc. House wine was decent enough - I think both the red & white were from Spain. Different wine was available at a cost...but really... unless you are a wine snob...its an all inclusive... take what you are given....
The beaches were very clean but very short so nowhere to walk to. That was our only disappointment. Some areas of ocean floor were a little rocky, so you had to be careful. The pool was pristine clear and clean. Someone cleaned it every morning before 7.30 a.m. People were actually good about sharing the air mattresses. Each pool was a different temperature so something to satisfy everyone.
Restaurants were all top notch. Great coffee shop. World Cafe Restaurant is a full breakfast buffet - many many choices to keep everyone happy. Omelet stations were very popular. So was the special coffee man. The singing waiter was always appreciated.
Lunch time gave you a number of choices - the World Cafe offered a very large buffet that again had many items to please everyone. The Oceana pool restaurant offered wraps and salad and could be ordered to go. You could pick and choose all the items in your wrap. The Barefoot Grille offered Jamaican patties, burgers - all tasty. The Jerk Chicken travelling cart was a very popular lunch time or afternoon snack. As was the fresh pineapple and coconut cart and slushy cart.
Dinner reservations were not required and we never had a problem of getting a table for 9 and always went to eat around 7.15 p.m. Only had to wait at the Italian restaurant for 5 minutes while they set up a table for 9. Good food, varied menus - Jamaican, Mexican, Italian, French, 2 Seafood, and Japanese. It had been recommended to make a reservation at the Japanese restaurant and we did that with no problem of choosing a night or a time. The Japanese was excellent - both for the food and the entertainment by the cooks and waiters. The Friday night seafood buffet was superb. There is 24 hr room service.
The French restaurant was the only one that we experienced where the men had to have long pants to eat in the inside part of the restaurant. The men wore shorts to all the other restaurants and never were turned away.
The Barracuda bar with its swings made for 2 or their lounger/beds was a great place to watch the sunset.
The lobby bar was a great quiet bar to meet for before dinner drinks or to have a nightcap before bed. A pre-programmed piano played some nice mellow music. Very relaxing.
Evening entertainment was different each evening from various live bands, singers, dancers or beach parties. The piano bar was hopping each night; however the pianist/singer could really use a microphone. The Desires night club was somewhat loud and music geared to a much younger crowd than what was the average age at Secrets.
We all felt very safe on this resort. The women did not think twice about going back to their room late at night alone.
The resort is located basically at a dead end so there is only one way in and out and that is through the main locked gates. There was never anyone harassing you to buy anything on the beach, as noone that is not approved gets into the resort. There is really no reason to leave this resort unless you go on some of the organized tours.
The entire property is very clean and well looked after. There is always someone cleaning or trimming something. We watched housekeeping dust the balconies and maintenance guys scrubbing the concrete sidewalk to keep it white.
Noone ever looked for a tip and certainly the service was no different if you gave a tip or not. However, all tips we did give were certainly very appreciated. The people work very hard and certainly deserve a little extra something.
One evening the hotel arranges for a bunch of local vendors to come in with their wares to sell. So basically any souvenirs you want to buy are available on this evening.
We celebrated our anniversary there. We had a lovely Happy Anniversary Banner on our door, a fruit basket with a sparkling wine bottle,a flower arrangement, a breakfast in bed with a bottle of champagne and discounts at the spa (which we never got to).
Casino was small - about 20 slot machines. Several gift stores - reasonable prices.
Noone ever even suggested anything about timesharing (as other people have commented about). People that we spoke to that stayed in the preferred club said it really wasn't worth the extra money as it didn't really give you much extra. Friends of ours stayed at the St. James which was slightly less money than Wild Orchid. St. James guests use all the facilities of Wild Orchid and Wild Orchid could use anything at St. James (two bars and 1 restaurant). The only drawback to staying at St. James... a bit of a longer walk to get to all the restaurants and nighttime entertainment. This adults only, all inclusive resort was superb and we highly recommend it and probably will return here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

first of all would like to start by saying I read a lot of reviews on this website which made me a little weary I just spent 6 days at secrets wild orchid I have been to jamaica 5 *this was by far the best trip . this place is absolutely amazing the staff is amazing and I mean amazing the food was great and I am a chef an italian 1 at that I know good food and it was good the rooms were great clean comfortable all I can say is if someone did not like this place there is just no making them happy no matter what

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Palms, South Carolina
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

This is a very commercial facility. Apart from the scenery (mountains and beautiful blue Carribean water) this place could be anywhere in the US, Canda, or Europe. In fact, it took some doing to even find local programming on the Tee Vee. CNN, HBO, Fox News, and the networks are all on the nice, big flat screen on your wall.

The staff were all very professional and friendly. This is an all-inclusive resort (all food and drinks (including alcohol) are included) and tipping is most appreciated by the staff (US dollars especially).

The beaches are very nice; bring swim shoes if you plan to swim in the ocean as the ocean floor is very rocky close in. Try not to step on one of the few stingrays that wander onto the property from time to time, too.

Some of the "entertainment" at the resort was just awful. I won't go into too many details, but just go for the scenery and the food and drink and don't hope that things like "Secret's Got Talent" will be very memorable. The guy in the "Piano Sing-a-long" didn't know how to play the piano. The player piano in the lobby bar at Wild Orchid sounds like it was programmed by a 10 year old. Given the majesty of the surroundings, however, this is just nit-picking. I will say that the live band that played on weekends near the "Desires" club was excellent, at least when they were playing reggae music (about 1/3 of the time).

I enjoyed every single minute of my time at Wild Orchid. It's a very different and insulated Jamaica from that one would find if one stayed in Downtown Montego Bay, though. Getting a guide to drive you around outside the compound is fascinating and educational as well. About USD $70-100 will get you a tour for 4 people with one of the local drivers.

You can just lie on the beach and have people bring you drinks all day if you like (tipping much appreciated, as always), or pay extra to do a ton of extracurriculars, including deep sea fishing and parasailing. The sunset yoga and Zumba classes are free, as is the very nicely appointed gym. My wife did some spa treatments and thought the spa was as nice as any she'd seen anywhere in the world.

The restaurants were varied and the food was generally good! Breakfast at the World Cafe offers Jamaican staples as well as omelets, pancakes, fruit, breads, and other typical breakfast stuff. For lunch there is a buffet, or various grills along the beach and a guy serving fresh Jerk Chicken off a cart.

Take the extra time to get a reservation for a hibachi seat at the japanese restaurant...the chefs in there make a point of being hilarious and fun, and the food was pretty decent. All the other restaurants don't require a reservation. Again the staff in these places are amazingly efficient and friendly, and really appreciate tips from happy clients.

Everyone in our group drank the water, ate fresh veggies, and used ice in their drinks and there were no cases of travellers diarrhea.

I would definitely visit this resort again; I miss the swim-up pool bar happy hour already. Sunsets on Montego Bay are quite stunning, too.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up for a better view of the bay, unless you want a "swim out" room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

First time to Jamaica, fell upon Secrets Wild Orchid when looking for a timeshare exchange and paid an upgade fee for the All Inclusive. This is a beautiful resort based near the port of Montego Bay, beachfront location is great and, if you can secure a sunbed (major gripe) the sea is calm and clear for swimmng and a spot of snorkelling. There are plenty of bars around to sample cocktails, two of which are pool bars which made for lively afternoons (no kids)! The staff are welcoming and very friendly at all times, Tia Maria and Vanessa on entertainments are lovely.

On-site there are a selection of restaurants, two that operate breakfast and lunch, the rest are open for dinner and cover Jamaican, Mexican, French (our favourite), Italian, Japanese & Seafood (no.2!). Seating is on a 'first come, first served' basis as they don't accept reservations so you can get caught out if not early enough. The Japanese Tepanyaki was bookable but frankly this was our most disappointing meal as the chef who cooked in front of us seemed to be in his own world and did not engage with those sat around the table. Don't let it put you off though, the food was fine. If you are hungry late at night, the Mexican serves snacks until the early hours of the morning.

The rooms were well appointed and there was lots of cupboard space, a safe, flat screen TV with lots of channels (if that's your thing), well stocked mini-bar (all included), queen size bed was really comfortable and you could order pillows if not to your liking. Bathroom was large, separate shower and WC with a large jacuzzi/bath. What impressed me was that the rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels provided aswell. They operat a turn down service in the evening.

The hotel has a fabulous Spa, a gym, a small casino/slots room, there's a number of shops and a coffee bar. There's entertainment every day with a wide selection of activities. They have a theatre where various events took place; movies, talent show, etc. There is an outside theatre where they had something on each evening, usually a band followed by an act/DJ and very popular. The stage was situated outside the focal point piano bar where from 10pm requests could be played, provided you were prepared to get up there and sing - had some great nights in there.

Getting out and about, there are lots of organised trips, the location is not conducive to strolling out though as not alot outsode the gates. Far better to take advantage of the local tours. We visited Dunns River falls on the Cool Runnings trip where you take a catamarran from Ocho Rios, go snorkelling, walk the falls (you WILL go underwater) then back down to the boat fo a lively trip back.

We also took a private taxi from the resort to have a look around the locality wih regular stops to take pictures, do some shopping, etc.

I could go on but all in all we were well pleased with our holiday there and the 5 stars is accurate.

Room Tip: They are all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Staff, entertainment, food ( Bordeaux recomended) and facilities all as advertised. My friend and I stayed at Secrets Maroma, Mexico last year and as we had such a great time thought we would try MoBay and we were not dissapointed. Have heard they are opening another hotel in Aruba , bring it on !!!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good would just add that a lot of functions are held on the beach so if you prefer qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay

Address: Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#10 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.