We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another great trip to secrets st james” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets St James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets St James to your Saves list
Secrets St James
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Chazy, New York
1 review
“another great trip to secrets st james”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

my husband and some friends stayed a week at secrets st james. it was a fantastic week. the resort is beautiful and well kept. the service is great, they can't do enough for you. the food was very good and varied. already planning to return next year with more friends

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,438
    826
    283
    80
    61
See reviews for
201
2,565
72
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,411)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Greetings! My boyfriend and I stayed at Secrets St. James last month. We were there celebrating my birthday. It was a WONDERFUL experience and we plan on visiting that property again in he future. From the time we stepped on the property, we were treated with ROYALTY!!!!!!!! The food was great with a nice variety of restaurants. Our check-in was expeditious as we arrived there early and Michael & Garfield were the best bellman's. Staff is knowledgeable, friendly, and the resort is BEAUTIFUL & Breathtaking!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from our week at secrets and want to go back now! Fantastic location, facilities are so breathtaking and the food was off the hook. Especially the French restaurant which has a delicious surf and turf. The staff is very friendly and do everything possible to make sure all questions are answered. The rooms were clean and comfortable but what blew us away the personal attention. Phone calls, extra visits just to make sure we had everything. Annmarie Dellop, was especially friendly as she took time to spend with us , tell us the local history and made us love the Jamaican people even more. We really can't wait to get back to friendly Jamica.

Room Tip: Most have ocean views and we had a view that was worth waking up for
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breckenridge, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We thought this was a 5 star resort the grounds are the most beautiful thing there. Our check in was a 45 minute ordeal!! When we arrived they dropped us at one door then said oh no you are Preferred guest so we walked around to a smaller check in by the time we were checked in bus boy was on break we took our on luggage to our room (LAST ROOM AT THE END OF THE PROPERTY) They try to get you to sign up for a breakfast the next morning no strings attached (WARNING IT IS A TIME SHARE AND 3 HOURS LONG) The girls that cleaned our room were Fabulous they tried to make our stay enjoyable!! The restaurants are at the other end of the sister property Wild Orchid Lots of walking!!! We had stayed 2 times prior at he Iberostar Grand and the rooms were Much larger and bathroom was 3 times larger. The rooms at St James have no place to go if staff comes in so have your robe ready at all times. They called and extended to us a Butler!! That would have been nice but we never saw him!!! The Restaurants are beautiful and we did like that! We will not return to this resort!! We have been to Jamaica 6 times and never been disappointed but this time we were very disappointed!! Ask for Ocean view was on ground floor could not even see the ocean

Room Tip: Upper floor or different resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My 7 friends took me here for 5 days for my 50th birthday party. The resort is great, large updated rooms, plenty of shaded chairs and a nice beach. The water sports staff was great. Junior and Asani were so nice and helpful. However, the women in the check in lobby were so rude. Especially Tiahna. She was rude everyday. I asked her for change one day and she gave me a dirty look and shook her head. The next day I saw her make change for another guest. I think she doesn't like the women. Maybe she's nicer to the men.
The food is great, but all of the reviews about the restaurant wait are correct. They supposedly don't take reservations except at the Japanese place. However, One night we arrived at the seafood restaurant after it rained. There was no one sitting outside. We still had to wait 2 1/2 hours for a table. I think they take reservations for some and not others. If that's the case, let us know upfront. It would have been nice if there was a buffet for dinner. It's fabulous at breakfast. The jerk chicken cart by the pool and beach is great. The coconut guy is very popular.
Overall it's a great resort. But, it's to bad they have certain staff and restaurant issues.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but the ones closest to the ocean seem larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just returned from 7 night stay at Secrets St James, we were preferred and felt was definitely worth the extra cost, we loved the preferred lounge and pool area, so peaceful and relaxing!! Whole resort is stunning, rooms are large and very comfortable, we loved the French and Italian restaurants especially, all the bars were great and every member of staff appeared to happy and did all they could to make our stay better.
Only downside were the Mosquitos but only to be expected in the tropics.
Missing it already and would return in a heartbeat!!!

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Upon arrival we were greeted with a rum punch drink, cold towel and a welcome Mon! !!
The property was amazing, our room was a direct ocean view steps away from the beach. The food was plentiful, the activities were ok compared to the list of things to do prior to our arrival.
I am definitely going to stay here on my next trip.
Special thanks to Michael the pool side bartender, Sean & Jaba sea caption, Isaac bike tour guide, Ms Elaine nature walk, and the many other staff who show much love Mon!!!

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St James

Address: Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St James 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.