We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Marvelous Time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets St James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets St James to your Saves list
Secrets St James
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lot A59 Freeport | St. James, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bordentown, New Jersey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Marvelous Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We went for 8 days at the end of June until the beginning of July and I wish we stayed longer! We stayed on the highest floor and had an amazing ocean view. The rooms were great, we always came back to our room with our bed made and clean room. There was a privacy light on the side of the bed that you could turn on or off to let the cleaning people know when they could clean your room. Also loved the room service for late at night if you didn't want to answer the door when they came they put your food in the pass through to your room where you can get the food whenever you feel like getting up! The best time was having Leonard (Leo) there to entertain us and making sure we had a blast. The drinks he brought over was always delicious and always check to make sure you didn't need anything. There's nothing like going on vacation and feeling like your home with being around Leonard. Can't forget Christna he worked hard at the swim up pool bar making 6+ drinks for us non-stop. Great staff at Secrets, these are the people that stood out and went over and beyond to make our stay awesome! Its an experience you have to experience yourself! Overall this was a fantastic place.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better the view. Corner suites have more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,749
    930
    319
    86
    66
See reviews for
230
2,880
83
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,612)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend anyone to try them out atleast once, we were greeted with greatness from the time we walked through the doors until the time we left, the workers waited on us hand and foot, I thought I would have a problem with room service like no answer or phone was always busy but that wasn't the case, we ordered room service every night being that we are late eaters, and was satisfied everytime!! The magnificent breakfast and champagne in bed was awesome!! Our concierge team did a wonderful job, the entertainment was very entertaining, if I could change anything it would be our stay, I would have made it longer!! We will be revisiting for out anniversary, my husband is a home body but this is the first week since we've been back that Jamaican music wasn't playing in our home!! Our trip started July 6th and my how I wish it never ended, he said he's ready to come back he wouldn't care if he had the same room and everything thing the same!! Room 3226 was my home away from home thank you to all the workers at Secrets St James

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

I rarely write reviews, but this place was exactly what we needed. Friendly staff, hotel was great, the property looked amazing. The food was good, although the jerked chicken cart was by far our favorite. The staff was exceptionally friendly, especially our favorite hostess, Lasonya Reid, Clive our breakfast waiter every morning, Osame from the hibachi grill, Marlando at the pool bar (ask for the "Sweet Jesus" Drink), and Delroy our dinner host on the beach. Thanks everyone for showing us a great time.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We spent a week in late June 2014 for our anniversary.
Chose the preferred status...without really knowing anything about it . So glad that we did so! Enjoyed proximity of continental breakfast, daily snack, and bar that was available all day and evening!
At this location, we were a good 2 blocks from Wild Orchid end that housed many of the restaurants. The two resorts are on same property, share resources, entertainment, etc... but FYI most is located in middle or on Wild Orchid side.
For us, this location was perfect... it was quieter, (in our 60's and 70's) Pool attendants offered drinks on a very regular basis. Just about everyone wore a smile that "went for a mile"... great culture of staff pride and development.
There were many men and women who contributed to our enjoyment. I'm sorry that I did not make written note of each one...but do recal Nicola, in Pref. dining.. (another young woman as well in that venue) Nadia at welcome, Nadian our shopping guide... and young men who provided room service with a "flair".
Nightly entertainment was good... something for all ages.. One late afternoon, I heard music from the pool area... looked out to see a sax player ... recorded his redition of "over the rainbow"... that was impressive

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We appreciate you sharing such kind words with us. It is very pleasant to hear that you had a memorable stay and anniversary celebration but also nice of you to take the time to highlight our team members. We do have a very intensive training program in place which is geared toward the delivery of the best in customer care thereby ensuring that our valued guests receive the best guest experience.

Kindly note that a copy of your review has been shared with our Human Resource Department and the team members mentioned will be duly recognized for the positive impact they had on the overall quality of your stay.

Thank you once again for sharing and we look forward to see you soon!

Warm regards,
Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We came here on our honeymoon almost three years ago and absolutely loved it! We want to go back! We stayed for five nights and got to enjoy the beautiful weather in October. All of the staff was very friendly and welcoming. The pools were very nice and the bartenders a the swim up bar got to be good friends with my husband:) The ocean view is spectacular and the seating area on the beach is very nice and clean. All of the restaurants within the resort were amazing. My husband especially loved the breakfast buffets every morning:) Our rooms were large and spacious and very comfortable. One day we went to the spa and it was very nice and relaxing! We also went on a trip to Dunns River Falls, which I would recommend to everyone! It is about an hour and a half drive from Montego Bay but very worth it! So much fun! I want to go back someday!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us via Trip Advisor and for providing us with the opportunity to be of service to you.

We are very pleased that you found our service delivery, our amenities and Resort to your satisfaction and we do look forward to your return visit.

With very best regards,

Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went for a friends wedding(Sunset on the beach-absolutely beautiful set up). This hotel took care of anything and everything that we could possibly have needed to relax at simply enjoy a vacation. Courteous....Helpful....food was excellent....Clean beaches and constant ice cold drinks!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share via Trip Advisor.

We are very pleased to note that your time with us was an enjoyable one and we do look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you Home on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Caulette Mornan
Social Networking/eConcierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I went here for our Honeymoon for a week. We were extremely happy with the hotel, staff, restaurant, and pools. It was the definition of paradise. The staff was so nice and genuine. There were 7 restaurants and we never had to wait to get a table. The food was amazing and had fast and excellent service. The night life at the resort was so fun! They had a variety of bands, parties on the beach, and piano bars to go to. We had a blast and will definitely come back to the Secrets resort.

Room Tip: Beach front views are amazing, I don't think there is a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Valued Guest:

We are very pleased to hear that you had such a wonderful time at our Resort and that we were able to meet your expectations. Your warm words provide encouragement for the team to continue to offer the highest level of personalized and quality service for our guests.

We so appreciate that you have taken the time to share with us and appreciate your insight regarding our overall service delivery.

It is our hope that we will have the pleasure to be of service to you on a future visit.

Warm regards,
Caulette Moran
Social Networking/eConcierge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St James

Address: Lot A59 Freeport | St. James, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#4 Spa Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St James 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Amex, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Secrets St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.