We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise.. Which I could have stayed longer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets St James

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets St James to your Saves list
Secrets St James
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 63 Hotels in Montego Bay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise.. Which I could have stayed longer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

The grounds and staff at Secrets were unbelievable! Just returned from my trip yesterday, and am missing Jamaica and the Secrets staff terribly.

Definitely dine at the restaurant "El Patio" during your stay. Delicious Mexican food and amazing service, especially from the manager, Dalton.

I will definitely revisit this resort!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It is great to have had the opportunity to host you at our resort recently and we thank you for this. Wonderful to know you had a great time here and we look forward to welcoming you back. We will certainly do our best to maintain our great quality of service and make improvements to further exceed our guests expectations.

Thank you for taking the time out to share your review with us and others.

Warm Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Secrets Resorts & Spas Montego Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,491
    844
    288
    81
    62
See reviews for
204
2,617
74
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,440)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Had a great break at the Secrets St James Hotel and Spa in Montego Bay, Jamaica which was just what the doctor ordered. Weather was a little unsettled which effectively is due to the time being the rainy season which we were aware of and didn't in anyway dampen our holiday. The overall Hotel is very clean and run very professionally albeit in a relatively laid back manner i.e. not formal. The variety and choice of restaurants were magnificent only enhanced by the friendliness of all hotel staff. We also had a cracking round the pool bar service from all staff but my special thanks go out to both Avion and Leo for going that extra mile.
The Spa treatment was fantastic and we came away after the couples massage feeling very relaxed and de-stressed. This was a wonderful way to enjoy our silver wedding anniversary and I would definitely consider revisiting.

Room Tip: All rooms have a see view but some around the pool can be a little noisy at the end of the afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

It is really great that despite the rain, you enjoyed our resort very much. Our team is very pleased that we were able to provide you with the relaxing environment you needed for your recent trip. Your gratitude has been passed on to Avion and Leo who appreciate it very much.
Congratulations once again on your anniversary celebration and hope to see you again.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and My boyfriend recently travelled to secrets august 8th till the 22nd and had the best 2 weeks stay at the hotel. I honestly do not know how people can write a bad review, we stayed at moon palace cancun last year and thought we would find it hard to beat however this hotel did the job.

The hotel was amazing and well worth the money we spent and the jamaican people who work in the hotel added to our excellent experience (especially the life gaurd by the pool roy, who was a true gent and gave us honest info regaurding what to do and see during our time in jamaica). Our room was to the highest standard and was very clean and luxury. The view from the balcony was amazing but its best to get 3rd floor or above to ensure a good view of the sun set.

The food was amazing and I did not eat 1 thing I did not like all resteraunts were available every night and we did not get turned away once however you must wear sleeves to dinner on a night time as part of the dress code. Himatsu was the best by far and they cook your food in frount of you which was amazing and the food was great. The buffet was really good as well and there was a lobster night once a week and a surf and turf night both of which we really enjoyed. The breakfast was amazing and we were spoilt for choice.

Pools were great and there was a wide choice of where to sit on a day time. The entertainment throughout the holiday was to high standard and we enjoyed the piano bar and the shows including a MR and MRS competition, a secrets has got talent show, a circuis ect there was always plenty going on and the drinks were of high quality my boyfriend was drinking apple martinis made with grey goose vodka.

All in all we had an amazing holiday at secrets and would advise anyone going here that they will have an amazing time and will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 3rd floor or above
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I enjoyed every second of my stay in secrets st James, me and my friend stayed between 8 August 2013 and 23 August 2013. The staff are welcoming, friendly and willing to help. Plenty of choice of food and drinks at the various restaurants, bars and the night club on the property. I will definitely be returning to this hotel in the very near future. My only criticism, which has nothing to do with the hotel, is the Mosquitos so stock up on the insect repellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

We are happy to know you enjoyed every second of your time at our resort. It is this kind of experience we hope to achieve with all our guests and so your feedback does serve as positive reinforcement.
With regard to the presence of mosquitoes, we do have a fogging process to get rid of them and we will continue to improve on this in an effort to eliminate them from guest areas. As a tropical country this is a constant battle especially during the the rainy season of June to November. Your recommendation for others is definitely valid and I must add that it is best to not keep the sliding doors of the rooms open for too long as this is a way they will enter the room.

Looking forward to welcoming you back Home!

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Secrets Resorts & Spas Montego Bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Went for wedding of family friends. We were part of a group of about 30 persons. The couple chose Secrets based on a previous trip there. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The grounds are very well manicured but the beach is too rocky - ouch!! There were a couple of issues regarding our room but the front desk manager resolved everything very efficiently and pleasantly. Although, we didn't experience any problems with arranging transportation many others did. The resort really should provide reliable round trip airport transportation even if it's at a nominal cost. The surf part of the surf and turf buffet was fab! Grilled lobster so yummy! And, at a minimum wi-fi should be provided even if it's only in the common lobby area's. The star of this visit was the spa!!!! The hydrotherapy pool was deliciously relaxing!! And, the Asian restaurant was very enjoyable, entertaining and tasty. The Jamaican restaurant was disappointing, the beef offerings were dry and tough, and the entree's were a poor representation of Jamaican cuisine. But, the Jerk cart was on point!! Our group really had a good time at the disco and the piano bar. Bartender Dermon was fantastic over on the St James Lobby bar. A cool selling point is the 24hr room service. If they broaden the menu choices it would become a superb feature. I enjoyed my visit and I would recommend this for a grown up getaway.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd and 4th floor with ocean views are worth requesting
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We decided on Secrets St james, because of the price and we wanted to say some what close to the airport. We were nervous about the Montego Bay airport, but we had a very smooth trip through customs. We found our counter right away and went straight to our van to head to the resort.
When we got the the resort everyone was very friendly and welcoming. The lobby was small and had a strong incense smell, which did give us a little headache. But everyone was very helpful and we were checked in quickly. We didn't do the preferred club and are happy with our choice. We didn't feel like we were missing anything. We drank so much at the pool and in the evenings that we didn't need the extra liquor that the preferred offers. The only plus that we could think of was the preferred had free Wifi, but we were glad that we didn't have the access, we were able to turn our phones off for a few days!
We asked for a high floor close to the ocean, and that we exactly what we got. We were on the fourth floor and had a room facing the ocean, not over the pool, great view and location! The wedding pavilion was right outside or room, we saw MANY weddings in the afternoon! Our room was was great, except we did have a problem with the TV, the picture didn't always stay in focus. It happened towards the end of out trip, we didn't call anyone to fix it because we didn't watch it too much. The bed was very comfortable, and lots of pillows. We used the turn down service most nights, they would straighten up the bed and turn the lights down when we would get back in the evenings, it was very relaxing. The mini fridge was not cold, and we never found an ice machine (we also didn't ask). So we mostly just drank water from our mini fridge. To warm for beer.
We got to the pool/beach about 930 each morning (sleeping in for us) and there were many chairs left to choose from. Unfortunately it was Jellyfish season, and we heard of many people that got stung so we stayed at the pool most days. We were not in the preferred club, so we hung out at the St. James pool which wasn't to crowed. The pool bar area always had a lot of people, but the infinity pool was usually quite and calm! Each morning you would go pick up towels, and they were not strict about how many you took.
The food was ok, about what we expected, we didn't expect to eat at 5 star restaurants. The hibachi grill was our favorite. This the only restaurant that you need a reservation for and you need to book a fews days in advance. The mexican was our next favorite, we went two nights! We also at at the italian, which was ok, nothing special. While we were there, there was a surf and turf night and lobster night, both were good. Nothing great. For lunch most days my husband ate at the jerk chicken cart, very popular, and i usually got something from the barefoot grill. Most nights, before and after dinner we hung out at the piano bar, inside and outside was a great atmosphere! During the day at the pool bar the bartenders would recommend drinks and were always ready to assist!
Overall we had a great trip! The best part of secrets was the outdoors, the pools, beach and scenery. We were not impressed with the food, but it was defiantly not a make or brake for us. We will defiantly return to Secrets!!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, much better views! If your trying to stick to a budget, don't do the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faiview Heights,Il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

One of the best things about the resort is that you are about 30 minutes from the airport.
the resort itself is very nice, although there are some repairs and attention to detail could be a bit better. We were greeted with a cocktail & towel while we checked in. The property is well kept steps from the beach. The staff was outstanding. HELPFUL & POLITE! Anything you needed they would accommodate. Rooms are nice, but the shower & toilet are next to each other divided by a frosted glass panel. No doors to the bathroom. If you are modest, you will have a problem with this.
Entertainment was fair, around the pool area was a bit low keyed. You must like reggae because that is all you hear. All in all a favorable trip. Make sure you check out the dress code for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWO_STJconcierge, Manager at Secrets St James, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for taking the tie to share your recent experience at our resort with us and others. Guest satisfaction is of great importance to our team and so it does please us much that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that you will choose to stay at our resort again for future.

Best Regards,
Christina Smith
eConcierge Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets St James? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets St James

Address: Lot A59 Freeport, Montego Bay, Jamaica
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint James Parish > Montego Bay
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Luxury Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Montego Bay
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Montego Bay
#12 Romantic Hotel in Montego Bay
#13 Family Hotel in Montego Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets St James 4.5*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Secrets St James reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets St James Hotel Montego Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets St James, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.